AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 02:33 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

Been out of it for awhile, need suggestions

I am building my new main system and I am starting from scratch. What is the motherboard of choice that is NOT SLI? I do not game at all. The CPU is going to be the 4800 or FX-60. The video card is going to be the ATI AIW 1900. The HDD is going to 2x Raptor 150 in raid-0 and 2x WD 300 in raid-0. I have a large budget and I want the best. What other ideas you guys have? I am also torn between the Apple 30" display and the Dell Ultrasharp 30" display. The specs look better for the Dell and the cost is $500 less. Is the Apple worth it? Thanks for the input.

PS, Hi Daniel and Betty, long time no see.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 02:47 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

What no "hey robbie"... I"m crushed!!!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 02:50 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

Why do you need a ''1900'' if your not a gamer? Save your dollars.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 02:52 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
What no "hey robbie"... I"m crushed!!!
Hi Robbie, I was kinda quick and didn't give "props" to the old crew. How ya doin?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 02:54 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

Quote:
Originally Posted by QSDT
Why do you need a ''1900'' if your not a gamer? Save your dollars.
The best in HDTV and PVR function and it needs to do 2560x1600 (dual-link DVI) for the 30" monitors. Most cards cannot do this resolution.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 02:58 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

Oh that is some high res.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 03:14 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Well a couple of choices I can see - especially if money is no problem.

1. Epox EP-9NPA+Ultra If you are going to overclock (now or in the future)

2. Tyan Tomcat K8E (S2865) if you aren't going to overclock - ever
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 03:39 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by TranceBear
Hi Robbie, I was kinda quick and didn't give "props" to the old crew. How ya doin?
Doing GREAT!! I'm married now. Here is a pic of the Fam!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Been out of it for awhile, need suggestions-pc030534.jpg  
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 03:51 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob
Well a couple of choices I can see - especially if money is no problem.

1. Epox EP-9NPA+Ultra If you are going to overclock (now or in the future)

2. Tyan Tomcat K8E (S2865) if you aren't going to overclock - ever
The Epox looks good, and only $105-US and Newegg.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 03:57 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
Doing GREAT!! I'm married now. Here is a pic of the Fam!!!
Very cool!! I am still happily divorced and enjoying life away from working for Micro$oft. I still have the e-mail from Bill congratulating me for my years of service. I am living in Denver now doing my own thing.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 04:19 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Epox are good solid boards, and decent overclockers. Pity they are so hard to find and so damm expensive in NZ.


EDIT:

If you don't mind me asking - what did you do in M$?
I worked for them for a while in customer service / tech support.
So many confused customers without a single clue!
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 05:01 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob
Epox are good solid boards, and decent overclockers. Pity they are so hard to find and so damm expensive in NZ.


EDIT:

If you don't mind me asking - what did you do in M$?
I worked for them for a while in customer service / tech support.
So many confused customers without a single clue!
Hardware development.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 05:39 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Trace mate, from memory, both the Apple and Dell 30" use the extact same panel (I think its a samsung), however the Dell is slightly better. The Dell looks a bit better as well.

Are you going to overclock this? Perhaps a nice big tower with a thermaltake bigwater 745 might be in order
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 05:46 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Trace mate, from memory, both the Apple and Dell 30" use the extact same panel (I think its a samsung), however the Dell is slightly better. The Dell looks a bit better as well.

Are you going to overclock this? Perhaps a nice big tower with a thermaltake bigwater 745 might be in order
Trace mate?

I will always O/C my machines but I do it completley on air. I took my 1st Athlon 1 gig to 2.1 on AIR!! I plan to design and build my own heatsink. Full Lian Li tower.

The Apple uses a slightly older panel than the Dell. The Dell have 700:1 contrast and 500 cd, the Apple has 400:1 and 272 cd
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 05:52 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by TranceBear
Trace mate?

I will always O/C my machines but I do it completley on air. I took my 1st Athlon 1 gig to 2.1 on AIR!! I plan to design and build my own heatsink. Full Lian Li tower.

The Apple uses a slightly older panel than the Dell. The Dell have 700:1 contrast and 500 cd, the Apple has 400:1 and 272 cd
I'm an Australian. Everyone is "mate". Its how I talk, and well... type lol.

Yea, I would go the Dell. Its a better looking unit, and is the better of the two.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 05:59 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I'm an Australian. Everyone is "mate". Its how I talk, and well... type lol.

Yea, I would go the Dell. Its a better looking unit, and is the better of the two.
I was thinking of something else, sorry. I have been up too long. As my punishment I will underclock my old rig by 100mhz.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I may be scarce for awhile LP Random Nonsense! 5 16th January, 2006 01:44 PM
need suggestions Skiracing108 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 30th June, 2005 11:08 AM
CS:S map suggestions danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 1 12th April, 2005 12:06 AM
Need some suggestions on m/b to buy hann AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 29th October, 2004 02:15 AM
DDR suggestions.. NotNoV8 General Hardware Discussion 1 20th November, 2002 09:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0