AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:20 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

What a difference decent memory can make!

Well, I initially had 2 x 256MB PC3200 Samsung Original CH5 modules that would not get past 220HTT 1:1 in my Epox rig. Then I thought I'd "splash out" on 2 x 512MB TwinMos Speed Premium PC3500 BH5 modules, these would not run past 217Mhz and are now constantly failing memtest and one their way back to whence they came...

This morning Mr Postie delivered a package from over the pond kindly sent over for me. This had 2 x 512MB PC3200 Patriot memory that is absolutely awesome. I thought 275HTT 1:1 would be a good goal. That came and went in a few minutes, 290Htt? How about 305HTT 1:1 at fairly decent timings?

Its not expensive either.

Thanks Gizmo!
Attached Thumbnails
What a difference decent memory can make!-cpuz2.jpg   What a difference decent memory can make!-untitled-1.jpg  
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:43 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

good old patriot platinum.. It used to be cheap as well, till everyone found out it r0x0rs
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:03 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

any TCCD/TCC5 should do that.

samsung ch-5? what PCB? the winbond chips you mention are 3.2v modules, not 2.6, so you don't get decent speeds until you provide the juice.

my bh-5 gets 264, 2-2-2-5, 3.4v, and my ch-5 gets 250, 3.4v.


You should be able to get 300HTT 2.5-4-3-7-11-14-2-3-2-2 @ 2.8-2.9v with those sticks, or very close to. 2.5-3-3-6-11-14-2-3-1-2 @ 300mhz is doable with a real good set as well.

Play with them a bit, and you'll get more!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 06:49 AM
45 Auto's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: land of Gov. Terminator
Posts: 98

@Laz: Glad to see that you finally got the 3500 running where it should be. These nf3/nf4 boards can really go with the right memory. And since most of us don't have boards that will do 4volt vdimm, or can run a DDR booster, it can be a hunt to find the right dimms.
__________________
9nda3+/0520 3200 venice E3 @300x9/2x256 or 4x256 GSkill LE/X800XL/XP90/Enermax Liberty 500watt/dual Maxtor S-ata/3 optical drives

asrock939dualie/3000winnie@230x9/2x512 Patriot ddr400ELK/Enermax Coolergiant 480/9600pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 07:42 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
any TCCD/TCC5 should do that.

samsung ch-5? what PCB? the winbond chips you mention are 3.2v modules, not 2.6, so you don't get decent speeds until you provide the juice.

my bh-5 gets 264, 2-2-2-5, 3.4v, and my ch-5 gets 250, 3.4v.


You should be able to get 300HTT 2.5-4-3-7-11-14-2-3-2-2 @ 2.8-2.9v with those sticks, or very close to. 2.5-3-3-6-11-14-2-3-1-2 @ 300mhz is doable with a real good set as well.

Play with them a bit, and you'll get more!!!
As I'm using a 9NDA3+ I'm limited to 2.8V. Plus, the TwinMos BH5 modules are faulty and fail Memtest, they are beng RMA'd today. I'll play about with the memory timings and see what else I can get.

@45 Auto: Seems like I've found the right DIMMs for now, as the weather cools I'll try and push for higher clock speed, this Newcastle is toasty!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 08:06 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

tccd/tcc5 are almost the best. bh-5 is better for gaming, with the lower latencies..comparable 2-2-2-5 265mhz to 2.5-4-3-6 300mhz on tccd. But becasue of it's low volts, Laz, i want some myself...my asus board would love it, with max of 3.0v

first up is BH-5 525mhz, fx57 @ 3400mhz

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4210637


second up is tccd 620mhz, fx57 @ 3400mhz.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4210234


check the individual game test scores to see the real difference, other than the bh-5 scoring 100 points more, and getting more frames.


not my scores, btw.

__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 25th August, 2005 at 08:49 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 04:49 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I didn't know that Samsung made any BH-5 chips. Seems to me that BH-5 was a different company's product.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 05:11 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Do you have a link to where you bought them from?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 05:26 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
I didn't know that Samsung made any BH-5 chips. Seems to me that BH-5 was a different company's product.
they are, samsung just assembled the sticks. an then...
Actually, they just hoarded a bunch of sticks from 2002, and released then at the beginning of this year. They did not make 'em; however, they paid dearly for 'em(price fixing scandal, anyone?)




i'll post the "memory story" again in a bit. i tried last night, but IE crashed on me when i clicked post
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 12:04 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
Do you have a link to where you bought them from?
Check your PM
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How big a difference will this make? Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th February, 2006 09:11 AM
cache speed make a difference? smiffy ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 24th August, 2003 07:45 AM
New Amd Processor Driver from Microsoft Update, does it make much difference? JamesUK EPoX MotherBoards 20 17th February, 2003 05:17 PM
You too can make a difference! Allan Random Nonsense! 3 10th August, 2002 09:41 PM
RAD position change make a difference??? chazz469 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 4th June, 2002 07:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0