AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 12:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

CORSAIR XMS3200C2PT Question

Hi, i have the below system (in my sig) and my memory settings had always been running at the default settings the bios sets of 8-3-3-3 2T

After reading a lot of articles on my board and this ram it appears that its supposed to run at about 6-2-2-2 2T and also says them figures on corsair's website.

So, my system is now running as these settings and although my system hasn't give me any error beeps and my system starts fine and programs dont appear to crach at all, i have noticed my programs appear to be running a lot slower. I have noticed with a lot of programs open that my system has been unresponsive for a bit and programs generaly taking a bit longer to load things.

Can anyone explin any reasons about this, i would have thought this would make my system respond better.

Also my system is not overclocked at all and all voltage settings are on auto.

Thank you inadvance.

James
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64 FX-57 | 2 GB CORSAIR XMS3200C2PT CAS2.0 RAM | ASUS A8N-SLI PREMIUM | 2 X 250GB WESTON DIGITAL SATA 2 (16MB CACHE) HDD | BFG GEFORCE 7800GTX | PIONEER DVR-109 | WINDOWS XP PRO SP2 | TAGAN 580 WATT PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 12:13 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

It could be that something else is making your system slow. An easy way to test this would be to note which aps are slow for you and under which circumstances, then change the timings back to 3,3,3,8 and see if they are any faster
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 01:20 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Personally I suggest some benchmarked to prove that performance is suffering.

You should see a performance increase from CAS3 to CAS2.

Also, download CPUZ and give us a screenshot of all the memory related settings and we'll see if anything is out of whack.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

well i have just switched the ram voltage from auto to 2.75 and also changed from 2 t to 1 t and there is a pretty big change in numbers in sisoft sandra memory benchmarks.

i have done a benchmark between 8-3-3-3 2t and 6-3-3-2 2t and there was little difference in the numbers.

they turned out to be: (with voltage set to auto)

memory bandwidth benchmark - 6-3-3-2

ram bandwidth int buff 4821
ram bandwidth float buff 4845

memory & cache benchmark - 6-3-3-2

combined index 6924 mb/s
speed factor 9.3

-------------------------------------------

memory bandwidth benchmark - 8-3-3-3

ram bandwidth int buff 4822
ram bandwidth float buff 4822

memory & cache benchmark - 8-3-3-3

combined index 6902
speed factor 9.3

After changing the voltage to 2.75 and also to 1T at 6-3-3-2

all numbers went up by nearly 1000 points apart from the speed factor number on memory and cache benchmark which seemed to actualy go down to exactly 8.0

but the other increases do seem like the 1T option gives quiet a speed increase.
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64 FX-57 | 2 GB CORSAIR XMS3200C2PT CAS2.0 RAM | ASUS A8N-SLI PREMIUM | 2 X 250GB WESTON DIGITAL SATA 2 (16MB CACHE) HDD | BFG GEFORCE 7800GTX | PIONEER DVR-109 | WINDOWS XP PRO SP2 | TAGAN 580 WATT PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 07:33 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Yes, 1T does give a large performance boost over 2T.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair RAM Question offie AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 10th May, 2004 12:41 AM
8HDA3+ and Corsair Memory Question Cr@zy Chuckster EPoX MotherBoards 2 19th December, 2003 06:49 PM
Corsair Pc3500C2 question? Amd369 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th August, 2003 01:24 AM
Corsair PC 3500 & 8K3A+ Question. flores EPoX MotherBoards 1 22nd November, 2002 11:06 PM
Need help getting most out of my Corsair Omypoo EPoX MotherBoards 1 14th October, 2002 06:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0