AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2005, 11:09 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Woo Hoo!!

Got an AMD XP-M 2600 and PQI TURBO series 256X2 pc3200 w/ samsung TCCD chips for my B-Day!!! cpu should be here by wednesday and ram by thurs/fri. I CANT WAIT!!!!
__________________

Last edited by WonderBread; 1st March, 2005 at 05:23 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2005, 11:44 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Lucky you!Let us know how those chips do on the nforce platform...Not many have gone that route. Should make for a killer system!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2005, 12:55 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

can do
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2005, 02:03 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Got my CPU w/ an IDYHA 0503 stepping and RAM and so far i have it at 2370.4 MHz(default Voltage) 11*215, RAM 2-2-2-5 2.7v. idle temp of 45c w/fan on low. what i was wondering was, could you guys find some links for programs that i can use to test my system for stability?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2005, 02:09 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Prime95 is good.

http://www.computerbase.de/downloads...chung/prime95/

Alternativly, try Folding@home.

Test's stability while working for a good cause

Info below

New Member Guide and FAQ (updated 9-09)
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2005, 02:13 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Prime95 is the best option for testing stability, folding doesn't know it makes mistakes like prime95 does, prime95 picks up on the slightest error on what may seem a stable system
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2005, 02:30 AM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Prime95 Large FFTs seems to discover errors more quickly than Small FFTs test and generates more heat (+2C in comparison).

Prime95 Blend is good for testing memory + I would recommend the latest memtest86+ (not the old memtest86, for which it's often mistaken) :

http://www.memtest.org/
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2005, 03:31 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

BOO HOO

i cant get stable above 200MHz would the DC be affecting anything? iv had the voltages up all the way on both the cpu and ram temps never get above 50c so i dont know whats going on ?help?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2005, 05:35 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

anyone?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2005, 11:16 AM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderBread
anyone?
Do you mean 200MHz FSB? If so, then it's hightime you did the L12 mod, providing you haven't done it already.

http://www.geocities.com/trats102002/nf7sFsbsense.html
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2005, 02:34 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

i meant 400 FSB, and is it wierd that it wont POST at a multiplyer of 10? the lowest i can get it is 11
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2005, 01:12 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

plz, i need some help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2005, 01:39 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

10 mulit has been locked out by the bios. you need a modded bios for that multi.

try running memtest86 first, as this will let you go as high as possible on the fsb without issue(no pci/agp lock issues for stuff in slots other than 5.)

droop the multi down to 7 or 8 or 9, and go from there. I noticed taht FSB means more voltage than multi's, but fsb = better overall performance.

Give it a run or two(I like 10 passes of the full memtest, which takes a bit, but is pretty reliable), and report back with your findings, and we can take it from there! I' am VERY familar with your board....and how it overvolts the cpu! I have seen 3 that give over 1.75vcore for a 1.65v chip!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2005, 02:23 AM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Post

There's no such thing as FSB400 on nForce2 - it's 200MHz in DDR mode (400MHz is a pure marketing trick).

L12 won't hurt and can help, or is something so specific about this mobo, that it can run on FSB133 ROMSIP table far above FSB200? cadaveca?

Btw. multi 10 has also been a well known issue on many other nForce2 motherboards, but concerning stability - no lock-outs in bios.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2005, 03:20 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderBread
Got my CPU w/ an IDYHA 0503 stepping and RAM and so far i have it at 2370.4 MHz(default Voltage) 11*215, RAM 2-2-2-5 2.7v. idle temp of 45c w/fan on low. what i was wondering was, could you guys find some links for programs that i can use to test my system for stability?
I'd start here
Rib
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2005, 05:57 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
I' am VERY familar with your board....and how it overvolts the cpu! I have seen 3 that give over 1.75vcore for a 1.65v chip!
this may sound dumb, but is that bad?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2005, 07:53 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

only if you let your cpu get too hot, overvolting will often allow a higher OC though
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2005, 06:47 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

I ran Memtest-86 v3.2 lastnight, but no matter what FSB over 200 with timings at 3-4-4-11 and voltage at 2.8(highest i can get w/ my board) i would get lots errors 40% into the first pass. this was in dual channel, would i get a different result if it was in single channel?
__________________

Last edited by WonderBread; 5th March, 2005 at 07:45 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2005, 10:32 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

or would a modded BIOS do anything?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2005, 10:35 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

A modded BIOS can help a great deal.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0