AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 05:57 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Higher speed..lower score...wha.?

I used 3D Mark01 at:
stock, Athlon @ 2211mhz (FSB-200) and 9600XT at 500/300 = 12640
overclock1: Athlon @ 2447mhz (FSB-222) and 9600XT @ 543/333 = 14700
overclock2: Athlon @ 2535mhz (FSB-230) and 9600XT @ 546/338 = 13000 ish

What could have caused this?

Im at school right now, so I cant run experiments, but when I get home i'll run some with FSB @ 225 etc. To see if the clock is too high. But neither prime95 nor superPI crash, they run successfully.

The board doesnt have an AGP/PCI lock, could this put more stress put on AGP/PCI by raising the FSB? Could this also cause the decrease in performance of the card? Or is it just too high temps to be worth while? Until I get better CPU/AGP coolers, other than the stock ones.

Stock: idle/load 30C/40C
Overclocked: idle/load 37C/50C

What are your thoughts on this issue?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 06:04 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

i dont think the temps are the problem. how much did you relax the timings on the RAM? i think that the looser the timings the performance will be reduced, but im not quite sure.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 06:25 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Ram timings were 2-2-2-6 for all the tests.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 06:53 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

idk then, out of my knowledge. sry man
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 07:47 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

its possible that maybe the program is continuning to run, but producing errors or hitching. These types of benchmarks are based off of fps typically, aquamark is, and i've gotten lower scores from higher clocks on CPU and GPU combined. Processing bad information causes it to be re-requested, and processed again(correct me if I'm wrong I'm no softare guy), this could result in longer process times, and thus, less performance. My guess though....
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 07:50 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

So your saying that there is a point with overclocking that it becomes unworthwhile?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 06:07 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

I'd think so, maybe some of our software giants here can help out
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 03:17 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Worked it out, stupid Core/Mem on GPU was erroring far too high and yet it wasnt causing any artifacts. Slowed it slighty, and it benched at 14997, the increase was piss-poor so I didnt publish it.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help! crossfire but no more fps score lower in 3d mark wtf gordon996 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 26th November, 2006 10:42 PM
Which is better, higher CPU speed, or higher memory bandwidth? mookydooky Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 26th August, 2004 12:33 AM
Pushing my score higher graftonater Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 16th April, 2003 06:38 PM
help me lower AVC Sun flower fan speed r0l0e Hardware Hacking 6 6th September, 2002 08:52 PM
Lower benchmark scores with higher FSB?? (8K3A) Frazas EPoX MotherBoards 13 4th September, 2002 12:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0