AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2006, 02:22 AM
zyclonb's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 23

Cant overclock my FX-57

hello guys. I just recently scored a FX-57 off of someone for dirt cheap so i went to the local comp usa and bought a BFG tech NF4 ultra board (yes i know flame on). Anyways i tried to do a simple overclock useing Ntune and i says I cant because the PCI clock is tarcking the HT. I looked in Bios for synchonous and asynchronus thing and its not there. any sugestions. All i want to acheive at this point is a simple 3ghz. but i cant even get close because the pci freaks out and reboots my system.
__________________
AMD 64 FX-57 San Diego
1 GB Corsair Twinx Platinum
WD 160 GB Sata
Nvidia 6600 PCIE
BFG Tech NF4 Ultra Mobo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2006, 02:23 AM
zyclonb's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 23

wow my sig is out of date
__________________
AMD 64 FX-57 San Diego
1 GB Corsair Twinx Platinum
WD 160 GB Sata
Nvidia 6600 PCIE
BFG Tech NF4 Ultra Mobo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2006, 02:24 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Ok, personally I do as much overclocking outside of Windows as possible.

Go into your BIOS, lower the HTT link to 4X and try bumping the FSB slightly. See if that yields and results.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2006, 05:22 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

ntune worked for me but it didn't lower the HT link. Then it gave so many error alerts when there weren't problems BIOS is always the best.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2006, 10:08 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'd concur with everyone else here. There are a few parameters that get setup before the board even boots up. Once these are set, it is apparently difficult to change them. That means you're stuck with these parameters if you try overclocking in Windows.

Hence, getting a base overclock in the BIOS, and just using the Windows tools to see how far you can push things and stay stable seems to be a much better idea.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 02:23 AM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

Windows overclocking programs offer a first approach how far you can go.
On the other hand (OK it is rare) see here why sometimes on the fly o/c is useful.
In general I don't use o/c much programs like that; I prefer BIOS....
But I recommend Áedán's suggestions....
I use nVidia Clock generator for saving time between many restarts.....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You know you overclock too much when... cadaveca The Chop Shop 6 15th April, 2006 05:27 AM
AMD 64 overclock leekirlew AMD Motherboards & CPUs 48 24th November, 2004 05:23 AM
Overclock Help! marcusrivera AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 13th November, 2004 04:01 PM
K6-2 Overclock Mad old tory AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 28th June, 2003 07:17 PM
Help me to overclock seanbee EPoX MotherBoards 2 27th May, 2003 09:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0