AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2005, 12:12 PM
tamashumi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 104

Memory recommendation for nFroce2 system

I'm looking good mem sticks for quite a long time. I read tons of forums, articles, etc... and I'm still undecided

Important to me is the best performance for the price. And I want to get results like:
  • 2x512MB dual channel
  • cl2-2-2-x-iT @ FSB 220-230
  • FSB 250 or above @ 2.5-3-3-x-1T (or close to it).
  • max Vdimm 2.9V

My system spec are at sig

For now I'm considering to buy Mushkins XP3200. If you know anything about those sticks please post here.

Any advices are appreciated especially from those who have experience with nForce2 systems (and even better with mobo like mine).
__________________
CPU Athlon XP-M IQYHA @ 2.53GHz, 1.75V| GPU Hercules 3D Prophet 9800 Pro Zalman CNPS3100 mod @ 440/720MHz|
RAM Mushkin XP3200 2x512 dual @ 460DDR cl2-3-3-11-1T, 2.77V| HDD raid0 2xSATA Barracuda - 320GB| SND SB Live 5.1|
MOBO Epox 8RDA6+ Pro| AIR Pentagram FreeZone QC-80Cu & 5 80x80mm fans| CASE Performance Plus 1000-AMG|
PSU X-Connect 500W| NET D-Link 504T P2P mod|


►►►ALWAYS STABLE◄◄◄
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2005, 05:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 20

I have the nForce2 400 Ultra Chipset!
I just use DDR450 RAM so I don't have to worry about bottleneck
However the chipset itself only handles 425FSB, unless you do a voltmod

My Mobo: ASUS A7N8X (Or something like that?)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2005, 06:30 PM
tamashumi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 104

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyler
I have the nForce2 400 Ultra Chipset!
I just use DDR450 RAM so I don't have to worry about bottleneck
However the chipset itself only handles 425FSB, unless you do a voltmod

My Mobo: ASUS A7N8X (Or something like that?)
thx for reply
but I need more info. What timings do you run on? What's your Vdimm voltage?
Although I guess there is no DDR450, only DDR433 or DDR466 or am I wrong?
What voltmod do you mean, for chipset? I can set up to 2.0V chipset voltage from bios settings (default is 1.6) so it should be enough even to burn and kill mobo



@AOA forum users
I know I'm not asking anything new but pls reply anything which could help or guid me to threads on this forum / anywhere else...
I can't believe any experienced users here
__________________
CPU Athlon XP-M IQYHA @ 2.53GHz, 1.75V| GPU Hercules 3D Prophet 9800 Pro Zalman CNPS3100 mod @ 440/720MHz|
RAM Mushkin XP3200 2x512 dual @ 460DDR cl2-3-3-11-1T, 2.77V| HDD raid0 2xSATA Barracuda - 320GB| SND SB Live 5.1|
MOBO Epox 8RDA6+ Pro| AIR Pentagram FreeZone QC-80Cu & 5 80x80mm fans| CASE Performance Plus 1000-AMG|
PSU X-Connect 500W| NET D-Link 504T P2P mod|


►►►ALWAYS STABLE◄◄◄
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 12:34 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

A friend got a bad stick of Mushkin DDR recently. Why not have a look at Crucial? The modules are assembled in the USA, AFAIK. Gasp! www.crucial.com .
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2005, 02:34 PM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

Well nForce2 stretches too much RAM.

Consider the following:
1) Kingston HyperX PC4300 CL3.0 1X512MB.
2) RAM MSF was 245MHz 1:1 3-4-4-8 (ABIT NF-S v2.0), Vdimm=2.984
3) RAM MSF is 295MHz 1:1 3-4-4-8/2T (Gigabyte nForce3 754 socket), Vdimm=2.822.

So I agree with cloasters I do not know any RAM modules to achieve your requirements.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2005, 06:11 PM
tamashumi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 104

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
A friend got a bad stick of Mushkin DDR recently. Why not have a look at Crucial? The modules are assembled in the USA, AFAIK. Gasp! www.crucial.com .
Thanks for info.
Peaty I ordered Mushkin's before you posted :/
I hope they won't be bad...


