AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 05:18 PM
SubaruWRX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to SubaruWRX

whhoooo!! I ordered a new system!

Well ok here's how it happend.. I went to install a firewire card on my Soyo SY K7VTA PRO, and it would do werid things like lock up on post.. well turns out it was a defective card.. then i got messages while the card was in the computer like check the vga card, and got no video from the video card... So took the card out, and now I'm getting Check the Cpu.. i'm like what the heck nothing is wrong with it.. Amd Athlon 1.1GHZ So when I went to go check it.. all I did was press down on the clip and i heard a crunchy sound, sure enough the chip die cracked.. How i don't know, I think its because I was running thinner then normal paste.

Anyways after about 6-7 hours of trying to find a system that would fit my budget $300

I came up with this system which I already just ordered..

before I list it I know the mobo is not the greatest nor the cpu but the cpu does well for overclocking.. I dunno how the mobo overclocks or not.

BIOSTAR NF325-A7 Socket 754 NVIDIA nForce3 250 ATX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138247

Koutech 4-Port FireWire/1394 PCI (DV SW+Cable Bundle)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815104226

ATRIX PSCI-480 ATX 480W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817192001

AMD Sempron 3100+ Paris 800MHz FSB 256KB L2 Cache Socket 754 Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104207

CENTON 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820237108

Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835100007

KINGWIN K8CU-8025 80mm Ball Cooling Fan/Heatsink
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835124004

total came to $285.89

which is not bad, also about the memory I have another 512mb stick but I don't think it's PC 3200 but PC2700... So I doubt it will work?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 05:24 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

pics of mem. it might, if you adjust the timings in bios manually first. might not tho, depending on what type of centon stick you get.

not bad for 300 bones.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 05:28 PM
SubaruWRX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to SubaruWRX

well the other ram is another brand.. I forgot what it was..

Also I was going to go with a DFI Lanparty UT later on but how much faster proformance wise is this cpu over my Athlon 1.1Ghz?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 05:32 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

more than double. my 2600+ 754 sempron ran 2.4ghz(8x300mhzHTT{FSB}).
only pics can verifiy if the ram will work or not. some brands such as centon simply buy sticks and "relabel" them.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 05:39 PM
SubaruWRX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to SubaruWRX

well the ram is in storage in my dead Abit AN7... it got fried by 525V from this POS Memorex CCL light kit.. it was so bad if you touched the top of the power inverter you would get a shock.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 05:50 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Biostar aren't known for their overclocking, but a 250-266mhz fsb may well be possible, giving you 2.25-2.4ghz rom the sempron.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 06:45 PM
SubaruWRX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to SubaruWRX

yeah I know.. I was thinking about going with a DFI Lanparty next.

cpu seems to do well in benchmarks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 07:35 PM
SubaruWRX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to SubaruWRX

btw do I need to format my main drive when i switch mobo?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 08:02 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

would be a good idea, yes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 09:11 PM
SubaruWRX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to SubaruWRX

well I ask because most systems I've built wont boot into windows period..

like when I went from my PII 450Mhz board which had a ALi northbridge, to a VIA amd based board, I had no other option but to format..

i've got 4 hard drives total and some files from the other drive are linked to the main drive so that means if I format, the links are lost.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 09:49 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

this is why you should back up first, and often. sry. but it's the truth. i spend maybe 15 minutes a day back up files and performing "system" maintenence, but i never loose my files, and re-installing windows is no big deal. i actaully like a good fresh install every feww weeks, as it helps keep your system fast.

there is a thread here on how to create a "walk-away" windows install disk...one of the best threads i ever read.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 11:35 PM
SubaruWRX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to SubaruWRX

it's called walk-away?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2005, 11:54 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

yes pop in the disk...walk away...lol maybe unattended if you are looking for the thread.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2005, 12:51 AM
SubaruWRX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to SubaruWRX

oh lol, I thought that was the name of the thread...lol I was searching under that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just ordered a rig rhath127 General Hardware Discussion 8 23rd April, 2007 02:19 AM
Ordered another Epox weldzilla Intel Motherboards & CPUs 15 21st December, 2004 05:57 AM
Ordered an Enermax 465 for a P4 box... cloasters Intel Motherboards & CPUs 0 25th January, 2004 09:38 PM
I may have just done a very bad thing - ordered 8RGA alternety EPoX MotherBoards 6 13th March, 2003 06:35 AM
WHHHHOOOO I Ordered It!!!! FerrariF50 Random Nonsense! 15 1st January, 2003 05:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0