AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 04:44 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Reason for unstability?

I dont seem to be stable with any kind of overclock and i think this is why (see attachment)
Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 05:14 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

ya man check that 5v rail with a meter, that cant be good
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 05:28 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

While it is possible the motherboard is just way off, with you experiencing instability it's likely that the 5v rail is too low
A new psu is in order I guess, what psu is that?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 05:32 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

try to get a test on it first, I have a hard time beleivig the onboard sensors when its that low and still running.

oh ya . and what PSU?
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 07:14 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

k, that confirms it i am definitly getting a new PSU . the PSU is a cheap Powmax? 400w, 20A? on the 12v rail. plus i have a second PSU also powering the system cause the 400w is not enough.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 07:18 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

exactly $11.00 retail... I would bet thats the prob

http://store.mrtechus.com/powmax40pows.html
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 11:16 AM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Quote:
Originally Posted by surlyjoe
exactly $11.00 retail... I would bet thats the prob

http://store.mrtechus.com/powmax40pows.html
If it has those 400W in reality, then I'm the Prince of Monaco.

From my experience the readings of the +12v rail are almost always very far from the truth, but +5v rail is usually read more or less correctly (comparing with reading from a multimeter).
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 02:08 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderBread
exactly $11.00 retail... I would bet thats the prob
http://store.mrtechus.com/powmax40pows.html

yup, thats it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 03:48 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

wow, check that with a multi-meter but 4 volts = BAD
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 07:21 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

im not even going to check that. im just going to buy a new PSU
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 05:56 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

would that super flower/ttgi i talked about in another tread be okay for my system?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 10:52 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderBread
would that super flower/ttgi i talked about in another tread be okay for my system?
I don't have enough time to read every thread in this forum, but I haven't heard anything (neither good nor bad) about "Super Flower" PSUs. Why don't you go for something reliable and renown like OCZ or Topower?
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 10:58 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by MietmaN
If it has those 400W in reality, then I'm the Prince of Monaco.

From my experience the readings of the +12v rail are almost always very far from the truth, but +5v rail is usually read more or less correctly (comparing with reading from a multimeter).

i bet it does that 400w @ -15c. Do you turn into the prince if we freeze you? LoL.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 11:04 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
i bet it does that 400w @ -15c. Do you turn into the prince if we freeze you? LoL.
Well, I know every PSU has got better efficiency at low temps and worse efficiency at high temps, but that @#$% above would probably stop working at -15C.

Frozen prince? I don't think there are many princesses out there, who would free me from my icy trap, so I'm not gonna risk that.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 11:07 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

LMAo!!

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A really good reason NOT to smoke!! robbie Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 12 27th June, 2005 07:12 AM
Some reason, I just get a feeling we are being ripped off!!! ~* InSoM *~ Betty's Rants and Rages 53 14th March, 2005 08:39 PM
Just another reason... R0BB23 Random Nonsense! 4 17th September, 2003 07:27 PM
Reason for speeding. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 21st September, 2002 04:06 AM
Any reason the forums are slow? one800tnt Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 0 28th September, 2001 07:34 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0