@MrSeanKon
Thx to you too.
I'm not convinced to HyperX memories. But nothing lost. If Mushkin's won't be compatible with my system I can sell it for about 150% of newegg's price. Here at Poland hardware prices realy sux xD

Anyway I know memories which meet my requirements. G.Skill on TCCD but they're to expensive for me

I report how Mushkin's handle with my configuration but it take a month at least before I get them. When my mate comes back from USA and bring me those sticks.

Kind regards guys
__________________
CPU Athlon XP-M IQYHA @ 2.53GHz, 1.75V| GPU Hercules 3D Prophet 9800 Pro Zalman CNPS3100 mod @ 440/720MHz|
RAM Mushkin XP3200 2x512 dual @ 460DDR cl2-3-3-11-1T, 2.77V| HDD raid0 2xSATA Barracuda - 320GB| SND SB Live 5.1|
MOBO Epox 8RDA6+ Pro| AIR Pentagram FreeZone QC-80Cu & 5 80x80mm fans| CASE Performance Plus 1000-AMG|
PSU X-Connect 500W| NET D-Link 504T P2P mod|


►►►ALWAYS STABLE◄◄◄
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2005, 06:29 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

At least in the US, there is a huge disparity in RAM pricing between standard, and performance memory.

For good PC3200 (DC 1gig) cas3, the price may be about $80. For the "performance" equivalent, the price shoots up to $120-150. Not worth the price in my opinion. Also, performance may be 2.0-2-2-5, like some HyperX (TCCD) or 2.0-3-3-6. Not a huge difference in performance, but definitely more cost.

Unless you are willing to spend a premium, it is a crap shoot.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2005, 10:26 PM
tamashumi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 104

You're right that performance modules are often overpriced.

I bought those XP3200 (2-2-2-x) 2x512 Mushkin sticks for 170$. It is not cheap at all in comparision to prices you're talking about. But here at Poland prices of any technical devices (hardware, hi-fi, etc...) are elevated up till nonsense :/
For normal marked value cl3 ram (as I have now for example, check sig) one need to pay at least 100-110$, for 2-3-3-6 ~185$ and for 2-2-2-5 even up to 300$ and above depends on mark. Besides keep in mind that average salary here are like 20% of US, maybe 25%. No I don't mean 20% less but 1/5. In IT brand difference is even higher, nice huh? :/ So I wanna invest my money at sticks with guaranted low timings. Maybe I overpriced a bit but I'm a geek too ;] And still there are much more expensive sticks like TCCD G.Skill for example ~240$ US price.

Anyway I can always sell sticks I'll get from US with much profit even after period of use

btw. anyone looking for good object-oriented programist and relative database projectant with MSc degree (AI specilized, webservices experienced)?
I can take any remote job and even go abroad for work (looking at possible salary here anyone will understand).

best regards,
~tama~
__________________
CPU Athlon XP-M IQYHA @ 2.53GHz, 1.75V| GPU Hercules 3D Prophet 9800 Pro Zalman CNPS3100 mod @ 440/720MHz|
RAM Mushkin XP3200 2x512 dual @ 460DDR cl2-3-3-11-1T, 2.77V| HDD raid0 2xSATA Barracuda - 320GB| SND SB Live 5.1|
MOBO Epox 8RDA6+ Pro| AIR Pentagram FreeZone QC-80Cu & 5 80x80mm fans| CASE Performance Plus 1000-AMG|
PSU X-Connect 500W| NET D-Link 504T P2P mod|


►►►ALWAYS STABLE◄◄◄
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Memory WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 3rd January, 2005 08:53 AM
Memory Recommendation mojo1340 EPoX MotherBoards 3 19th June, 2004 07:58 PM
Memory recommendation Quddy 64 Bit computing 0 12th May, 2004 08:50 PM
CPU, mobo and memory recommendation please danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 17th October, 2003 07:14 PM
memory recommendation for the 8RGA+ barneygumble742 EPoX MotherBoards 4 20th July, 2003 07:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0