AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 11:14 PM
Cproflow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 24

Overclocking a 3800+

I was wondering if anyone had any experience OCing a 3800? I dropped one of those in a system I built last year, but never messed around with it. I wanted it to be super stable and I think I remember reading some reviews that said they didnt' OC well at all (Unlike the FX-53, which was the big whoop a year ago). This is the Newcastle core. What can one expect from trying out an OC? Are the gains at least to 2.6 ghz?

With all the goodness to be gleaned with the 3000/3200 Venice cores (I just got one and am loving it), it is evident that these can pretty reliably surpass the 3800 (at stock). Certainly, they can go even further.

If the 3800 turns out to be a curmudgeon when it comes to OCing, how crazy is it to pull it out and drop in a 3000? I could probably sell the 3800 for the cost of a 3000 (maybe even a little more), and possibly have a racier chip to boot. Is that crazy, stupid or sneaky...or all three?
__________________

Last edited by Cproflow; 24th August, 2005 at 11:17 PM. Reason: additional info
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 11:24 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

3700+ i bought yesterday:

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=34578

booted into windows @ 255x11, i changed nothing else, besides mem divider.


now, my cpu is rated as a 59c maxcasetemp cpu, with an offset of +7. these figures can be found in CBiD, under the mobility tab, and pstates.

This will give a good idea of what the cpu canm do...the higher the maxcasetemp, the higher the chip will overclock.

tell me what those numbers are, and i can suggest settings for you.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 11:37 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Newcastles top out at 2.4-2.6ghz, usually around 2.5ghz

As for selling it and grabbing a 3000+ well that all depends on your motherboard, if you have a decent NF3 board that will manage a 300+ mhz HTT clock and assuming you can sell your 3800+ for close to the cost of a 3000+ then I see no reason not to, you are almost guaranteed a faster chip along with cooler running and lower power consumption
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 11:39 PM
Cproflow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 24

Cadaveca--I have tried looking up that case temp thing in CBiD...but the fields are blank for the temp, and I think the offset is -3C. (can't quite remember, I'm at work atm...I can check when I get home).

Now, on the Venice core, I get 57C (dang...have to check on that offset.)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 11:54 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I have a 3000+ Venice with a TCase Maximun of 55c and a thermal offset of -4c. What does this mean/mean i could do?
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:37 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cproflow
Cadaveca--I have tried looking up that case temp thing in CBiD...but the fields are blank for the temp, and I think the offset is -3C. (can't quite remember, I'm at work atm...I can check when I get home).

Now, on the Venice core, I get 57C (dang...have to check on that offset.)
max temp for newcastles are all the same. this feature has only been fully enable on rev E and later CPU's.


57c is about 27-2900mhz 1.5-1.6. we still do nate have enough results to make an exact match yet, but it's becoming clearer now, anyway.


my 55c venice(3500+) max was 2640 @ 1.675(prime95 stable)





The thermal offset says that the actual reported temperature by the bios is offset that number of degrees C, in relation to the actual temperature the cpu's diode is reporting.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:44 AM
Cproflow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 24

Allrighty, back from work.

As I mentioned earler, my 3800 reads blank for max case temp, and 13c for offset.

My 3000 reads 57c max temp and -3c offset.

Any guesses how to extrapolate performance from this info?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:55 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

well, your newcastle...i dunno. they are odd birds. no real rules seem to apply, other than that the first released clocked the best.

the 3000..well..make sure you keep your temps @ 54c or less...the bios is subtracting that from teh reported temps by the CPU's diode.



250x10 1.55v....ah crap you have a 3000. 300x9...1.55...maybe 1.6. try to keep temps below 45c. these are baselines..you may be either above or below. you'll ahve to play a bit with it, as each chip behaves a bit diffferently, regardless of how alike they are.


please let us know.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:59 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I have stock cooling ATM. But, I'll be getting a nice Asetek water cooling unit sometime in a few months. I'll be sure to let you know.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DFI and x2 3800 Samuknow AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 11th March, 2007 10:04 PM
Overclocking 3800 AM2 Troubles...Help!!! thejamesvolta AMD Motherboards & CPUs 15 10th October, 2006 06:57 PM
Does the EP-9NPA+SLi Support 3800 X2? crashovride02 EPoX MotherBoards 4 31st August, 2006 01:41 AM
Overclocking 3800+ Winchester on 9NDA3+ Spycat78800 EPoX MotherBoards 8 29th September, 2005 07:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0