AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2006, 01:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

When I switch off at the PSU, and restart. It tells me System is Running in Fail Safe Mode, -Please Check the BIOS.
Any ideas how to get rid of this?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2006, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Erm - anybody?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2006, 12:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Looking through the internet, one guy has suggested this may be the PSU's fault.
But I've been running this system as it is for 6 months without this problem. And surely adding a DVD Drive and cold cathode can't overload it. I'm replacing my PSU soon with an ATX 2.0 model, maybe it will be ok then???
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2006, 03:03 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Why are you switching off at the PSU?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2006, 07:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I'm switching off with the normal power button first.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2006, 07:51 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Ahhhh!

Does it give the error if you don't turn off at the PSU? It **might** be an iffy BIOS battery, but I wouldn't know.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2006, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I'm not getting the error anymore.
Cheers anyways favu!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 1

My choice has always been lighter fluid since it has acetone in it and it will clean anything nice and shiny and evaporates in seconds.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 08:07 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
I'm not getting the error anymore.
Cheers anyways favu!
Huzzah!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 08:10 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

I dunno. Something about putting lighter fluid on my computer components...Just an uneasy feeling.

Couldn't you just use straight acetone?
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 08:15 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I use isopropyl alchohol BECAUSE I CAN
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 08:45 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

I use 91% Isopropyl alcohol, but if you want to use acetone, why use lighter fluid

You know, that stuff you used to make a mortar with a pringles can and a tennis ball.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 09:07 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redroar
why use lighter fluid
Makes life a little more.. uhh.... interesting!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2006, 02:40 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

I suppose.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2006, 03:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: U.A.E
Posts: 268

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu
Use alcohol and a lint-free cloth. Don't use paper or tissue!
what happens if i use tissue paper?...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeTheDog
I'd like a hardware card than can transform random amounts of ****ty plot and dialogue into brilliant stories of planescape: torment proportions. That would truly make games better.
PC Specs:
It's Black. What more do you need to know?
3DMARK05 SCORE: 6038
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2006, 04:41 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Paper can leave behind small particles of....paper. Those aren't good. A lint free cloth leaves no particles.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2006, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 10

That is good to know.... Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2006, 07:26 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Evo-913 you say. *stick tongue out* i've got the model up from that, the Evo-920, does a brilliant job!
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2006, 11:56 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

To clean a heat sink, i point a heat gun at the HS wait for the goop to heat up, then cut it off with ONE motion of a stanly knife. Then rub with a lint free cloth.

To clean to CPU/GPU/Northbridge, I just wipe for a wipe with a lint free cloth.

Both surfaces are shiny, re-goop, and re-assemble.

Works wonders on Toshiba laptops that are randomly shutting down.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does thermal compound go bad? Nate-X Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 11 8th August, 2006 04:37 PM
Re-using thermal compound andrew726 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 21 11th April, 2005 04:32 AM
Childhood memories Drink Jim drink, Clean Jane clean. DimViesel Random Nonsense! 0 3rd March, 2005 04:56 AM
Thermal pads or thermal adhesive glue Veky Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 19th October, 2003 04:38 PM
About P4 and thermal compound Freedom Intel Motherboards & CPUs 16 10th July, 2002 09:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0