AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2006, 02:44 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS
Works fine for me. Never heard anything about it being limited to a particular chip set. I understand the purpose is to fool the cpu, not the chip set.

You may be thinking of the ability of some nForce chipsets to overide the factory configured clock speed.

-- Trevor

yes, that's it. I got the two mixed up. must try that when the time comes.
now it looks like the mb might be shorting out in the
case. everything works on the bench.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2006, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman
yes, that's it. I got the two mixed up. must try that when the time comes.
now it looks like the mb might be shorting out in the
case. everything works on the bench.

Ron
I once had a problem because I accidentally installed one tall board mounting standoff, the others were short. Caused the board to flex and interfered with proper DIMM contact. Another time a board was mounting in contact with the front drive cage and causing trouble. Maybe there's a standoff installed that doesn't align with a board screw hole.

Hopefully you can reinstall with only the video, keyboard, and I/O panel connected and just see if it will POST.

Luck -- Trevor
__________________
FIC VA-503+
K6-III+/450@550
256MB PC133Turbo
Abit Rocket 100
WinXPsp2/Win98SE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2006, 10:23 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Hey Trevor! Good to see you again!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2006, 11:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

Yes, keep bumping into you -- not that I've any complaint about that .

Just testing my new external NEC 3550A -- the fun never quits!

-- Trevor
__________________
FIC VA-503+
K6-III+/450@550
256MB PC133Turbo
Abit Rocket 100
WinXPsp2/Win98SE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2006, 05:51 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

thanks TrevorS, I'll be taking things apart later on in the
week. located a spare case to put it in too. got too many
projects and not enough time.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2006, 06:47 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS
Yes, keep bumping into you -- not that I've any complaint about that .

Just testing my new external NEC 3550A -- the fun never quits!

-- Trevor
Standoffs need a re-design! So hows the NEC doing for ya?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2006, 03:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
So hows the NEC doing for ya?
Well, testing with movie and data reading, burning, erasing, and Nero SpeedTest, the 3550A/external case combo is looking good. Plus, the drive is happy with my existing media (only 2.4X, but that's all my 1100A supports). I've yet to try burning any +R or +R DL, and they may have Booktype issues with my DVD-V players. Still, if there's a problem, I'll know what to look for .

Also nice to find my notebook drives the new burner fine -- my first opportunity to use Firewire.

I'm also checking out a Plextor ConvertX A/V capture box. I've seen occasional frame misbehavior capturing from my main machine (A64 2X 3800+ @2.4GHz) and Plextor support wanted me to try another. So I captured a copy on my AXP-M 2600+ rig (@2.46GHz) and am currently capturing on my 2.6GHz Celeron notebook. The Celeron is awful at number crunching, but with the ConvertX, it just has to real time buffer to HDD while simultaneously displaying at reduced resolution. A fair amount of work, but could be much more.

If the AXP-M capture is clean, then the ConvertX is probably in the clear, and it's troubleshooting time on Mr Big (PCI NEC VS integrated VIA USB2.0?). Not sure what to expect from the notebook, but if it's no worse than the others -- I'll be satisfied . Video capture was one of the reasons I bought it.

Probably more words than you expected, but my projects tend to expand as I go.

-- Trevor
__________________
FIC VA-503+
K6-III+/450@550
256MB PC133Turbo
Abit Rocket 100
WinXPsp2/Win98SE

Last edited by TrevorS; 11th May, 2006 at 03:12 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2006, 02:50 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS
......... my projects tend to expand as I go.
-- Trevor
I'd like to start a project that didn't expand.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2006, 04:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman
I'd like to start a project that didn't expand.

Ron

Yes, don't they though ! Funnily enough, my notebook gave me the best buffered capture of the three (though still not perfect). Don't know if that's because of XP Home rather than XP Pro, or Intel architecture rather than AMD, or what . At least I'm sure it's not PCI NEC Vs integrated VIA USB2.0 -- came out about the same.

Still, I'm now retrying the notebook with disabled Norton Anti-Virus and disconnected LAN. See if it makes any difference. Strange though, 2X 3800+ at 2.4GHz is complete overkill according to Task Manager, and yet there appears to be a throughput problem. Maybe the I/O architecture? I'll see what the latest notebook test delivers. (If the ConvertX has to be exchanged or returned, I need to find out FAST!)

Looking forward to an update on your resurrected 2500+ and 8K5A2 board.

-- Trevor
__________________
FIC VA-503+
K6-III+/450@550
256MB PC133Turbo
Abit Rocket 100
WinXPsp2/Win98SE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2006, 01:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
So hows the NEC doing for ya?
Hiya Daniel,

Bad news on the 3550A. For the first time since I've owned a burner, I'm having trouble reading a +RW video disc on my Denon DV-2900 -- at 2.4X no less (five chapters cobbled together by Ulead). I'm just performing a duplicate burn on the 1100A to see if that works. Hopefully the 3550A is not effectively limited to DL burning -- not too pleased at the moment .

We'll see -- Trevor
__________________
FIC VA-503+
K6-III+/450@550
256MB PC133Turbo
Abit Rocket 100
WinXPsp2/Win98SE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2006, 01:19 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Hang in there! There may be BIOS updates?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2006, 01:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

Think I shot too soon! It's getting towards summer now and my room and player are warming up --> my modded 2900 freezes if it gets too warm. I suspect the 3550A is innocent. (Forgot about that! )

-- Trevor
__________________
FIC VA-503+
K6-III+/450@550
256MB PC133Turbo
Abit Rocket 100
WinXPsp2/Win98SE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New Barton 2500+'s SteveI AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 5th December, 2003 02:30 PM
My new Barton 2500+ pctech AMD Motherboards & CPUs 31 23rd July, 2003 02:11 AM
Barton 2500+ now £67 MiGGinZ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 4th June, 2003 03:07 AM
2500+ Barton What does your oc like Shonk AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 18th April, 2003 05:21 PM
Barton 2500+ bradmax57 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 26th February, 2003 08:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0