AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 02:48 AM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

building budget system for graphic design

hey guys, i going to build a budget system for a friend who is going to use for graphic design. My guess is that AMD is better for this job so i need bot build a good solid system and get the best bang for the buck, doesn't have to be the cheapest but good enough to do the job.

cpu wise i've looked at this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103502

if the first one is a good overclocker i will like to get that one but if im better off with one of the 3200+ i will consider them.

as far as the motherboard goes i have no clue which one is the best overclocker while being rock solid stable. bare in mind that the cpu will be air cooled so the overclock will be mild.

as for the video, i'm undecided if i should get it pcie or agp, i know that will affect the motherbord choise. I just want to match the best parts for the best price.

thanks for your help
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 02:59 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Get the 3000 and PCI E graphics. Best bang for the buck. People have got MAD overclocks with the 3000's on just air. Mine runs (currently @ 1.39v)
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 04:38 AM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

nice, good to hear about he 3000+ as far as the board, im thinking DFI, MSI or ABIT. any comments?
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 04:43 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'm doing it on a MSI. But I hear great things about the DFI. I'm an Abit fan but haven't heard much about the 64's on those.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 07:49 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

DFI, hands down. If yout not afraid to get your hands dirty. The ammount of tweaking options available is astounding.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 05:21 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

what video card model can very well handle graphic design, i'm looking to stay under $80
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 05:50 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

well the 6200A which i have would be ideal and comes in at around £40 (about $80) and it's good for CAD/CAM if that's what you mean by graphic design.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Abit motherboards for 939 are very good, but they don't quite overclock as well as the DFIs.
However if OC'ing isn't such a concern there little to pick between. The Abit AN8-V is great value for money, offering NForce4 for under £70. The Abit AN8-Sli is the SLI version.
This, the Asus A8N and DFI Lanparty boards usually come out on top.
Any recent Graphics card will handle Cad-Cam admirably.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 06:28 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

overclock is realy not a must, i just figured if i can give him 200 or 300mhz more why not. I was looking in neweeg for the video card and all i can see is 6200 and 6200tc. is the 6200 the same as the 6200A?
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 06:33 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

ok, i just noticed that 6200 are only for agp slots, at least at newegg.
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 07:12 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

no the 6200 is based on the 6600 so pipelines can be unlocked but the 6200A is based on it's own 6200 core so all pipelines are unlocked by stock.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 07:16 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

is there a 6200 for pci e?
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2005, 07:20 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

I'm not sure, i think so, have a check at overclockers.co.uk
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a system WonderBread AMD Motherboards & CPUs 28 5th November, 2005 10:34 AM
what a budget system! skool h8r General Hardware Discussion 11 13th August, 2005 10:33 AM
advice building a budget pc!!! mrt General Hardware Discussion 30 23rd March, 2005 07:55 PM
Budget A-64 system rainman14624 64 Bit computing 19 19th January, 2005 12:34 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0