AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:28 PM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

i need a really cheap computer with fairly good performance. is there such a thing?

Hi there

ok i already have:

An ATX Case
Some DDR ram


Just need a PSU, HDD, CDROM drive, processor and thats it... (got a cooler and a graphics card)

Any ideas for a REALLY cheap pc? (In the UK...)

Cheers dudes

offie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:30 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

What's your budget?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:33 PM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

anything below 80 pounds preferrably...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:34 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

dual 370 366mhz machine, regular old sdram....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:36 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You didn't say if you need a mobo.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:38 PM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

sorry i do also need a mobo.

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:44 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Cheapest mobo's I can find, from a reputable retailer/manufacturer's are here:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...Thumbnails=yes

Plenty to choose from there. Socket A would be you best bet.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:46 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

Quote:
Originally Posted by offie
anything below 80 pounds preferrably...
80 pounds? most of the "somewhat performance" computer parts I know are gunna have to go on a strict diet if thats the case!
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 05:48 PM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

righty... errrm.. well i just need something basically with a load of ram, (audio editing/recording) and with a decent processor... (at least a 1 ghz one id imagine..) time is very limited.. if anybody has a chance, could you just jot a few component makes/models down in a list in this post?

cheers
offie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 06:01 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Check out ebuyer

Duron 1600 - £32.89
Pcchips KT266A - £15.49
Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 8 40Gb £27.22
Ebuyer 500w Power Supply £11.74
Benq 52xspeed Cd-Rom £13.18 or Lite-On 16x48 DVD-ROM £14.07

Grand total is just over £100 to get it any cheaper you will have to take to ebay
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 06:39 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

good list of parts apart from the duron if you are looking to do any encoding or large scale editing....they suck at it.
I would recommend(on a budget) one of the semprons, this one is just as quick as the duron and with 256kb of cache as opposed to 64kb

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=72522
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 06:43 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I agree, I suppose it wasn't really worth recomending the duron for the sake of 68p
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 06:46 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

I dunno, thats 11 tins of baked beans or 3 cans of tesco value lager
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 06:47 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

but it would mean a more expensive motherboard, £22.96 is the cheapest sempron compatable board (the cheaper ones do claim sempron compatability but only have a 266mhz fsb not the 333mhz fsb needed)
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 06:49 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Thats true, if the budget was 150quid it would be easy.
For the amount you are looking to spend a good trawl of ebay would be an idea.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 06:53 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

You could probably find someone selling the basics from an upgrade on ebay (cpu, motherboard and memory) just be careful to price up the cost new next to what it sells for, you'll see alot of auctions end at near brand new prices, sometimes over.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 29th April, 2005, 11:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 5

If any1 reading this is from Canada, I recomend buying hardware from NCIX.com
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2005, 02:00 PM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

so just to get things clear, a sempron is better than a 32bit Athlon? Or is an athlon better than a sempron? (I know Athlon 64s are better than both btw.. :P)

Also what bus speed woudl i need to look for mainboard/memory wise for a semp processor?

Cheers dudes

offie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2005, 02:33 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The whole sempron thing is a mixed bag at the moment. The socket A sempron is an AthlonXP Thoroughbred, the differance between the XP Barton is it's got half the L2 cache and only runs on a 333mhz fsb (so you need a 333mhz fsb capable board, though some 266mhz fsb boards claim compatability, this means they underclock them by 20%)

There are also socket 754 semprons, of which there are several versions, but none have the 64bit extensions, the first the 3100+ is 130nm 256kb L2
Recentally several more have been released from the 2600+ to the 3000+, of which there are still 2 differant variations, some are D stepping, some are E stepping and have an imporved memory controller and SSE3 support.
The differance in model numbers either means an increase in clock speed or in L2 cache, some have only 128kb L2 some have the usual 256kb

Basically the Socket A is a cheaper AthlonXP with slightly worse performance, the xxxx+ rating is not comparable to an Athlon or P4 but instead equals roughly that of a celeron
The Socket 754 chip is a much better chip, clock for clock even the 128kb L2 variants can compete with the fastest Athlon64's and Prescotts out there in 32bit and seriously trounce the Celeron D

If you are on an ultra tight budget where every £ counts then the SocketA Sempron is a good choice thanks to its low price but still half decent performance, and with one of the lower models theres still the possibility of overclocking it on a 400mhz fsb giving a decent 25% boost
If you are after a cost/performance balanced system, and don't really have any interest in64bit then the socket 754 semprons aer a great choice, the onboard memory controller means that in many cases the low L2 makes litttle differance, and with the new ones being on the 90nm process they overclock like crazy, I've got my friends 2600+ at 2.4ghz at the moment and it's his board holding it back but it still keeps up with my A64 3400+ in many things, not to mention running a good deal cooler even on the stock cooler next to my Zalman flower
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah

Last edited by GrahamGarside; 30th April, 2005 at 02:41 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there such a thing as a $400 computer anymore? Staz General Hardware Discussion 50 30th October, 2006 09:37 AM
Want a REALLY cheap but decent computer... is there such a thing? offie Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 28th April, 2005 05:30 PM
A good vocabulary is a good thing. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 16th February, 2003 11:19 PM
Does PCmark2002 give a fairly good measurement of memory ? retrospooty EPoX MotherBoards 4 5th December, 2002 07:26 PM
high performance water cooling radiators CHEAP! Poseidonf4 Online Deals, and Steals 3 5th March, 2002 01:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0