AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2005, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

Haha ok funny story... plus question

Ok guys so I was about to post a question about a way to bypass the cpu fan check that i thought my mobo has (but doesnt)... but before i did I thought I would check to make sure it had that, so i sat the HSF on the cpu not fastening it down, and hooked the HSF's cable to my secondary fan power connector, then i started it up... maybe was on for 3seconds, then i started to smell sumthing after it was off.... I noticed a little black mark on my athlon, so i hooked everything up the way it should be and fan spin up as well as HDDs, but nothing happens....

Is it really that easy to fry one of these things? thats what i get for being lasy i guess.... other question is where is a good inexspensive place to buy an athlon mobile processor?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2005, 08:21 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

That is one thing Intel has over AMD; AMD doesn't have decent thermal throttling on ANY of their chips, AFAIK. Unless the mobo incorporates some kind of hardware over-temp protection, it will quite happily fry your cpu if you don't have some kind of cooling on the chip. So yes, your chip is toast.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2005, 08:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

I didnt kno that it would make a difference if the HSF was fastened down or not.... well looks like time to go for that mobile athlon
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2005, 11:24 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

thats one reason I prefer INtel I think amd only had an operating temp of 80C while intetl processors go to 100C
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2005, 11:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

the mobile athlon goes to 100C... but your right the cpu i had only goes to 75C i think it was
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2005, 12:02 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

My Abit NF7 & AN7 mobo have saved me me twice from a fried CPU.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2005, 04:15 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I accidentally fried by best AXP once... I was cleaning out the system and was in the act of removing the HSF when I accidently touched something that cause the system to power up ( don't recall exactly). As soon as I saw fans spinning I quickly unplugged the system. Same result, PC wouldn't boot afterward. However, when I removed the CPU the underside had a nasty scorch mark... After a few days, I decided to give it one more shot.... and it worked... Still does. I lost about 100mhz on the overclock, but otherwise, the CPU is still going. Still my best Tbred B @ 2300mhz.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2005, 07:04 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
I accidentally fried by best AXP once... I was cleaning out the system and was in the act of removing the HSF when I accidently touched something that cause the system to power up ( don't recall exactly). As soon as I saw fans spinning I quickly unplugged the system. Same result, PC wouldn't boot afterward. However, when I removed the CPU the underside had a nasty scorch mark... After a few days, I decided to give it one more shot.... and it worked... Still does. I lost about 100mhz on the overclock, but otherwise, the CPU is still going. Still my best Tbred B @ 2300mhz.
I think I need to barrow your horse shoe!!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2005, 10:44 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
That is one thing Intel has over AMD; AMD doesn't have decent thermal throttling on ANY of their chips, AFAIK. Unless the mobo incorporates some kind of hardware over-temp protection, it will quite happily fry your cpu if you don't have some kind of cooling on the chip. So yes, your chip is toast.
I read that having a hardware level cut out protection and early overheat warning system was part of AMD's C'N'Q program. In order for C'N'Q to work, it need mobo support, and part of that is a requirement for the cut out protection.

There is alot of software that will manipulate C'N'Q at a software level within windows and linux / *BSD to thermal throttle, and also I think the PowerNow! system does it too (mobiles).

Not completely sure, but that was my understanding.

I know you can run K8s passively under 100% load using C'N'Q 3rd party thermal throttling apps though, as a local shop here sells them as silent HTPCs.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2005, 02:02 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

That is true, mine will run at 9x133=1200mhz(default 1800mhz) without the fan running as long as my case fans are on (6 case fans)
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HAHA...Do what you want... WonderBread Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 5 2nd August, 2006 01:04 AM
haha Skiracing108 Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 13th May, 2005 12:46 AM
haha Postaldave ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 7 15th August, 2004 08:37 PM
I got a new core, haha. Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 7 1st May, 2002 06:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0