AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 10:16 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

MY turn to ask for help!

Got my DFI board back on thursday. was hoping to get some higher 3dmark scores, thanks to the extra voltage it supplies...


First build, all my regular components from the asus board...boot up fine, turn on memtest, let it run 8 hours overnight...

Stock settings, mind you. get up in morning, install windows.....


install superpi, OCCT, AQUAMARK, 3dmark, etc....


Run superpi(still at stock)

run aquamark... freezes. shut down by power button, i hear the windows "goodbye" music.

restart, try again, get artifacts in aquamark before it freezes. Replace the EVGA card with the ASUS card...same symptoms. Go back to the ASUS board, everything works fine. test each card on it's own, no artifacts, get my highest singlecard score ever....97943.

Go back to the DFI.... same issues.


Suggestions?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 10:28 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I had odd problems with a DFI board. I've steered clear ever since.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 10:36 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

LoL. but i can't get EPoX here...DFI support from thier support site says it must be my fault.



WHY CAN"T I BUY EPoX IN CANADA?????? WHO ISN"T DOING THIER JOB???? OR IS EPoX JUST IGNORING CANADA AS A VIABLE MARKET??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 10:43 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

does aquamark freeze in the menu or the actual test?
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 10:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 8

u don't say what board it is. Is gfx card in right slot. SLI (if applicable) set up 4 single card.
__________________
Mobo: DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D CPU: Opteron 148 + XP-90C
Memory: G-Skill 2x512mb PC4800(DDR600) LA 3-4-4-8 PC3200 2-2-2-5
Graphics: Asus Extreme N6600GT 128mb PCI-EPSU: SilverStone Zeus ST56ZF 560W 3.3V=38A, 5v=40A, 12v=38AHDrives Sata: Hitachi 300 250Gb Maxtor 9 :- 160Gb, 120gbOptics LG GSA-4040B DVD Writer, NEC DVD RW ND 3500AG DL
OS WinXPPro SP2 + XP64 Pro Case: Lian Li V2000B Plus OC273x11 = 3000 2.5,3,3,6 2.7v 1T
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 10:55 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

It freezes during the test. letting it go until it crashes with BSOD gives this error:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=293078

Same card, and everything, only changing the motherboard, results in no problems.

DFI lanparty Ultra-d. same bios as supershanks here.

Yes, jumpers are in place for singlecard. i modded it to SLi while trying to figure this out and the artifacts are not as often, but they are still there. Removed the mod, and same problems are there again. Seems chipset related.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 10:57 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Is it possible that you board does not like your memory? I know you have probably tried everything I can come up with and your memory is error free but try dropping your memory timings to something slack as hell like 3-3-3-8 at 2t and have a go, whenever I have a problem it can usually be put down to memory.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 11:07 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I have 4x512mb bh-5 UTT, 2x samsung TCCC from my wife's machine, 6x the micron stuff, and 2x CH-UTT. all memories exhibit the same symptoms.

The timings are default 3-3-3-8, and 2t is always that way when using 4x512mb sticks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 12:02 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

So, further tweaking, and it works fine with 10x multi(for 2.0ghz) but not with the default 11x multi (for 2.2ghz, which is stock).

I then proceeded to set up the ram in bios to the same settings as is stable for 250mhz on the ASUS, drive strength and data drive strength @ 7 and 1 respectively, and increase skew with no DEC value inputed, botted into windows with the 10x multi and the issue is gone.


Now i am seriously confused. I am posting now from the DFI, aquamark completes fine, no artifacts, @ 250x10. reset to stock speeds, with same ran timings, and 11 multi, problem resurfaces.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 04:13 AM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Crazy Canadians...your balls are pucks.

Why not work something out with a member? Does NewEgg not ship to Canada?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 04:58 AM
falcx's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 32

Newegg does not shipo to Canada.......... Wish they did tho.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ sli, AMD X2 4400+
2- Seagate SATA HD
2x1024 OCZ Plat 2-3-2-5
EVGA 8800 Ultra w/ hr-03+
X-Fi Fatality
Lite-On DVD RW and DVD ROM
Pc P&C Silencer 750w
BenQ 24w LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 05:33 AM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

That figures. Sorry you canucks get such sucky treatment.

On the brighter side at least your hockey teams are better!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 08:44 AM
Darkest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 179

If it was me I'd first try flashing the BIOS and then RMA the board......sounds like you've done the best trouble shooting....Swap with known good. I can't imagine that they could release a board with that type of issue, hence I'd think perhaps there is something wrong with your PCI channel if a bios flash doesn't help. The only other thing I can think of is the power supply.
__________________
The constitution isn't perfect, but it's better than what we have now.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 05:27 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Why not see if they can send you a completely new board out or see if you can upgrade to a better board. I'm not saying it's a bad board but if they send a completely new board out, then if it works, we know it's a fault on the old board.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 05:29 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
LoL. but i can't get EPoX here...DFI support from thier support site says it must be my fault.



WHY CAN"T I BUY EPoX IN CANADA?????? WHO ISN"T DOING THIER JOB???? OR IS EPoX JUST IGNORING CANADA AS A VIABLE MARKET??
Go after the fanchise big guy!!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 05:43 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

What's the chance of success though. I know stranger things have happened but if you are persistent in 'complaining' to them, then they will do something, and it usually changes for all customers. If they listened any more though, things would start to go wrong, too many changes for the companies to be able to keep up.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 05:53 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
WHY CAN"T I BUY EPoX IN CANADA?????? WHO ISN"T DOING THIER JOB???? OR IS EPoX JUST IGNORING CANADA AS A VIABLE MARKET??
I guess they just don't have enough to go round.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 05:55 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Yeah, i find that people look upon canadians as being different, like aliens from mars. I personally don't have anything against canadians, as they too, are only human and they have some of the worlds best scenery, especially with the snow.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 06:05 PM
Darkest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 179

Canadians don't come from mars?
__________________
The constitution isn't perfect, but it's better than what we have now.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2005, 06:32 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Not this one anyway. Just talked to the retailer, and they refuse to send the board back, and want me to deal with DFI directly. One more problem again with RMA's.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer does not turn on: PSU? sushi CRASHED! 7 10th May, 2005 11:13 PM
8KDA3+ won't turn on!?? amd640c EPoX MotherBoards 1 9th October, 2004 09:44 PM
looks like its my turn kat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 15 21st May, 2003 02:12 AM
PC won't turn off! superally AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 3rd January, 2003 03:37 PM
If this doesn't turn you on, you're not really a geek. Wa11y General Hardware Discussion 42 27th February, 2002 05:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0