AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2005, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 2

Exclamation amd sempron new

purchased motherboard kit from komplett installed all OK on friday switched on black screen and beeps from on board speaker every 12/15 secs cannot move any ideas
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2005, 04:11 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Welcome to AOA....
Your description could be caused by a lot of different causes... The two most likely are:
-memory failure
-mobo grounding

First, clear CMOS and try reseating the memory... If that doesn't help, you should check all the case studs on the back of the mobo to make sure none of the studs are touching the mobo where they shouldn't.

Also, detail system components so we can get a better feel for your problem.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2005, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 2

amd sempron details

Hi Stevel mobo eoxep-8kmm5i skt akm400a ata sata.ac97.semron 2500 pcu.pc 3200 512 unbuff non p 64x64. tried reset on cmos reseat memory no change mobo seems clear from any contact at all
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2005, 06:05 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I'm not familiar with your mobo. Is it a microATX board with on board video?
Make sure when you reset CMOS that the power is disconnected from the PSU for about 10 seconds before you clear. If that doesn't work, Read the manual, check for all jumpers and verify that all are set correctly for the CPU, onboard video and such.

Last resort, I'd remove the motherboard from the case, with just the cpu/hsf and a memory stick installed, see if it will power up. The mobo's box is a good place to rest the mobo.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 01:16 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Something I've learnt along the way is to test everything before I assemble it in the case. Its messy having everything on the desk but you can get to things faster and easier.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 02:51 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Something I've learnt along the way is to test everything before I assemble it in the case. Its messy having everything on the desk but you can get to things faster and easier.

Laz.

That's a dammed good idea, Lazgoat!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 06:07 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Lazgoat is right on the money, I always do my assembly outside the case as well.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 06:42 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I do initial POST type assembly outside the case, but I also do a final burn-in with the case fully buttoned up. Murphy's law has taught me that if anything will go wrong, it will happen at the time when it is the most work to fix (i.e. when the case is completely buttoned up).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2005, 03:47 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
I do initial POST type assembly outside the case, but I also do a final burn-in with the case fully buttoned up. Murphy's law has taught me that if anything will go wrong, it will happen at the time when it is the most work to fix (i.e. when the case is completely buttoned up).
No kidding. The best way to make sure that something doesn't work right is to put all the covers onto a box and firing it up after futzing with it!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This Sempron Has Some Go In It.... Rondog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 26th November, 2005 12:48 AM
AMD Sempron 2400+ Abdul AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 20th November, 2005 07:08 AM
Sempron 2800 Zephr AMD Motherboards & CPUs 15 6th July, 2005 10:55 AM
Sempron and 8KRA2+? gbshahaq EPoX MotherBoards 7 13th September, 2004 03:37 AM
sempron???? sasrob General Hardware Discussion 1 4th September, 2004 09:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0