AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2005, 12:24 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question DFI UT LanParty nForce 3 Ultra

The people over at DFI Street are very excited over this new mobo.
A lot of people have been waiting on this mobo for several months.
I hear it is the same as thier nForce 4, except it supports AGP instead of PCIe.
Some of the persons on thier forum has this board up to 300+HTT, and are posisitive this board will go to 400HTT with some bios revisions.

I wanted this board myself, but simply did not have the patience to wait. I think I will still get one after it has been out for awhile and maybe a new revision or at least some bios releases have taken place and the board has several xgood reviews.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2005, 12:43 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It's basically the S939 version of the DFI LanParty UT nF3 250Gb

I can see it easily managing around a 330mhz HT bus, 400 though I wouldn't bank on though, it is after all just an NF3 chipset.

If you want 400mhz HT speeds then the ATI chipset based boards look the way to go
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2005, 06:33 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

will the ATi chipsets work fine with nVidia GFX cards?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2005, 01:36 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

should be just fine, you don't get the additional 2 display outputs that you can when using an ATI card, and crossfire won't be supported, but it should work fine with nvidia cards
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2005, 06:20 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

The DFI LanParty UT nForce 3 Ultra AGP is in stock at several venders right now. Two of the better venders are::

www.newegg.com
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136161


www.mwave.com
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA30085

These are two that I have used and can vouch for them as being great to purchase from.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 11:55 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

400HTT is alot more than you will ever really need from that board. The thing is, these days alot of boards can do 300+.

I use an Abit AV8 with a VIA K8T800 Pro chipset. Its from October 2004. It runs 100% stable at 320Mhz HTT. Ive seen one hit 360Mhz HTT stable, and the owner couldnt be stuffed pushing it further. The gap is really quite small between the expensive top end NF3 boards, and the boards considered low end. Dont sweat it.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 12:50 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

We also have a AV8-3rd Eye, and believe it or not, this board performs better running at default settings (204) than the 9NDA3J does at HTT278.

A lot of people do not believe this, I have the 3DMark2001se links to prove it.

I would say the AV8, OC'ed would probably out perform most any nF 3 setup out there.

Maybe the new DFI LanParty UT nForce 3 Ultra AGP will outperform the AV8.

Since the DFI is new and there are not any bios updates available for it as yet.

We will just have to wait and see.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS

Last edited by BobyJo; 26th June, 2005 at 01:40 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 02:26 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The new AV8 BIOS update (version 21) makes an even bigger difference. DDR performance improves, and the HTT can be pushed even higher. I really love the thing. Doesnt surprise me you find if faster than the 9NDA
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2005, 07:18 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

I placed the AV8 and A643200 Winchester in the wifes system. Just downloaded the 821 bios and flashed it. No problems at all.

I killed myself by doing this. I am gonna get the DFI LP UT nF3 Ultra D after they work out some bios problems, or a new version comes down.

I think the main thing about this Epox mobo and probably others is the bios, does not support memory interleaving at all.

Maybe they will come up with a bios version that does. Since this is so important in the performance of a system, I don't understand why they do not support this feature.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2005, 08:47 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

Does the DFI LanParty UT nF3 Ultra D support the A64 X2 yet?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2005, 03:09 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I answer it myself
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2005, 05:23 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I don't think it's on the amd recomended list but as long as the bios has the correct microcode it shouldn't be a problem.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2005, 07:29 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I take this pic from my package.
big problem: no CPU, the X2 I've ordered comes next week
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2005, 11:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Posts: 19

Hi All,

Having visited the DFI Support Forum http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=22 you might want to hold off purchasing that board until they work out what appears to be some serious BIOS issuses.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2005, 01:08 AM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

I might get one of these motherboards. I currently us an Epox 9nda3+ but Epox is taken their sweet time releasing a bios to run my dual core X2.

I'm into overclocking so maybe it's time to ditch Epox for DFI.

What do you guys think?
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2005, 03:07 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

You won't be dissappointed. DFI boards are of exceptional quality and their overclocking ability is unmatched. Although if you already have the Epox I'd stay put rather than waisting money on another board
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2005, 01:30 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

Point taken GrahamGarside, but my X2 is languishing in the Epox board and I can always recoup some of my costs by selling the Epox.... I'll have to think about it...
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2005, 04:24 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

If I had known the Epox bios would not support memory interleaving, I would not have purchased this one.

I would have purchased some other or waited a month and got the DFI LP UT nF3 U.

If I could sell this Epox now I would get the DFI board in a heartbeat.

I have used many Epox boards and never would have even thought that they would go this route.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2005, 12:26 AM
fatfreepork's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to fatfreepork

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtm55
Hi All,

Having visited the DFI Support Forum http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=22 you might want to hold off purchasing that board until they work out what appears to be some serious BIOS issuses.

the issues aren't only bios related. does it surprise you that dfi has yet again released a problematic board?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2005, 01:08 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

If you will look back prior to today, you will see a lot of posts that that board and bios is running great. No problems at at all.

Today all we see are people that are having problems. Could be a defect in product, could be some user problems also.

I don't see any more problems posted with the DFI as we saw with the Asus, Abit, or about any other new product released in the past couple years.

As soon as everything falls into place, I am gonna have one of these. I normally do not have problems with mobo's, video cards, and the like. Bios is another thing, we are left to someone else's mercy in this area.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DFI LanParty NFII Ultra B no boot dolanenwindrift CRASHED! 1 31st May, 2005 04:05 PM
Help with DFI LANParty NFII Ultra B, quick! Quickbeam177 CRASHED! 13 30th April, 2005 02:59 PM
DFI LANParty UT nForce4 Ultra-D mod to SLI aJ\/Tg 64 Bit computing 23 3rd March, 2005 09:04 AM
Lanparty Nfii Ultra _MID_Viking AMD Motherboards & CPUs 59 8th April, 2004 06:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0