AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 05:45 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Best overall AMD setup?

Hi all,
It may be a few months away but i think that i'm going to get a whole new setup for christmas (said it was a while away). I'm going to have about £200 to spend and i want to get a new mobo, cpu and graphics card. The mobo needs to have either an 8xAGP or 16xPCI-E slot (depending on graphics card), onboard sound, onboard LAN/ethernet 10/100, support upto 4 IDE devices (2 primary, 2 secondary), have minimum of 4 PCI slots and accept PC3600 DDR-RAM minimum. SATA isn't required. The CPU needs to be compatible with the motherboard (would prefer an AMD, don't like intel that much) and the graphics card needs to have openGL support, DX9 support (if possible) and clock in at around 300Mhz core (and be overclockable to a good level). Under £200, what's the best setup?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)

Last edited by skool h8r; 26th June, 2005 at 10:26 AM. Reason: not sub-£200 any more, just the best setup.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 06:27 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Sempron 2800+ S754 £54.38
DFI LanpartyUT NF3 250GB £65.67
Gigabyte Geforce 6600 £82.57

Total just over £202
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 06:37 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Its a matter of will his existing stuff cope?

Looking at his machine, I would think that the DDR is probably DDR333 at the most, DDR266 or DDR200 more likely. The generic 350W PSU is also debatable.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 06:40 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Where were you looking at? i was over at OCUK when i was writing it and they are way more expensive than what you said. Anyway, i was looking at the 6600 earlier and just thinking.

Thanks.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 06:53 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

try komplett.co.uk they do upgrade kits (mobo and processor) not sure what they're customer service and delivery times are like though! never bought owt from there.

Try ebuyer.com too they're pretty good. PLUS one of their warehouses is in sheffield! I live bout 7 miles from sheffield and they deliver very quickly. (Don't use the priority service tho, they always mess up with that and it comes late. From my experience anyways)
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 07:05 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

WHOA! an AMD 64 3000+ upgrade kit for £189.99 at komplett! Shame, i'm not a 64person, don't know if my other components could cope with that. And dsio, i could upgrade the PSU for about £15, up to a 500+ watt (not sure of exact wattage) from ebuyer. The memory should be able to cope with a new setup which as i will be working for currys at christmas time, i will have even more money to spend on it so it's not a problem. \ ^_^ /
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 07:23 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=175934
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=137670
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=213219

You can get a 1GB stick of DDR400 for £58

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...roductID=97647

You don't want an ebuyer psu for a good system, I wouldn't recomend anything less than this

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...roductID=37215
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 07:59 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

You really need a good quality power supply, trust me i know from experiance. Get a good one from a good brand and it will last you. I suggest Tagan or Enermax
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 08:33 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The Enermax noisetaker 370 would be your ideal psu, but I doubt you wanna lay down £41 for the psu

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=143946

Although if the system is gonna be on 24/7 then you would likely save the differance on you electricity within a year over a cheap unit
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 08:35 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

So it's a no-no to ebuyer PSU's. Hmm, well, don't know how much i could afford for a PSU. But i can get some memory from OCUK, i think it's cheaper as well. I have 512MB, pc3200 (the other number always had me confsed) but in an online advert earlier, PC500 DDR-RAM! Didn't check it out, just thought, whoa! So, i'm probably gonna need a new PSU as well? What would happen if i tried the 350W? Would it just refuse to start or blow the components?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 08:44 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

it might work, but it would likely cause stability issues, and hold back overclocking. Potentially a cheap psu can even damage components.

I would steer well clear of ebuyer power supplys for a higher powered system such as I've recomended.

As for ram, if you already have a 512mb dimm another should do it
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 09:01 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

I did find a faster CPU at novatech for a few pounds more: http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?AMD-S73000

