AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2005, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 15

Gigabyte k8n sli

hi guys.

Can anyone help me to overclock this system,all i get is 210 fsb,anything higher and it just loops past the post.running with F3 bios.

Gigabyte K8N sli motherboard
Amd 3200+ Winnie
Geil 2x512mb ddr400
Fx 55 Cpu cooler+AS5 thermal paste
Maxtor 160 gig Sata1
Creative 2.1 scard
KME 500 Watt psu
Gigabyte Dvd writer
2.1 speakers

Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2005, 07:46 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Set your memory speed to DDR333 this effectively runs a divider so your memory will not be over stressed, also lower your HTT multiplier to 2 or 3, make sure your agp or pci-e speed is locked and then have a go.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2005, 08:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 15

ok,thanks monkeyman,will give it a try,but how is droppin my ram to 333 gonna give me a boost?.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2005, 10:33 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Allows you to run the HTT (FSB for old school overclockers) higher.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2005, 08:43 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

sometimes ram will hold an overclock back. running a divider will net no loss in performance, asumming you can get the ram back up to speed, either by just upping the FSB, or by upping the FSB AND lowering your multiplier.

Becasue the memory controller for A64's resides on the cpu die itself, it is already running a divider...ram speed is derived from a divider in the first place, dependant on the cpu which divider is stock.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte k8n-sli Gman15 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 28th November, 2006 12:01 AM
GIGABYTE Motherboard bhdeath11 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 13th July, 2005 06:29 PM
Gigabyte K8N ULTRA-939 Gman15 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 10th June, 2005 04:13 PM
Gigabyte @ Fragapolooza cadaveca General Hardware Discussion 0 17th July, 2004 06:37 AM
Gigabyte GA-7IX AmbientFiction AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 16th January, 2003 04:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0