AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 6th November, 2004, 10:42 PM

AMD 1700 newb overclock, a lil help plz :)

Hey
Im very new to overclocking and these forums, anywayz i found an XP Tbred 1700 at work and heard certain ones could be good for overclocking. found out that it was "jiuhb dltc3 0310" steeping (if u get my drift probably got all the letters wrong way round :P , anywayz its in the pc now i'll look at it next time i turn it off). so got me self an nf7 v2.0 mobo which i heard were good for clocking with and sum geil pc3200 value ram, friend who overclocks rated them well got meself one of those gigabyte strange heatpipe coolers, thought i'd give them a go. also got a 9800xt with artic cooling rev 3 not really gonna overclock the video card just enabled overdrive in the options, doing anything else looks quite daunting, also got an antec 450watt smartpower psu didnt know much about psu's but i heard good things about antec and this was a bargin i thought @ £51.

Ok let me get back on the subject i thought i would try my hand at overclocking and ive got it @ 10.5 multi 200fsb stable in windows, ive also benchmarked it about 10 times with different resolution and AA settings, and run cpu burn-in for 2hours. what do u guys use to test stability ive heard alot about prime95 what is it and how do u use it??? i havent hit any kind of wall yet i just didnt want to push it to hard its running at about 32c idle 4000rpm and 44c load. this obviously hasn't got anymore juice running thru it but i just wanted to know what how much you would say would be the limit of these chips before they get fried and what temps are dangerous.

Thanking you muchly in advanced
Old 6th November, 2004, 10:49 PM