It says the operational frequency (what?) is 2.0 Ghz but the clock speed is 1.8Ghz. What's the difference (apart from 200MHz)? Also, i can probably get some memory from a mate of mine. His pc is seriously tricked (not sure of exact details), 2.6GHz Intel, 256MB nvidia graphics, can't remember the rest, will try to find out. But anyway, i can probably get the RAM cheap.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 09:22 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The sempron 3000 is 1.8ghz with 128k L2 cache, where as the 2800+ is 1.6ghz 256kb L2 cache. I'd say go for the 2800+ as with the DFI board they'll likely clock very close but the extra cache of the 2800+ will definately help
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 10:03 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Hmmm, yeah, maybe i would be better with a bigger cache. As for the £41 PSU, that's about a days wages at currys which ain't too bad. (£5.00 an hour, 9am 'til 5pm or £36 at minimum wage of £4.50) so it's about a days work to afford it which is worth it. The system isn't going to be on all the time so it's not really that bad. The thing is, i have the 512MB on 2 seperate modules, one was included and i bought the other from OCUK the other week. It's PC3200 DDR400 (i just checked so it's not too bad for £18 with next-day delivery) It's designed for the OEM market which is why it's cheaper probably. I'm not sure about the other stick though, it's got chips on both sides so it's an earlier 'version'. I am really keen on OCUK because their products are generally excellent and they stock some great brands like coolermaster.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 10:44 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Oh stuff this, i'm going for some of the best! The best processor (probably AMD 64 3200 Newcastle OEM), a 6600GT PCI-E, still got to decide on a motherboard (going for one with PCI-E). I'm going to use the money at christmas, and the money i get from currys to make one hell of a PC! Then, i'll be ahead of the game and in quite a good area of the market. This time, i'm determined to get the ultimate PC. I've decided to go with PCI-E because of the speeds you can get from it e.g.

525MHz 3D GPU Core Clock Speed
1050MHz DDR3 Memory Clock Speed

That's what i call speed, and because i'll be doing a job that i get payed for, then i can afford to do stuff like that. It may sound crazy and a bit dreamy but it will quite possibly, be true come early 2006. By then, the prices will have gone down so it'll be a bit less but i don't have anything else to spend the money on so, i'll spend it on myself and use the components from i have now in the other machine downstairs.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 11:00 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Is this system not gonna be built until december/january? if thats so then disregard my suggestions, by then socket 939 will be dirt cheap. There will be 64bit S939 Semprons, and dual cores will be a reasonable price.
The 6600 will be old news by then, so I wouldn't make any gpu plans until closer the time, but it's reasonable to expect the 6800 will be close to the £100 mark by that time
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 12:03 AM
fearless joe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: london
Posts: 589

and are you gona buy everything new, cos if you dont want top of the line theres like a million components for sale on ebay at stupid prices, just takes some searching time to find compatable stuff
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 12:45 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Making a wish list for christmas now is good homework. You get to reserarch all the best components you really want, read the reveiews etc etc then watch their prices fall as they get superseeded and you start looking at the NEW components....and on it goes...
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 12:53 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It's dificult to plan a purchase for 6 months away though, the components I recomended were what I would consider a good price/performance setup today. 6 months away is gonna look a whole lot differant

You can put a good games system together for around £400 though, case, psu and drives included, especially if you don't need a monitor, mouse and keyboard.

See you again in 6 months I guess
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 09:35 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Well, the 6800GT PCI-E (definately going with PCI-E) is quite expensive, a bit out of my range but as you say, prices will have fallen. I am on a limit, but it is quite a high one, about a months work for a decent gaming system, about 2 months work for a super gaming system. Last night, I realised that I could only work weekends but i am willing to work 9am 'til 8pm for £7 an hour which is about £77 for one day, if i work saturday and sunday, that's about £154 a week, about £616 a month. doubt i'll get that much but it wouldn't be bad if i am working hours like that. But, then, there are the school holidays, about a week in october, another 2 weeks at christmas (not working christmas day or new years day) which i'll probably work 9am 'til 5pm so i'll have a pretty good budget by january next year. Anyway, i saw a Gigabyte 3D1 - Dual GeForce 6600 GT 256MB DDR3 & K8NXP-SLI nForce4 SLi Bundle (PCI-Express) - Retail at OCUK for about £320 inc. VAT ( http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...CI_Series.html )

Another one i saw (very expensive at nearly £1000) was XFX SLi TwinForce Kit (2 x GeForce 6800 Ultra 512MB DDR3) TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail on the same page as above. That has to be the ultimate card setup, you get 2x512mb SLI-ready cards! Don't think many people will need that in a hurry. But i do like the 6600GT i saw, nice spec, nice price, suitable for me. I have been thinking about SLI-ing 2 together to get the best performance possible. Just need to choose a mobo which will affect the CPU. The only SLI compatible models i have seen are socket 939 but so is the FX55 (FX57 released on monday) which will still be pretty expensive at christmas but may just be affordable. It is one of the most overclockable in the world though which is a brilliant feature. I just need help choosing a mobo now. SLI compatible, socket 939...
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pc on tv setup barneygumble742 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 29th December, 2006 03:51 AM
fan setup bonesaw Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 12th September, 2006 03:39 AM
2cd-rom, 2 HD setup help seungm81 General Hardware Discussion 9 21st June, 2003 12:41 AM
setup rivendell AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 24th May, 2003 06:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0