AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Asus A7N8X Problem

Hi guys

Just changed over to this Motherboard and having a few problems with it.
Tried to be a smart ass first time round and didnt wipe the HD however the BIOS only picked up my 2400+ as a 1.2ghz cpu so installed the new BIOS that supports the newer CPU's. I then got the blue screen of death just before the XP welcome screen and it rebooted and didnt post. Flashed CIMOS and decided to play it safe and wipe the HD and reinstall XP however I still get the Blue screen halfway through the windows installation!

Any ideas would be very very helpful
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 01:13 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Did you reset the BIOS to defaults before flashing?

You could go back to the older BIOS and set-up the CPU FSB and Multiplier by hand.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

ok how do I reset the BIOS??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 01:17 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You'll have something similar to this screen:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/i..._main_menu.jpg

See options 2 & 3 on the right-hand list?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

yeah default settings?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 01:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

I dont seem to have an option for BIOS Default just a Default settings one.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 01:29 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Default settings would do it. It's just an alternative to using the jumper on the mobo. Saves opening up the case.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

ok loaded default settings now it doesnt post even when I flash the BIOS on the Board
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2005, 02:22 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You should have loaded deafults before flashing the first time round. This avoids problems like this.

Which BIOS are you using now the original or the new one?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS A7N8X-XE no boot with two non-RAID SATA drives problem Baek AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 8th March, 2006 01:20 AM
Asus A7N8X-X RickBaker CRASHED! 11 5th February, 2005 07:47 PM
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe + AMD XP3200+ dshill CRASHED! 1 1st September, 2004 06:44 PM
Which cpu for Asus A7n8x Deluxe guelahpapyrus69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 3rd March, 2003 12:38 AM
Asus A7N8X volt mod? Purity AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 22nd November, 2002 07:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0