AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2004, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: W.V
Posts: 15

How To RAID on the CK8 Dragon Plus

Well I bought the CK8 dragon plus and I keep seeing things on how to raid and they say something about connecting one of the SATA ports with one of the IDE ports WTF? how do I go about doing that?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2004, 06:32 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Bump. 64Bitchen is long overdue for help with this!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2004, 07:16 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I'm not familiar with this board, but I would tend to suspect that what they are saying is that if you have one drive on the SATA bus and one drive on the IDE bus, the BIOS will still let you build a RAID. Many machines will not let you build a RAID across different busses like that, but it sounds like this one will.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2004, 08:46 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

nVidia's nVRAID can do exactly that. As long as you use the nForce 3's IDE and SATA ports, then you can combine IDE and SATA ports in the same RAID setup.

As far as I've been able to figure out, the CK8 provides 2 SATA ports and 2 IDE ports. This is all that the standard nForce 3 provides, so you should have no worries.

Some other boards also provide futher SATA ports, but by using a seperate chip. Unfortunately, the ports that are on the seperate chip can't be part of the nVRAID setup.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2004, 03:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: W.V
Posts: 15

Thanks for the help with this topic that ive been trying top figure out


But one thing still bothers me



Does it mean, In order to RAID yo have to use one IDE port and one SATA port? so i have to get a SATA drive in order to raid?

i Have two WD 7200RPM 80gb hdd's i would like to raid together but they are both IDE
__________________

Last edited by 64Bitchin; 26th October, 2004 at 08:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2004, 09:31 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

No, you can use any combination of SATA and IDE on the nForce 3 chip. You don't have to use SATA if you don't want.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dragon Fly photo danrok Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 6 6th January, 2007 11:12 AM
Gizmo's Dragon Gizmo Case Modifications 38 8th January, 2006 10:07 PM
The Black Dragon wburgess4 Case Modifications 14 4th June, 2003 04:22 PM
Soyo Dragon+ Burner27 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 12th March, 2002 05:52 AM
Dragon Orb 3!! Muta Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 30th January, 2002 03:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0