AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 05:01 PM
l33t_baller's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Indian River(BFE),Northern Michigan
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to l33t_baller Send a message via Yahoo to l33t_baller

tell me what you think of my next order!

EPoX EP-8KRAIPRO Socket A (Socket 462) VIA KT880 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rosewill 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 333 (PC 2700)

SAPPHIRE 100557L-RD Radeon 9800PRO 256MB DDR AGP 4X/8X


i just wanted to know if anyone here has had problems with these?!?!!?!

remember thats all i can afford right now
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 05:43 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Is the pc2700 really that much cheaper than 3200?

And how muchare you paying for the Radeon? Surely you can get a 6800LE for around the same price?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 08:12 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I would suggest an nForce 2 Ultra 400 chipeset and at newegg the 128mb 9800pro and the 6800LE are the same price, so do yourself a favor and get the 6800LE and we'll show you how to unlock it. And the PC-3200 RAM is almost the exact same price, so get that.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:09 AM
l33t_baller's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Indian River(BFE),Northern Michigan
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to l33t_baller Send a message via Yahoo to l33t_baller

may i ask why i should go with the nforce chipset that is what i have now but its not the ultra.........

ok what is the difference between these chipsets

NVIDIA nForce2 MCP

NVIDIA nForce2 MCP-S
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:35 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Does the MCP-S have Sata support and the MCP not?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:48 AM
l33t_baller's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Indian River(BFE),Northern Michigan
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to l33t_baller Send a message via Yahoo to l33t_baller

ok i just got done searching reveiws and both boards suck for over clocking alot...
i have the biostar M7NCD should i just get the M7NCD ultra cause that board has alot
of good oc'ing reveiws
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 02:13 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I'm pretty sure Graham would agree with me here when I say reviews on e-tailer's websites are pretty much worthless. I'd go with an EPoX over a Biostar anyday. I just thought if you were getting a new EPoX mobo to go for the nForce2 Ultra 400..

Quote:
Originally Posted by l33t_baller
ok what is the difference between these chipsets

NVIDIA nForce2 MCP

NVIDIA nForce2 MCP-S
I think they're referring to the southbridge chipset there and I don't think it's going to make too much of a difference.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1

Last edited by Exile69; 25th August, 2005 at 09:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 11:46 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Epox board are usually perfectly good overclockers, which reviews are you going off?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:40 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
Does the MCP-S have Sata support and the MCP not?
That's what I know.
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 05:25 PM
l33t_baller's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Indian River(BFE),Northern Michigan
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to l33t_baller Send a message via Yahoo to l33t_baller

the reveiws drom new egg
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 09:48 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

As much as I like ATI, go with a budget Nvidia card thats better....for example, the 6800LE or 6600gt. The 9800 was a great line, but the 256 meg versions get so damn hot they can fry eggs. Which is why the cooling solution on a 9800xt is so much better.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 05:31 AM
l33t_baller's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Indian River(BFE),Northern Michigan
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to l33t_baller Send a message via Yahoo to l33t_baller

well would liquid cooling help?!?!?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 05:56 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Obviously yes, but you'll end up paying more for the cooling then the card...Provided you dont have the WC already. Just go with the 6800LE and unlock the thing.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 07:56 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seperah
Obviously yes, but you'll end up paying more for the cooling then the card...Provided you dont have the WC already. Just go with the 6800LE and unlock the thing.
The man gave you a good hint! Listen to him. Also..if you want a proof that the 6800 LE gives you more than 9800 Pro look on Futuremark website at ORB projects and see the differences.
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2005, 04:04 PM
l33t_baller's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Indian River(BFE),Northern Michigan
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to l33t_baller Send a message via Yahoo to l33t_baller

well how much does the 6800 cost?!?! arent more.... and cooling isnt my problemi have so much airflow and my comp is in my basement my cpu runs at a constant 25c.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2005, 04:12 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Quote:
Originally Posted by me!
and at newegg the 128mb 9800pro and the 6800LE are the same price, so do yourself a favor and get the 6800LE and we'll show you how to unlock it.
Dude, the 6800LE costs the same as the 9800Pro but you can unlock it from 8 Pixel Pipelines and 4 Vertex shaders to 12 or 16 Pixel Pipelines and 5 or 6 Vertex Shaders. It also offers slightly better performance than the 9800Pro at stock.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2005, 04:43 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Trust me you want a 6800LE over a 9800pro, worse case scenario you suffer slightly lower performance in SM2 stuff but better in SM3 games, which is important for future releases.

Best case scenario you have a card about twice as fast as the 9800pro, and you have very good odds for a card about 50% faster
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HMV won't let you pre-order a PS3 on its own danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 7th February, 2007 02:41 PM
CrySis Pre-order - £34.99! skool h8r Online Deals, and Steals 2 14th May, 2006 02:14 PM
Congrats are in order!!! ajopz ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 10 20th April, 2006 12:16 AM
Hello all, an introduction is in order....... lgattone ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 31st August, 2003 06:24 PM
Which order to connect. dod Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 17th May, 2003 08:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0