AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2002, 11:12 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Clawhammer clone . . . . VIA Cyrix 4 ???

I just realized something fantastic.

Both the HyperTransport standard, and the JEDEC DDRSDRAM standard, are open standards. Meaning anyone can use them without paying royalties.

It's pretty much official, s370 is at the end of it's last life.

What will VIA do with no platform to support it's Cyrix line of CPUs???

Well since the ClawHammer has no FSB, but instead has an on-die memory controller, and uses HyperTransport to interface with the chipset, it's whole interface is pretty much free.

In theory, it wouldn't take too much to strip the Cyrix 3 of it's FSB interface logic, and replace that with a memory controller similar to those used by VIAs chipsets and a HyperTransport controller. And *poof* say hello the the Cyrix 4. X86-64 extensions are optional, but since it's an open standard too why not throw it in if it doesn't effect die-size too much, and the R&D expenses are not too great.


This could happen . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2002, 01:15 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,947

Most interesting. Thanks Jeff! Unless there are other constraints that complicate the sitch, your idea of Via's next logical step for their C3 processors seems obvious. After you broached the idea, of course!

The very first box I bought (from a local VAR, naturally. Funny, I never considered a tier one OEM) had a Cyrix PR 166. Since then I've avoided other than AMD and Intel processors. As the C3 costs more than a CII, I'm not in a rush to buy one. They certainly have a niche, just not with me.

Changing a C3 into a C4 may be a bit more complicated, though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2002, 03:15 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters
Changing a C3 into a C4 may be a bit more complicated, though.
I'm sure that no matter how you slice it, it would be a complicated ordeal. But my point was that VIA wouldn't have to start from scratch, there current CPU is adaptable I'm sure . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2002, 03:22 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

It would be really nice to have a third major competitor in the CPU market.. Intel is letting the marketers run the show atm, and AMD will have to let their accountants take over soon.... A competitive C4 could be a nice addition for the DIY market.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2002, 03:29 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

The VIA Cyrix CPU's arn't really targeted at the DIYer crowd. They are targeted at the on the cheap, low power consumption, 1U rackmount, South East Asia crowd. But still, competition of any kind is good for the consumer . . . .

If VIA does it right they might come up with something close to P3 tic-per-tic performance with low power consumption that runs around 1.5GHz . . . .

They could go the way of Transmeta and use firmware emulation. They could probably emulate both x86 and x86-64 on a RISK type core, keeping power consumption way down and performance at acceptable levels . . . .

But as VIA has no fab of there own(see my signature for a laugh) they will never be on the cutting edge as far as clock rates go . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2002, 06:45 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Re: Clawhammer clone . . . . VIA Cyrix 4 ???

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
I just realized something fantastic.

Both the HyperTransport standard, and the JEDEC DDRSDRAM standard, are open standards. Meaning anyone can use them without paying royalties.

It's pretty much official, s370 is at the end of it's last life.

What will VIA do with no platform to support it's Cyrix line of CPUs???

Well since the ClawHammer has no FSB, but instead has an on-die memory controller, and uses HyperTransport to interface with the chipset, it's whole interface is pretty much free.

In theory, it wouldn't take too much to strip the Cyrix 3 of it's FSB interface logic, and replace that with a memory controller similar to those used by VIAs chipsets and a HyperTransport controller. And *poof* say hello the the Cyrix 4. X86-64 extensions are optional, but since it's an open standard too why not throw it in if it doesn't effect die-size too much, and the R&D expenses are not too great.


This could happen . . . .
your right, that could happen..
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ and ghost error verifying dmi after clone gplracer EPoX MotherBoards 1 30th December, 2003 01:03 AM
VGA/Tv out Clone Samuknow Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 15th November, 2003 01:27 PM
3VSA/3VSM Cyrix Support sKuLLsHoT EPoX MotherBoards 3 6th June, 2003 08:30 AM
Don't put that down payment on a clone of yourself just yet... mookydooky Random Nonsense! 1 12th April, 2003 12:04 AM
Clone this Joke.......Please! Uncle Bob Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 5 14th February, 2003 05:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0