AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2006, 04:05 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

AMD Athlon 64 Socket AM2 CPU in a Socket 939 Motherboard

OCInside shows off the Asrok 939SLI32 eSATA2 with a twist: this socket 939 board is designed with a CPU upgrade slot to allow it to handle different CPUs.

Read more on the Front Page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1289/2/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2006, 05:58 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Oooh.

Good stuff, good stuff
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2006, 07:17 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Pretty humongous "daughter" card. Still a great idea, though.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2006, 07:58 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Pretty humongous "daughter" card. Still a great idea, though.
Not terribly cost-effictive though, I don't think. I can't imagine the cost of the CPU upgrade board being much less than the cost of a new mobo. The 939SLI32 sells for $80 at NewEgg. Given that it is going to see a lot more production than the daughter card, I'd be greatly surprised if the daughter card costs less than about $50, assuming you can find some place to buy the card. And you have to buy new RAM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2006, 01:05 AM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Its nasty, my precious, yes it is.
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2006, 03:35 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Good idea for a cheap upgrade solution, but not very effective.

Memory bandwidth would be brually lower resulting in low performance which means, crappy bang for buck.

Just my $0.02.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2006, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

ECS did a similar thing by having a motherboard with a 939 slot and a 775 slot on a seperate daughter board.
It cost no more than a normal 939 and worked well, so it means those who own the board can upgrade to Conroe by simply buying a cpu and memory.
The board had memory slots and the relevant chipsets built in, and it actually worked very well and there wasn't any noticeable speed difference.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2006, 07:17 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Didn't the article say that the "daughter" card costs 29 Euros? Yes, ECS does come up with cool gear sometimes.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2006, 11:11 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

29 Euros is about $35, isn't it? If it really is that cheap, that wouldn't be a bad deal. I must've missed that part in the article.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2006, 12:26 AM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Wouldnt this also overcome XP activation issues on OEM licences - as its the exact same hardware essentially. So theres a saving I guess.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athlon MP in Single Socket Board djXternal AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 5th February, 2006 03:38 PM
3.4ghz Socket A Athlon XP-M Rondog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 34 27th June, 2005 10:49 PM
What is the best motherboard for socket 754 David Qualter AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 27th January, 2005 04:12 AM
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Socket 754 Processor OEM $177.00 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 18th December, 2004 02:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0