AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11th January, 2006, 05:25 AM
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion

Overclocking the Athlon XP 2600+ Barton?

First, I want to say, I'm fairly new to overclocking.

I've recently overclocked my XFX geforce 128mb 6600GT video card to 550/1100 with good results, using RivaTuner and Omega Drivers.

Right now, though, I'm feeling that my somewhat older CPU is bottlenecking my games. I'm getting about 20-25 FPS minimum on Far Cry with max settings at 1024x768 with no AA or AF.

I only have a 420w PSU, and I'm going to try to isolate my 6600GT to it's own power cord tomorrow, to see if it is underpowered. Must I upgrade my PSU?

Also, because I still would like to OC my CPU anyway, just to get some more performance, could you recommend programs, techniques, etc?

Bonus: Weird thing. The 2600+ with barton is supposed to have a clock frequency of 1.9 ghz I believe. Well, it says in System that it's 2.29ghz. Never touched any of those settings in BIOS, never used a program to modify it.
Proof:
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y38...kfrequency.jpg

My computer rig is this:
Athlon XP 2600+ "Barton" core
2x 512mb Corsair Value Select PC3200 RAM on dual-channel
MSI K7N2 Delta Mainboard
XFX nVidia Geforce 6600GT 128mb OCed
420w Thermaltake PSU
Hercules Fortissimo III Sound Card

Also, I would like to know what kind of performance boost I could expect, that is if my BIOS hasn't gone insane and auto-overclocked my CPU. By the way I get 2.3ghz in BIOS viewing. It's been that way since I reformatted around 6 months ago after OS corruption, and I have had zero problems with reboots or overheating.
Old 11th January, 2006, 06:23 AM

Oh, yeah. It's an AGP 6600GT.