AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2005, 12:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 4

Exclamation A8N-SLI Premium+Dual MSI nx6600GT problem

The problem is I can not get SLI or even both cards to show up at the same time in windows. Both cards work seperate but not together in SLI. I've updated the BIOS and drivers to the newest with MSI Update. Both cards show up in safe mode but if I try to enable SLI in the BIOS, Windows locks at startup. Here are the PC specs. Please let me know if anyone knows what to do to get it to work. Thanks a Lot!

AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
A8N-SLI Premium (BIOS 1007)
1GIG (2X512) Corsair ValueRam
2 - MSI NX6600GT 128 DDR3 (matching newest version with MSI live update)
Antec 550 Truepower 2.0
80G Samsung SATA HD
160G Samsung SATA HD
SONY DVD Burner
SONY CD Burner
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2005, 04:40 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

I visited Corsair's web site and searched for memory that would be certified for your board. This is what they recommend for PC3200::

TWINX1024-3200XLPRO

I looked for Corsair Value Ram and did not see it for use in your board.
This just may be your problem.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2005, 05:58 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I thought that a "bridge" card was also needed to make SLI work?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2005, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 4

RAM is working fine, everything checks out good with the memory (ValueSelect is on the list in the manual, sorry I put ValueRam on accident)...It is the video and SLI that is not working. Everything else works , no other problems at all.

AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
A8N-SLI Premium (BIOS 1007)
1GIG (2X512) Corsair ValueSelect
2 - MSI NX6600GT (matching newest version updated with MSI live update)
Antec 550 Truepower 2.0
80G Samsung SATA HD
160G Samsung SATA HD
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2005, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 4

and yes I'm using the bridge between the cards
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual-channel problem! skool h8r AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 6th January, 2007 05:43 PM
A8N-SLI Premium+Dual MSI nx6600GT problem miseryinlife Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 5th October, 2005 02:51 PM
Dual AMD Problem (M762a) Malice EPoX MotherBoards 2 25th September, 2004 05:42 PM
8RDA3+ FSB and Dual Channel Problem mata2974 EPoX MotherBoards 5 10th November, 2003 05:45 PM
Dual ddr problem DEZMOND EPoX MotherBoards 17 14th December, 2002 07:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0