AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 01:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 7

Please help me tweak a 2600 XP M O/C

Howdy all!

I have been working on this chip for almost a week, with little results. I replaced a 2500 XP running at 2.23G with one Geil 512 3200 stick of ram. I also replaced the Geil with 2x512 Corsair XMS. The best I can get with this mobile chip is 183FSB 13 mult on a NF7-s.

My problem is 3d Mark. My old chip scored 6800 or so, my new setup only gets 5995. Any ideas on how to get this running better? or should I swithch back to the 2500 chip, and enjoy the ram upgrade?

More info: VCore 1.725, VDIMM 2.8, temps good 23-26 system with 42 to 44 cpu load temps, Radeon 9800 XT (228mg, 256 bit modded from 9800 pro).

Any help would be appreciated, I am out of ideas. Thanks, E
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 07:59 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

what's the oc configuration with your previous setup? Full info on multi, fsb, ram timing etc.

another big question, what 3dmark are ya running. '01 or '03?? sounds like u're running '03...

if you're running '03, that's not a good benchmark tool... as a matter of fact, that sux. the '03 is exclusively the gfx card dependent.

you want to measure the performance of your entire system, you need to run 3dmark '01 or Q3A timedemo bench. Those are the top two system benchmarks.

another thing, I do not recommend anybody go with the 2x512 stick especially on NF2 platform... you are asking for trouble. 99% of the time, you will not succeed oc'ing 200FSB or above. In some case 185FSB is not stable with that setup.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 03:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 7

Previous setup

I lost my notes, so I am guessing on some of this but I think this is close: Old CPU - 210 FSB 11 (locked mult) RAM 2 2 2 ?. ?=11 or 8, I can not remember. And yes, I am running 3d mark '03. I bought this 2600 Mobile thinking it would be an upgrade! Maybe it will be, if not live and learn...

Thanks for the reply, if you need any more info, let me know. I did update my NVIDIA chipset drivers, and the computers "feels" faster, you know, the time between a mouse click and something happening.

Again, thanks for your time!

E

Would it be better to try this ram in single channel, or do I need a new MB? 1G seems to be the NF7-s main fault, but I have seen sigs of folks with 1G with no prob. Hit and miss maybe?
__________________

Last edited by hafaphoto; 6th October, 2004 at 03:28 AM. Reason: I forgot something
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 01:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6

try this

i own an an7 running a modded tictac/enduracell bios,below is a pic of my efforts so far.
only mods i have made are as follows;
remove n.b fan and clean off thermal grease,relace with as5 and refit,
as5 on my xp2500m.
set v.core to 1.813v
v.dimm to 3.05v
n.b to 1.70v
mem timing adjusted to 11,2,2,2
i am also using a matched pair 2*256 of corsair xms3200ll
went up in stages,running each stage for at least four hours
11*200,v.core 1.688v,v.dimm 2.7v=2200
11*215,v.core 1.765v,v,dimm 2.8v=2365
11*225,v.core1.8v,v.dimm2.8v=2475
10.5*228,v.core1.8v,v.dimm3.0v,n.b 1.7v=2395
10.5*235,v.core 1.8v,v.dimm 3.05v,n.b 1.7v=2467
10*240,v.core 1.8v,v.dimm 3.05v,n.b 1.7v=2405.
checkout these forums for the best o,clock bios for your board and have a go!
Attached Images
File Type: bmp best so far.bmp (1.13 MB, 111 views)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2004, 04:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 7

Thanks

Thanks Jackhammer, I will try some of that. I do not think I can run a 3v vdimm, and the vcore may be a little high for my temps, but any and all info is greatly appreciated.

E

New info, I just got new drivers installed, and scored 6656 on 3D Mark 03! Doing better, but I think this setup can do a little more! Any Ideas?
__________________

Last edited by hafaphoto; 7th October, 2004 at 05:33 AM. Reason: New 3D 03 score!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2004, 04:15 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

hafaphoto,

some people can run beyond 200FSB with their 1GB+ of ram because they're running with CPC turned off. yes.... it can be done by flashing the BIOS to one of the Tictac's modded bioses. The drawback is the major performance hit. That is why I don't like doing it.


yes... the single channel will help a little bit... what's limiting the memory oc is the memory chips being double-sided, making it more difficult to oc.


you need to run 3dmark '01 if you want to measure system's performance. 3Dmark '03 is not a good benchmark if you want to test out your entire system.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 01:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 7

3D Mark '01 score

I just ran 3D 01 and got 18924 points. Not too bad, but not real good in my opinion. I also have my video card o/c to an 9800 XT, and beyond. I think something is slowing me down, any ideas? I will try the L12 mod this weekend. If that does not work, then I willl try a new BIOS.

Thanks for the info!
E
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need tweak ideas for new rig 007 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 1st October, 2005 08:02 PM
Folding tweak cyPHer_138 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 12 18th April, 2003 01:06 AM
For the love of god someone help me tweak Genius EPoX MotherBoards 10 6th November, 2002 02:55 PM
Tweak me up! Evc EPoX MotherBoards 3 28th September, 2002 05:07 PM
GF3 tweak guide? killem1x1 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 21st October, 2001 08:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0