AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 08:49 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question AMD Rules, Big Time

I have a A64 3500 Winchester, that I inadverently ruined by placing it in a black AMD cpu box for storage. This box was designed for a XT cpu. When I removed the cpu and started to place it back into service, I found the pins were bent so badly I could not get them straight enough to go into the 939 socket. This cpu has been in storage for about 90 days now. I placed a post on a popular forum asking if anyone knew of anywhere they could straighten the pins for me. NO JOY, Today I called AMD to see if they had some way of doing this. I was told, after they verified the model and serial # of my processor. If I would send it in for inspection, they would send out a new processor to me. I sent the processor and hs/fan to them already. WOW
I have never heard of anyone else doing anything like this.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 08:55 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Good for you!

I guess it doesn't cost them much to replace it.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 09:15 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Wel for AMD, CPU's are pretty cheap to produce and this is shown in their prices and the 'saving' is passed on to the customer. AMD do rule!
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 09:19 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Actually, Intel has about the lowest cost of manufacturing of any major player, last I checked. AMD has lower margins than Intel.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2005, 10:03 PM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
AMD do rule!
Of course AMD RULEZ!
Teravolts!
True FPU power!
Where is Intel HT for dual cores?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 12:39 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

I received a phone call today from AMD and talked to Alex.
He is the fellow that I had talked to the first time I called.
He informed me that the processor was beyond repair and they were sending a new NewCastle 3500 Retail Boxed processor today.
I guess I have been living right.
Can't think of any other reason for this action.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 02:00 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Damn you are lucky.

All that stored up good karma must be coming back.

Just to keep yourself in the positive - Install folding, and fold for Team 45
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 02:14 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

AMD rma's have always been good, especially on recent A64 models. Chances are your cpu will get recycled into another cpu or something else, when repaired.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 06:14 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Should really frontpage it IMO. Perhaps if websites encourage these companies to do positive and helpfull things for people, and reward them with good publicity, others will catch on and follow suit.

I must say ASUS have had this same attitude for many years as well.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 06:17 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Yeah, not with me..current RMA time...5 months. I do not like ASUS. All because of a missing sticker...and not the serial number sticker either.

But i guess it all boils down to local support...You probably have an ASUS service center local, or relatively close-by. I have NOTHING, BUT taiwan from here.

My first 2x7800GTX were ASUS, bought while i still had some confidence in them, but my second for the system now is not, and purely based on this...if my card dies, my god i dunno what i'd do! I never expect tot be able to claim any sort of warranty on any sort of ASUS product from Canada.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 07:09 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I live in Australia dude, so Taiwan is overnight airmail from here. We deal with them, and Ive had 3 day turnarounds on video cards.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 05:32 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Yeah, not with me..current RMA time...5 months. I do not like ASUS. All because of a missing sticker...and not the serial number sticker either.

But i guess it all boils down to local support...You probably have an ASUS service center local, or relatively close-by. I have NOTHING, BUT taiwan from here.

My first 2x7800GTX were ASUS, bought while i still had some confidence in them, but my second for the system now is not, and purely based on this...if my card dies, my god i dunno what i'd do! I never expect tot be able to claim any sort of warranty on any sort of ASUS product from Canada.

This just isn't right. Asus's online support seems nonexistent in the US, but five months for an RMA?! I imagine that cadaveca no longer uses any Asus components.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 05:57 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

actually i do, and am quite fearful of them dying. my newset 7800GTX is not ASUS , becaseu of this, even though the asus cards are some of the best.

And DSIO, it's quick for you becasue there are threee service centers in Austraila that do repairs, while there is NOTHING in canada...

I will never buy another ASUS product. I am VERY sure that i will never be able to claim warranty after the year local reseller's provide.

i'm riding this one out until the ned..it may just turn into a consumer rights issue, becasue i am not in the wrong here. ASUS cannot fulfill thier warranty. and that's legally binding, that warranty. i've got a bit of cash to persue this, as well as a friend studying law tht loves this sort of thing. It's too bad, but what can i do?

Nothing it seems. the last reponse from asus was to try to get the distributors name from the reseller...which they will not divulge. I guess my issue is going to higher hands..i hope it works out in the end...as ASUS is one of THE LARGEST oem providers.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 06:29 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

I have a love affair going on with BFG Tech. video cards. Lifetime support, Lifetime warranty PERIOD. No fine print, no runarounds. Both of my cards I've had from them are still going to this day...and man did I beat the living crap out of my 5900 Ultra.

RMA support for motherboards has been decent from Shuttle, MSI, and EPoX for me. Don't have any experience with ASUS RMAs, but both boards I have from them are still running strong, so I guess I can't complain.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2005, 05:32 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

WOW I received the new NewCastle 3500 yesterday.
It is a PIB full warranty, I guess they wanted to get rid of the NewCastle, and not replace the Winchester I had.
I can't complain due to the fact that it was not any defact in workmanship or material on the Winchester.
Matter of fact it was my fault by placing the cpu into a box designed for a XT processor.
The XT's had a much stronger pin than the 939's do.
I am thankful that I did get something out of nothing on this.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Messiah Rules!!!!!! NarkotikBuzz GAMES! OH YEAH! 11 4th November, 2006 02:58 PM
Rules for woman!! robbie Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 15 7th July, 2003 08:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0