AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 04:57 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Shuttle AK31(?)

Just thinking out loud.
AMD 1.4gig Athlon (bout $110)
ECS DDR board (bout $65)

My PC..... not nearly as fast.....

Someone suggested the Shuttle board as a cheap alternative. I've looked at reviews and it seems good. Wouldn't mind trying to make an Athlon 1.4 squeal for mercy .

Any good vendors sell this board?? Haven't been able to find any.

Also, anyone have anything negative to say? I know the good stuff.

Thinking upgrade for video editing and folding in about a month. Budget is top priority.

TIA.
SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 07:58 AM
Hugo 59's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 118

Hey Steve I don't know much about the Shuttle board but I can tell you that some new boards with the sis735 chipset and a lot of oc'ing features are coming out shortly.

Check the news at www.psychohhardware.com on the new leadtek board that is coming out.

Should be fairly cheap and its a great chipset.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 11:38 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Great.. I'm in no rush, so I guess I'll just sit back and see. From what I heard, the Sis635 is cheap AND fast.

Someone's got to make a board with this chip and give us the options we need, right?

SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: indianoplace
Posts: 11

suppliers for mbs

BZBoyz treated me well.Got a combo from them.I would try pricewatch as a start.My board is a shuttle AK31 v2.The 1.4 hsf and 256meg266mzddr ram dellivered for 300 bucks.Word of advise stay away from tiger direct.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 12:54 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Thanks for the advise. I went ahead and bought an ECS K7S5A. It has the sis635. Virtually no O/C options, but it is a quality board with a great price. And I managed to force the old duron800 up to 994. Not bad for a board that won't overclock.

And I LOVE this board. For 62 bucks (cheaper already) it has ethernet, and takes both sd & ddr ram. My old sdram found new life and I am delighted to say I am seeing AWESOME memory benchmarks. It allows me to crossover memory whenever I feel the need too.

SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 04:46 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Hey, what OC features does it have. I have a PCChips M810LMR and it has the SiS730S Chipset. I have no OC options what-so-ever, so how did you manage to OC with the 635?? Oh well, it's probably the board manufacturer that had the OC options blocked....don't ya just hate that?? It doesn't really matter too much because I am either going to buy the iWill XP333-R or the Shuttle AK31 mentioned in this forum--it all depends on the opening price for the iWill, lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 06:03 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The ECS K7S5A w/Sis635 basically has none. A special beta bios gives a little for FSB. 100/112/124/133/138.....

I connected the L7s on the CPU to bump up the voltage to 1.85, upp'ed the FSB to 124 and that's it, the duron couldn't do 133. I may go back to the bridges and change the multiplier to 7.5 from 8 for the boost.

The Shuttle board got good reviews for a budget system. Make sure you get the latest revision w/ the KT266A chipset, the old was KT266. I heard it has good o/c options on it.

Good Luck.
SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 06:20 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Yes, I have too only heard good things about the Shuttle AK31 Rev2.0 board. Just make sure that if you do go along with the Shuttle board to get the most recent version....it's the best!!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2001, 12:13 AM
Da Whip's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 57

I you like the Shuttle AK31 v.2.0 , then you will love the new AK31 Rev.3.1;
http://www.cluboverclocker.com/revie...31v3/index.htm[/URL]

For $80-80 + shipping, this board sounds great for someone on a budget. Aren't we all!!
__________________
New build in the works
DFI nF4 SLI-DR
3400+ Winnie
BFG 6800GT (one for now)
2x74Gb Raptors Raid 0
Hitachi 160gb back up
Patriot PC3200XBLK 2x512
XP 90 w/ Panflo
Sony 16X Dual Layer DVDRW
Samsung DVD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2001, 04:11 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Here is a direct link to the page on this reviewers site that specifies what I was talking about. Thanks!!

http://www.cluboverclocker.com/revie...31v3/page2.htm

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2001, 04:12 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Dayum, wrong post....lol, sorry all....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any problems with the AK31 and Radeon 8500? Wa11y AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 7th May, 2002 09:44 PM
Shuttle AK31, MSI's KT-266A Pro2(RAID not wanted) or Epox 8KHA+ ? cloasters AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 4th December, 2001 03:24 AM
Shuttle AK31 KT266A Jen AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 3rd November, 2001 11:40 PM
Similar to AK31?? CNUCompGuy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 18 31st October, 2001 04:38 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0