AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 01:18 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

The Effect of Multipliers

I was recently reading a couple of reviews where the reviewer in one instance brought his 2.4Ghz AMD processor from 200x12 to 300x8. In another instance the reviewer brought his CPU from 200x14 to 400x7. I was wondering if or how much of a positive effect this would have. And, as an example, is a 3500+ Venice @ 2.2Ghz stock equal to, better, or worse than a 3000+ Venice running @ 2.2Ghz in the exact same configuration? Let's just say these two processors were made on the same day. Also, when they say 2000Mhz HTT, I'm under the impression that this is representing the FSB, at stock it would be 200 with an LDT multiplier of 5 at full duplex yeilding 2000Mhz HTT. Is that right?
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 01:21 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The only benefits to reducing the multiplier and going for a higher clock are firstly to get the optimal clock speed setting whilest keeping the memory at DDR400 using the correct divider, or to get the memory at it's highest capable speed if you have premium ram like TCCD, UTT or BH5 etc..
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 01:25 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Are you putting any stress on the CPU by bringing it from 14x200 to 400x7?
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 01:30 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I don't think so. But there are no ram modules that can take that speed so there are no benefits in attempting it and I doubt any board could manage it without extreme cooling.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 01:36 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Quote:
Originally Posted by Me
And, as an example, is a 3500+ Venice @ 2.2Ghz stock equal to, better, or worse than a 3000+ Venice running @ 2.2Ghz in the exact same configuration? Let's just say these two processors were made on the same day.
What about that?
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 01:40 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

An athlon 64 core running at a given clockspeed performs the same regardless of it's stock speed as long as all things are equal.
Even if there is an increase in HT bandwidth, this bus can carry so much data anyway that it has no impact on performance.

Like I said, the only reason to lower the multiplyer to raise the HTT clock is to get a faster memory clock or to hit a sweet spot for keeping the memory at 400mhz
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 01:48 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

When you say all things are equal, what do you mean by that? The 3500+ would be running at 200x11 and the 3000+ would be running @ ~245x9. That seems quite different to me. Would these two have equal performance? I'm guessing yes.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 02:12 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

All things being equal as in the rest of the system is the same spec and the memory clock is the same, which 9x245 wouldn't be, as there is no way to get the memory to run at DDR400 with that clock, you need to run at 250/266/300 HTT clocks to then get a 400mhz memory clock which you can only achieve 2.25ghz from, giving the overclocked 3000+ a slight performance lead over the 3500+ but only by an amount equal to the cpu clock speed advantage
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mem speed effect on SMP core smiffy ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 24th August, 2007 07:37 AM
Does it effect you health. Joe Bloggs AOA's Community Support 23 3rd June, 2007 11:02 PM
Does HDD effect Gaming Performance? saquib Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 22nd September, 2005 08:47 PM
Overclocking temps?+its effect on the CPU. fvr Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 15 21st October, 2002 07:22 AM
High Vdimm effect? Link EPoX MotherBoards 18 9th August, 2002 07:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0