AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 04:13 AM
roy roy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 2

Thumbs up updating my mobo

hi,i have a PCchips M810 motherboard,384MB SDRAM,an AMD athlon xp 1800+ processor and an ATI radeon 9600XT graphics card.
i want to get a new motherboard because i think it's getting old and i can't overclock anything,which motherboard do you recommend me for my graphics card/processor?,not a very expensive mobo but a good one.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 09:56 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hi Roy, welcome to the AOA Forums.
The motherboard you choose really depends on your budget and what is available locally.
All the high end AMD boards use DDR memory so you will have to buy new memory as well.
Let us know what features you would like and your budget, there is lots to choose from!

Enjoy your stay here at AOA.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2004, 08:00 PM
roy roy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 2

i would like a high-end motherboard,i will spend as much as neccesary.
first of all i want a mobo that uses my gfx card's maximum capabilities,i want fast DDR memory and of course dual channel(2x256),and a great audio system.
and after i get a new mobo and memory i'll update my AMD to a 3000+ or a 3200+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2004, 12:05 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hi Roy,
you should consider one of the following boards:
Abit NF7-S v2 or AN7
DFI Lanparty Ultra-B
Epox 8RDA3+ or 8RDA6+ when it goes on sale
Asus A7N8X-E

They are all good solid boards and worthy of any high end system.
I wouldn't bother upgrading your 3000+ to a 3200+. With any of these boards you will be able to take your 3000+ way way way beyond the speeds of a stock 3200+ by way of overclocking. Save your cash and get a good CPU cooler and/or a nice soundcard.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2004, 01:05 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Totally agree with Laz! check out the thread in the AMD section of this forum titled "which nforce2 motherboard" should give you and idea about some good boards. as a DFI lover id suggest the Lanparty or the infinity, but most Nforce2 boards are great! Hope you get sorted!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2004, 03:02 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

athough not many people like gigabyte boards for overclocking, i happen to like them just fine.
if you plan on eventually water cooling, then stay far away from the gigabyte's as they won't give you the voltage that you are going to want without some soldering. if you aren't concerned with more that 1.85 volts(more than enough for me) than the 7n400 line all feature nforce2 ultra chipsets, with varying southbridges. the pro in my sig, for example, gives me both sata and ata raid, as well as the standard 2 ide ports, allowing for a possible 10 drives to be connected (8 ata and 2 sata). As this machine is mostly a hometheater pc, the exra drive capacity suits me perfectly.
if you plan on extreme overclocking, go with one of the boards that were mentiond earlier.. they will do you no wrong, any of them.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2004, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 81

I wouldn't even consider buying another 32bit amd chip.

Go with a 2800 or 3000 a64 and an epox 8kda3j and you will get a huge performance boost for virtually the same price.

If for some reason you are intent on wasting money on an xp, I would get a mobile 2400/2500/2600, which are the best barton chips (attain the highest oc's), and wait for the nforce2 ultra 400 boards to come out and oc the chip(of the boards out I like the infinity, nf7-s, and an7 but sure as hell wouldn't buy one now). A barton @ 2.5 can compete with a stock a64...BUT I STRONGLY SUGGEST YOU DO NOT PURCHASE A 32 BIT AMD CHIP.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Firmware? QSDT OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 6 1st March, 2006 04:20 AM
Need help for updating Abit NF7-S Bios AMD FANZ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 1st July, 2003 11:57 PM
updating bios Gondatti EPoX MotherBoards 2 10th June, 2002 06:56 PM
Not updating SteveI ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 13th January, 2002 02:17 AM
Ahhh, Either Updating or Down Superman Random Nonsense! 8 23rd October, 2001 12:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0