AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 12:40 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'm aware you didn't mean MythTV but MCE - but unless microsoft has really screwed up badly, I doubt that MCE is going to need multiple times as much processing power.

I have found that the choice of components going into a media hub is far more critical than the raw processing power used. Choosing the wrong capture card can lead to a 2x to 6x increase in the processing power needed to capture and playback. If you're intending to capture HDTV streams, then you require a card that can capture the digital content. Encoding HDTV streams takes more power than most high end PCs can manage.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 12:45 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

he doesn't even want to record V just to rip CD's, as his hub. We might even go with a 500GB HDD.
EDIT: Basicly he wants to hook it upto his TV and Sound system.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."

Last edited by madcatmk3; 23rd December, 2005 at 12:55 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 12:51 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

If it's just ripping CDs, then you don't need that much power at all. Often the CD/DVD drive will be the limiting factor, not the processor. Make sure you pick up a drive that can indicate when C2 errors have occured. Some drives don't do this, and just hand over blank audio if they find bad errors when they're reading.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 12:55 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

he wants a lightscribe drive
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...1056&CatId=482
I was thinking amd 3200 but mabey a semprons a good idea.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 12:56 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

500GB hard disk is about enough for 247 days of unique tracks with no repeats, or approximately 89,000 tracks (~8000 albums) ripped at high quality mp3. Rip 'em lower, and you're at the 180,000 (~16,000 albums) track mark.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 01:01 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I know that the DVD740VI's predecessor (DVD640I) did not indicate C2 errors at all. I don't know about the 740VI though.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 01:02 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

since it's a home theather mabey I should consider:
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=371225
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...668&CatId=1852
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 01:03 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
500GB hard disk is about enough for 247 days of unique tracks with no repeats, or approximately 89,000 tracks (~8000 albums) ripped at high quality mp3. Rip 'em lower, and you're at the 180,000 (~16,000 albums) track mark.
he told me he has 1000CD's he wants to rip on which 700*1000=700,000mb (700GB's)
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 01:04 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
I know that the DVD740VI's predecessor (DVD640I) did not indicate C2 errors at all. I don't know about the 740VI though.
eh burning isn't actuly his main conernt he just wants to get his stuff on.
EDIT: http://www.thermaltake.com/xaserCase...lack/black.htm
possibly worth it if someone can fnind a price.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 01:10 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
he told me he has 1000CD's he wants to rip on which 700*1000=700,000mb (700GB's)
a 700Mb CD shouldn't rip to 700Mb on your HDD, unless you mean disk images?

Why does he want a lightscribe burner if he doesn't want to burn CDs ?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 02:35 AM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Why do I think you are looking to sell equipment that far exceeds the demanded task, yes the extra power etc is nice, and makes many tasks much quicker, but is the expenditure necessary? I used my XP 2000 and an el cheapo CD drive to transfer my CDs onto HDD, and that now sits in a corner feeding a small network with music. All the wear and tear on a cheap drive, which is now only used to add extra cds as i buy them.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 02:41 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

he says he wants lightscribe, downgrading o an AMD sempron would be fine but he does need a vid card with an HDTV out and still no one answered my queston how to get his home speaker system to hok upto the computer aswell as the TV.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 02:43 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu
Why does he want a lightscribe burner if he doesn't want to burn CDs ?
Burning CD's ins't his primary consern but he still will burn some.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 03:38 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

For C2 error correction, most liteons have this feature. I have a combo 5232 which works great. It comes in handy with EAC for audio ripping.

BTW, your budd may like the idea of lightscribe, but may change his mind when he has to pay 3-5x the price for the disks. If this is for CDs, get a CD printer and printable disks... cheaper, and in color. For DVDs.... it may be worth it, when the price of blanks becomes reasonable.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 03:44 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
and still no one answered my queston how to get his home speaker system to hok upto the computer aswell as the TV.
I don't know of any amps that don't support multiple inputs.

So basically, you run a cable from the PC to the amp, (I use a 2.5mm jack -> phono (bearing in mind that my amp is only stereo) ) and another cable from the TV (for example I use straight phono -> phono leads for my radio)

Then you switch your amp to output from the TV when you watch TV or from the comp when you listen to music.

It's not all that hard.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2005, 06:02 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

While an audio CD may be 700 megs, ripping to wav is the only way to use that much space. The best bet is to rip to mp3 192kbit. THis will keep the sound quality high, and save about 600megs of space per CD. Instead of 700gigs, you'll only need about 100 or less. A cheap 160gig hdd should be enough.

Also, the the PSU in the case you are looking at is well known as a tremendous piece of crap.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2005, 11:28 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

he decided on alot of different stuff I'll post his specks on the internet but I still need to know how to do the amp connection in detail.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micro ATX power StackOverflow General Hardware Discussion 7 24th July, 2004 07:51 PM
Micro ATX AMD Board RussianMissile1 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 21 28th February, 2004 02:39 AM
New Micro Board? AZColt EPoX MotherBoards 0 2nd July, 2003 05:31 PM
Micro$oft dod Betty's Rants and Rages 4 18th February, 2003 06:04 PM
The Work Of A Micro$oft Engineer! Biohazard Random Nonsense! 10 6th February, 2003 02:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0