AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2006, 08:15 PM
Xander_Hal's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 42

Opteron 165 Memory Controller

Hey all,

I recently upgraded from a Venice 3500+ to a Toledo Opteron 165. I just wanted to share some info on RAM overclocking on my EPoX 9npa+ Ultra.

I used to run my Venice @ 2.5 GHz, 250 x 10 with a 183/200 memory divider. My max memory speed definitely was around 230, and I had a lot of problems trying to get it stable past that; lots of BSOD's etc, even with tweaking the timings.

This morning I made my first overclock on the 165; 255 x 9 to 2.29 GHz. I'm a few hours in and it's perfectly stable. To my great surprise, I just noticed that I'm running without a memory divider, so the RAM is pushing just past DDR500 speeds @ 255 MHz!

Keep in mind that these are pretty good quality DIMMS, Corsair XMS 3200 XL, but I'm running 4 x 512 @ 2t which is not necessarily the most stable setup. Timings are 3-3-3-6 @2t. I'm sure people have pushed further, but I'm mostly interested in the apparent difference between the two processors!

Cheers,

-Xander
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2006, 09:16 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Hi Xander,
i've got my 3200+ Venice running at 2.6Ghz (260x10) with no ram divider on the EP-9NPAJ-SLI meaning that my memory was running at DDR520. I'm using Corsair XMS 3200C2PT at 3-4-4-9-2T. Try and push that Opty further, i'm sure you can get better than that. See if you can get 2.4. Then go on to 2.5, the 2.6, etc. What's the max multi on that beast? Try setting it to 10 at least if you can so that it makes the maths easier and you can be sure your memory is running at the speed that the CPU Freq. is.

HTH,
Scott.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2006, 09:21 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

might simply be timings in bios for the single core that was holding you back before. XMS 3200XL is based on tccd, and should go upwards of 300mhz, given the proper settings Try 2.5-3-3-6 for 250mhz.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 8th July, 2006 at 09:22 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2006, 10:39 PM
Xander_Hal's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 42

The max multi on the opteron 165 is 9x, which is why a lot of people go for the 170 which is 10x. I don't think the 9x will hold me back that much, since my goal is 2.6. I'm going to overclock in steps I think, doing some gaming and priming in between and trying to keep the vcore down.

Cadaveca, 300 Mhz?! That's obscene! At least I know I can try to push this CPU up high and the RAM should be able to keep up with it!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2006, 10:54 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you should at least get 275, 3-4-4-8. pc 4800 stuff is the same IC, TCCD. TCCD is not like TCC5....it's much better. The real good sticks will do that 300mhz @ 2.5-3-3-6 too. I'd love to play with your ram
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 8th July, 2006 at 10:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2006, 12:09 AM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

- one slow spinning 120mm fan or two 6mm fans in front of the ram
- voltage between 2.65V and 2.85V
- timings of 2.5-4-3-6 or 2.5-4-4-10; Max Async Lateny 8; Read Preamble 5

this way I got my two sticks to 295MHz and my Opti to 295MHzx9
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PS3 controller in 360 Controller case? Okie, dokie! raphael2040 Case Modifications 3 1st May, 2007 09:10 AM
Memory Controller and I/O Controller Failed to identify Everlasting Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 15th November, 2005 10:06 PM
nForce driver memory controller???? WooferWrecker EPoX MotherBoards 6 8th February, 2005 11:49 PM
Dual Memory controller slow on nforce2 Stormseeker EPoX MotherBoards 8 19th November, 2003 12:01 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0