AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 06:13 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Socket A to no longer continue?

I had relayed this info after talking to the Gigabyte guy in July, when he told me that Gigabyte will no longer be making boards after this quarter for Athlons. Gizmo reported in the "News You Can Use" just a short while ago that the inquirer had news of this recently. Seems the new push is about to begin again, and 64-bit computing will become king.

Is this a smart move, or a classic oversight?

Thoughts?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 12:24 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Seems to me like it is a smart move, if the 64-bit strategy is really the future (I think it is).

Consider:
1) AMD currently has Socket A, Socket 754, and Socket 939 for the desktop market. IMHO, this is about two sockets too many, but considering that Socket 754 and Socket A are both covering the budget segment, there DEFINITELY is no justification for at least one of them. It makes costs higher for mobo vendors who have to support the various form factors.
2) Semprons are available as both Socket A and Socket 754. We already know that Semprons are lobotomized Athlon-64 chips. This means that there is a lot of silicon on the socket A Sempron that is not being used (specifically the 64-bit stuff, but more to the point, the memory interface controller). So, AMD is spending money on silicon that it has to disable (I doubt very many chips are so badly messed up that BOTH memory controllers are trash). Then, chipset vendors have to spend money on silicon to provide the functionality that has been disabled in the Sempron. This drives up costs all the way around, for no benefit to ANYONE.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 02:14 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Do you think that this means Longhorn will be released shortly?
How about the socketA to continue, but labeled as sempron? This would be a bold move in the industry...high-end:64-bit/pci-e, low-end:32bit/pci-agp? What does this mean for the software industry?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 02:22 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Do you think that this means Longhorn will be released shortly?
How about the socketA to continue, but labeled as sempron? This would be a bold move in the industry...high-end:64-bit/pci-e, low-end:32bit/pci-agp? What does this mean for the software industry?
For the software industry as a whole, I don't see that it makes a lot of difference. People that need 64-bit capability will write software for it, and the rest of us will continue writing to the lowest practical platform. For most of us, that means Pentium Pro architecture. For the bottom-feeders (the people who specialize in writing the $5 software packs) that means 486s. I don't think that will change much. At most, it means that people writing for 486s as their low end will be able to write for Pentiums, which makes little practical difference.

As I indicated above, I really don't see Sempron surviving as a socket a product for more than a short period of time (MAYBE another year) and only as a transitional product. If AMD's manufacturing process is so crappy that they can justify selling a socket a Sempron in order to improve their yields, then they've got serious problems. More likely, they have to actually castrate the memory controllers on some Semprons to turn them into socket a chips. That represents a net loss for AMD, because they can get more money for socket 754 chips than they can for socket a. It represents a net loss for mobo manufactures, because they have to support two budget form factors. Worst case, they actually end up splitting their market evenly between the two forms, which results in higher costs for both platforms than if only one dominated (economies of scale).

'Course, this is all guesswork on my part, and I COULD be wrong.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 09:00 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

To clear any confusion, the Socket A Sempron is just a renamed Athlon XP. It is to replace the Duron.

No matter how you slice it though, Socket A is on its way to join Socket 7, Socket 370, and all of the other obsolete CPU interfaces.

It'll probably be sometime before I replace my Socket A with anything else though.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 12:40 PM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

Quote:
Originally Posted by Repo Man
To clear any confusion, the Socket A Sempron is just a renamed Athlon XP. It is to replace the Duron.

No matter how you slice it though, Socket A is on its way to join Socket 7, Socket 370, and all of the other obsolete CPU interfaces.

It'll probably be sometime before I replace my Socket A with anything else though.
I doubt i'll change CPU for a while either, UNLESS a decent revision of the amd 64 chip comes out that will give me 5.5+Ghz and only costs me around about £100
__________________

2600+ (IQYHA 0433), DFI infinity rev.A
2*256MB XMS3500 bh-5, R9800pro
CoolerMaster atc-200, Enermax 350watt psu
Maxtor 40GB 2MB fireball3 HD, Toshiba sd-r 1202 cd-r/dvd rom combo drive
Creative Audigy2 connected upto modded seperates
LG 915ft plus 19" monitor@1600-1200 @85hz
Logitech duel optical mouse USB, Win XP pro SP2
DD maze3/swiftech mcw20a/asetek gpu/l30/escort rad (all 1/2")
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 09:40 PM
brian770's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: HighBridge Wisconsin
Posts: 279

i also think the socket a is fairly dead. i think that another year probably will be the end of life for it, by then the 64 bit chips will be widely enough accepted to drop the A. i cant wait for it, everything socket A will be or should be dirt cheep! should be realy cheep to make a few folders.
__________________
overclocking is like raising a child, you do everything you can to make sure its right and hopefully when your done it turns out perfect......but your never realy done..lol
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 15

The thing that attracted me to AMD was the fact that it had only 1 socket platform, Socket A. The slot A platform had just been discontinued. It made things so easy when I built my first PC.

I see the move away from socket A, a good thing. I believe AMD is planning to do with the socket 939 what they did with the Socket A. One socket for all Proc. This will alleviate alot of confusion when purchasing a processor and allows for a clear upgrade path with minimal hassle.

Personally, I'm waiting for the second generation (I dont like to buy first generation products because of potential bugs) of Athlon 64 Motherboards with DDR2 and PCIexpress.(whenever that happens) It will still be awhile before the socket A totally disappears, and the socket 939 will be well established before it goes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 08:57 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

Intel have left their customers high and dry so many times it is hard to keep count.

Virtually everytime they come out with a new processor, they have a new slot or socket. I've read informed speculation that they abandoned Socket 7 to avoid having to compete head to head with AMD.

But not only does Intel want to avoid a common CPU interface, they also sell chipsets. So if customers have to buy a new motherboard to upgrade, when all they really wanted to do was upgrade their CPU, that's just fine with Intel.

Socket A has spanned from 600 MHz to over 2 GHz. They obviously left themselves some room to grow with the 462 pin socket. And that has been good news for us. Even older boards have been able to stay close to state of the art because, though not officially supported, much newer and more powerful AMD CPUs would often work in them.

The one that really got me with Intel was when they went from Socket 423 to 478. The P4 wasn't even a year old! If you wanted to upgrade, buy a new motherboard (or maybe a 478 to 423 adapter).

It is the arrogance of being the dominant player. And I detest arrogance.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rumors of second-generation Apple iPhone continue to surface Gizmo Mobile Devices and Networking 0 18th July, 2007 04:24 AM
AMD Athlon 64 Socket AM2 CPU in a Socket 939 Motherboard Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 15th October, 2006 12:26 AM
DRAM contract prices continue up in 1HAug Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 1 13th August, 2006 12:50 AM
Dram Prices To Continue Falling Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 17 5th December, 2005 05:01 PM
8RDA3+ problems continue for me... Jeff F. EPoX MotherBoards 6 16th June, 2003 02:35 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0