AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 10:41 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

AMD to counter Intel QX6700 with three new Athlon 64 FX CPUs in mid-November

Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) plans to launch three 90nm Athlon 64 FX processors intended for its 4x4 platform (a two-socket board, each containing a dual-core processor) in mid-November, with an aim to counter Intel's planned launched of its Core 2 Extreme QX6700 CPU, according to sources at Taiwan motherboard makers who are familiar with AMD's latest roadmap.

Read more on the Front Page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1231/2/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 11:15 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

AMDs done for these rounds intels one. I think I said something like this would happen a bit of time ago. Funny though the Dell AMD deal could turn things around.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 01:13 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I'm certain that these processors will be most economical. Cough.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 02:04 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

and oh so cheap
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 03:10 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Not to mention you'll need two of them and a special server motherboard, which will probably require 4 banks of ram to achieve max performance. Still they are countering a $1000 cpu that runs in current generation boards though.

Though if each cpu has a TDP of 125w, and a QX6700 is 130w on its own. The power bill and cooling for the amd is going to be fairly extreme.

125w to hit 3GHz though, the core 2 extreme is nearly that speed on 75w.

It would appear the boot is truely on the other foot now and its amd making rash decisions in an attempt to stay competitive
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 03:57 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

but AMD gives you the path to 8 cores(oh i love that magic 8), and the 125w is minor considering this is the first revision of cpu for the socket. I could care less tho, it's the bandwidth I'm after, and it won't take four buffers, just two. Almost 24GB/sec, anyone?


4- 500GB HDD's
16GB of ram
8 general processing cores
3 video processing cores(2 vga + 1 physics or 2 physics + 1 VGA)


all for a astounding resolution of 4096x2160 @ 60FPS++, while running more than one OS.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 04:16 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Well as long as it's cheap and economical....":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 01:15 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Well if you know anything about AMD's CPU's, you'd know that the clock speed doesn't match the rating. For example, my 3200+ is rated, against an intel counterpart, as 3.2Ghz. That is at stock speeds. However, as you go up in speed, the rating increases by a percentage, in relation to your overclock.

So the speed on the tin isn't neccessarily what speed you'd have if it was an equivalent Intel CPU.

But AMD launching Land Rovers (4x4), or at least they'll use the same amount of power.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 01:28 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Having done some more reading it seems that its going to be running on the new server platform (socket 1207?).
Which correct me if i'm wrong but dont they already have dual core opties for that socket (so its not really a new chip for that socket) and so they're already selling this 2x2 platform to a different market.
Are they just going to rebrand and sell some opterons as slightly cheaper and less validated athlon fx's ?
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel orders rival to stop making CPUs Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 6 25th November, 2006 01:45 AM
Intel Quad Core QX6700 Evaluation Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 8 23rd November, 2006 02:49 PM
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 review danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 13th November, 2006 08:57 PM
Why Do Intel CPUs stink at games? Gizmo Programming and Assembly Language 12 31st December, 2005 04:32 PM
I know nothign about intel mobos/cpus Saigon Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th April, 2003 05:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0