AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2006, 12:08 PM
Member
Penguin Bashing Champion, Action Fish Champion, Cat Bowling Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: Blenheim, NZ
Posts: 52

Question 4600 or 4800?

Im just wondering, what 1meg of L2 cache has on performance. Thats the difference between the 4600 X2 and the 4800 X2. does it have an effect now or is it another one of AMD's "in the future" ideas.

Want answers as i mabye upgrading.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2006, 02:55 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Having the extra L2 cache does give a little extra performance, sometimes the 512k versions overclock higher though cancelling this advantage out.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th September, 2006, 01:51 PM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

I agree MONKEYMAN!
In general the differences are not significant.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2006, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2006
Posts: 50

save $$ and get the 4600
__________________
AOA Team fah

Current Build:
Epox 570 SLi
AMD X2 5200+
Corsair 2x 1028 XMS
EVGA 7600GT KO (x2) in SLi
Lite On DVD Burner
Lite On CD Burner
Zip 250
Floppy/media card reader
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
21" Gateway Widescreen Monitor
Logitech 5.1 surround sound
Logitech Laser Keyboard/Mouse wireless combo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2006, 12:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

I got the 4400 2.2ghz and a 1mb cache overclocked to 2.5 easily so got the performance of a 4800 for a lot less
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2006, 01:48 PM
Takeshi_0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 13

Well, there is little performance gain comparing both of the chips.
it would wise to get the 4600 and get it up alittle to match the 4800
__________________
AMD RoCKS!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

but the 4600 only has a 512mb cach and the clock speed is the same as 4800
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2006, 10:27 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

I would say go 4600
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade to AMD X2 4800 problems. mongycore AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 29th November, 2006 07:32 PM
AMD Drops Price on the 4800+ Exile69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 13th September, 2005 12:45 AM
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Review: Dual Core Hits The Desktop danrok 64 Bit computing 8 10th May, 2005 07:38 PM
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Review up at AMD Zone Bring the Noise 64 Bit computing 0 9th May, 2005 06:52 AM
Pny Ti 4600 KTV_Striker EPoX MotherBoards 2 29th April, 2002 04:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0