AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Single core to dual core upgrade problem.

Hi guys

Just upgraded my girl friends pc from a AMD64 3000+ to a AMD64 X2 4800+ however her sound is now really quiet and in games it locks up, shuts down, reboots or quits to windows. I have noticed that sometimes her sound locks up but the game keeps going. I am thinking it could be a driver issue would I need to reinstall the motherboard drivers? Oh and it now scores 7681 in 3Dmark06 slightly better than the 3120 it scored before.

Spec

Gigabyte SLI motherboard
AMD X2 4800+
2gb Corsair RAM
2x 7800GT SLI
Onboard sound
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 09:34 AM
Zinoberrot's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: It's all red
Posts: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daston
Hi guys

Just upgraded my girl friends pc from a AMD64 3000+ to a AMD64 X2 4800+ however her sound is now really quiet and in games it locks up, shuts down, reboots or quits to windows. I have noticed that sometimes her sound locks up but the game keeps going. I am thinking it could be a driver issue would I need to reinstall the motherboard drivers? Oh and it now scores 7681 in 3Dmark06 slightly better than the 3120 it scored before.

Spec

Gigabyte SLI motherboard
AMD X2 4800+
2gb Corsair RAM
2x 7800GT SLI
Onboard sound
If it scored 3120 and went up to 7681 in 3dmark with just a CPU upgrade, that PC has a real problem. CPU's barely affect 3dmark scores, it should score near 7000 even with the 3000+.

You should re-install all of the drivers, including the CPU driver. Sound lock-ups are usually driver problems.

Also make sure that this SLI motherboard which you mention supports the 4800+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Yeah the motherboard supports the cpu. I was told that the 3000+ would be bottle necking the 2 7800GT's so the score wouldnt be that high until the new cpu went in. I will clean out all the drivers then tonight.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 09:50 AM
Zinoberrot's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: It's all red
Posts: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daston
Yeah the motherboard supports the cpu. I was told that the 3000+ would be bottle necking the 2 7800GT's so the score wouldnt be that high until the new cpu went in. I will clean out all the drivers then tonight.

A huge (and I mean huge) bottleneck would be 1000 points. It is impossible for a score to double by upgrading the CPU, even if you get from the least expensive to the most powerful processor. The 3dmark depends 95% on the gpu alone.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 10:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

weird the only score to really change was the cpu score it went from 700 to 2000 the SM2.0/HDR score went up by 1500. I will wipe all the drivers for all the hardware and start it again would have done a full HDD wipe but the misses insisted she didnt want to loose her saves on Oblivion and the Sims.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th September, 2006, 02:38 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

Copy the save files for the games to disk, then ur free 2 format.
If it comes to that.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2006, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Ok it seems that EQ2 just dosnt like dual core and that is why it reboots at random. Is there anyway to turn off one thread before playing so that it just uses the one core? Also windows does seem to be a little slower at multi tasking than it used to be surly a 2.4ghz 1mb cache should be much quicker than a 1.8ghz 512kb cache
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2006, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Ok just downloaded the latest X2 drivers from AMD however it wont let me install it due to the other driver being there. I have tried to unistall the current AMD driver but as it is in use it wont let me. Any ideas?? Oh and anyone got the MS hotfix for dual core?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2006, 04:36 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Have you tried in safe mode?

Safe mode is the best bet to remove most drivers, as it quite often wont remove components in use - Safe mode only loads the bear minimum to load windows
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2006, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Yeah tried safe mode and it comes back with the same error.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2006, 11:48 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

looks like you are up for a reinstall to change those. Unless someone else can think of something else

good luck with it - let us know how it goes
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2006, 12:18 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

When going from sungle-core to dual core, you must AT THE VERY LEAST doa repair install of windows IF NOT A FRESH INSTALL. The problem is the HAL(Hardware Abstraction Layer) is set for a single-core environment, and the environment is no longer singlecore. this means windows is barely aware that the second core is there, and hence the performance oddities.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade to Dual-core? Toastmaster AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 7th December, 2006 08:08 PM
Upgrade to dual core Quickbeam177 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 27th November, 2006 01:27 AM
AMD single core CPU analysis MrSeanKon AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 30th October, 2006 10:57 AM
AM2 3800+ Single Core Overclock Adventures!!! thejamesvolta AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 19th September, 2006 07:51 PM
AMD XP 1700+ TBred-B Core DLT3C JIUHB 1.5V Core any good? Cali3350 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 1st June, 2003 06:44 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0