AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 01:45 PM
DimViesel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 517

Come on deryl88!
You have a very large & real captive audience eagerly awaiting your review !

Great work cadaveca. It was a particularly apt time to be looking at this mobo.
__________________
Searched near & far across networked lands for a sig. that would do.
I searched thorough, & wide, for a signature just right,
I explored far & wide, blocked by lulling tide, all I found was you.
Needless to impart,
I want my money back...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 08:10 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

yes, thanks!

so, i got the 7th bios last night and tried it...
funny how i went to the site and the 5th was no longer listed....
Anyway, i have tried the bios, and still do not have a working AGP lock. I really wish deryl88 would give us more details on how his works!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 05:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 15

Sorry guys, I dont have the time to do a review of this board. But my opinion falls pretty much inline with Cadaveca.

Again, good job Guy.

This is for Cadaveca, In the bios under "Jumperfree configuration".
Did you set "Asynchronous Frequency" to enable? If not, please do so.
This is the AGP/PCI lock.

Outside of that, I dont think I did anything different than you. And I'm confident that our boards are the same.

(so far Im just up to 206x11 with cheap kingmax ram, I'm waiting to get some extra money to get 512mb of mushkin pc3200 then we'll see what it can really do.)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 05:58 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Yes, i did change that setting. I tried both, actually. with it enabled, i can run windows, but not 3d applications/games. With it disabled, I cannot even run windows.

What bios version? Are you using the original?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 15

Actually, as of today I am running bios version 1007. before I was running bios ver. 1004.
Have you tried a different video card. I've heard of some incapatabilitis with ATI cards and ASUS boards.

I'm using a PNY GeforceFX 5600 ultra 128mb. ( I played Doom3 for 4 hours earlier today on the PC with the A7V880)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2005, 12:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1

Question about the lock of AGP/pci of ASUS A7V880

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
yes, thanks!

so, i got the 7th bios last night and tried it...
funny how i went to the site and the 5th was no longer listed....
Anyway, i have tried the bios, and still do not have a working AGP lock. I really wish deryl88 would give us more details on how his works!
sorry, but how did you understand that the mobo is unlocked.
how did you measure the frequency of AGP and PCI
thanks in advance !!!
my BIOS version is 1007
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2005, 03:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Yes, i did change that setting. I tried both, actually. with it enabled, i can run windows, but not 3d applications/games. With it disabled, I cannot even run windows.

What bios version? Are you using the original?
well, i have the same problem too using the same mobo with my Radeon 9500 Pro. well, i'm cutrrently using the 1008 version bios with no improvement. i've searched almost for a day and emailed Asus about it without any solution to my problem ... any ideas ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2005, 08:05 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Asus sells both ATi and Nvidia vidcards. You'd think that neither would be a problem. Oh, well.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2005, 08:08 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I ended up turfing the board. I'll take lower clocks with a higher fsb any day, and the A7v880 did not prvide the same as an nforce2 mobo.

I would check and make sure that you have the via 4.55 driiver installed...couple of previous versions had issues with the AGP driver and ATI cards.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 12:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 2

Cadaveca Can you explain me if mod L12 is necessary on this MOBO with XP-Mobile and what are results of it, because FSB freqency can be changed in BIOS of course. You've wrote aboute this in you rewiev but I don't understand this couse of my poure English. Thanx for answer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 12:07 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

L-12 mod allows for the default timings for the northbridge be set to a higher rate then what an XP-m defaults to. 100mhz up to 200mhz is a big jump, while 166mhz to 200 is much less, so less strain on the northbridge.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 2

Thanx for explaing.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P5N-E SLI Motherboard Review Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 14 23rd July, 2007 07:45 PM
Asus Striker Extreme review danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 0 5th February, 2007 02:31 PM
Review: Asus TA-210 ATX Case danrok Case Modifications 3 1st January, 2006 05:56 AM
Asus A7V880 deryl88 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 1st October, 2004 08:55 PM
Asus A7N266-VM. A mainboard without a review. cloasters AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 17th May, 2002 02:52 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0