AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th June, 2005, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Wink Gigabyte K8N ULTRA-939

Hi guys.
just bought this motherboard.Can anyone tell me what the 24 pin atx is all about.the last 4 caps on the board is covered,do i need to use this.my psu supports it,its a 24 pin Atx psu,a generic one.did not assemble yet,as im not sure about the 24pin connector.Thanks.

Gigabyte K8N ULTRA-939
Amd 3500+ Winnie
Creative Audigy 2
5.1 Creative spkrs
160 Maxtor Sata
Gigabyte x850 xt Pci Xpress
2x512 Twinmos
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th June, 2005, 04:09 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, Gman15!

Could you please clarify what "the last 4 caps on the board is covered" means? If four of the pins in the mainboard's 24-pin power connector are "filled in," but the 24-pin power connector from the power supply has pins in its same four places, it won't plug in.

Perhaps Giga-Byte supplied a 24-pin to 20-pin adaptor for the PS's power plug?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th June, 2005, 04:13 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

A 24pin psu is ATX V2, 20pin is only 1.3 I think. All new PCI-E boards have 24pin connectors on them, though I do think some Nforce4 boards work with 20pin psu's, it can have some effect on stability, especially when overclocking
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 12th May, 2007 06:40 PM
Gigabyte k8n-sli Gman15 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 28th November, 2006 12:01 AM
Gigabyte k8n sli gboy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 24th October, 2005 08:43 PM
how can i overclock my gigabyte 7vaxp ultra mobo Crazy Hawk AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 23rd October, 2003 08:50 PM
Gigabyte GA-7IX AmbientFiction AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 16th January, 2003 04:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0