AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 01:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 3

NF2 to NF4: Memory Question

Hi Gang,

Will my current stock of pc3200 memory generally run a higher FSB on NF4 than it will on my NF2 rig?

I have various sticks for dual channel:

Hynix B-43's........(225 FSB on NF2) single side 256mb & double side 512mb
Windbond CH-5....(225 Cas 2.5 on NF2) single side 256mb
Winbond BH-5......(200 Cas 2 on NF2) single side 256mb
Windbond UTT's...(200 Cas 2 on NF2) double sided 512mb

For the Winbond sticks, what FSB can I expect with 3.2 vdimm?

Regards, -non^stop
__________________
8RDA3i Pro / XP 2400+M IQYHA 2.6GHz / TDX, D5pump, MAZE4chipset, MAZE4gpu / 1gb OCZ UTT's / Raptor WD360 / WD1200JB's RAID-0 / Plex PX-716SA / Sapphire x800 GTO 16p / Audigy / Lian-Li pc61 / Antec true430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 02:11 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

You need to be carefull running such a high Vdimm on the A64, Vdimm can only be CPU x 2 or less, as ive been told by very reliable sources... any more and your new athlon 64 aint gonna live to long!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 02:44 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Hmm...I've got my RAM running >3.0v and my A64 is still alive with it's vcore @ <1.5v. Should I be worried, I've never heard of this burnout formula before!
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 04:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 3

Hey Exile69,
What memory are you using, and what FSB? Did you run it on a NF2 rig and how does it run on NF4 with the same voltage?

I've read plenty on A64 OC's, mem selection, and the joys of 3+ vdimm (thx razor). The budget for now will only allow for a mobo & cpu.

Just wondering if I get a FSB bump moving my pc3200 to NF4.
__________________
8RDA3i Pro / XP 2400+M IQYHA 2.6GHz / TDX, D5pump, MAZE4chipset, MAZE4gpu / 1gb OCZ UTT's / Raptor WD360 / WD1200JB's RAID-0 / Plex PX-716SA / Sapphire x800 GTO 16p / Audigy / Lian-Li pc61 / Antec true430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 12:26 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exile69
Hmm...I've got my RAM running >3.0v and my A64 is still alive with it's vcore @ <1.5v. Should I be worried, I've never heard of this burnout formula before!
Put it this way the memory controller being on die suffers quite badly from high potential between it and the cpu, Cadaveca was the first person to point it out to me, an i put all my faith in his judgment.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
memory question dabaerman General Hardware Discussion 5 22nd June, 2006 04:37 PM
memory question? dabaerman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 29th September, 2005 03:00 AM
Memory Question Phraud12345 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 12th September, 2005 03:03 AM
Please help?? Memory question Amd369 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 26th September, 2003 06:10 PM
Have a ddr memory question. Ikester7579 EPoX MotherBoards 8 2nd September, 2002 07:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0