AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 38

Upgrade to AMD X2 4800 problems.

Hey,

I just upgraded my computer from an Athlon 64 3800 to an X2 4800 dual core (S939) processor the past weekend. A hold over until I do a full-fledged build next spring.

I've been getting 'serious error' messages and crashes after upgrading to the new chip. I did update the bios and reinstalled Windows XP, plus added on the 2 hotfixes (amd & ms's) for dual core systems. And made sure the V-Core was set properly without relying on the asus auto settings.

Now I'm finding my system to be super finicky when doing daily stuff, but I'm ironing them out as I go...

1st Problem - I cannot use the latest X-Fi drivers on my system. I tried using them after re-installing windows. It produced massive crashes/auto-reboots. Only after using the original x-fi cd did I get my soundcard working.

2nd Problem - Trying to change video options in some games produces a nasty crash-restart. I used driver cleaner and took the tweaksrus drivers off and went with nvidia's certified drivers for the time being. Still I get occasional crashes when trying to change video options in FEAR or Company of Heroes...runs fine with Valve's stuff and BF2.

3rd Problem - Upon a fresh boot I occasionally get the 'serious error' message. I submitted a bug report to MS, they don't know what's causing it. They did catch one crash, stemming from my Norton AV being out of date. Liveupdate fixed that.

I'm pondering the idea of RMA'ing the chip for either a replacement or refund.

I've never seen a system so delicate when it comes to device driver problems the way it is right now with this build. Only time I can recall these kinds of problems was with directx back in 1996.

It's just weird to have these kinds of problems when I virtually started from scratch with the chip upgrade. Kind of feels like I'm walking this tightrope right now and if I even look at the task tray funny the computer will crash.

My Specs:

PC Power & Cooling 510 PSU
Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo with latest bios.
1 Gig Corsair XMS ram set at 2-3-3-6
4 Seagate Hard Drives (2 pata, 2 sata...no raid, jbod)
x-fi extreme music
bfg geforce 6800 gt w/ accelero cooler
arctic cooling freezer 64 heatsink/fan on the cpu, with AS5.
Windows XP Hommie Edition with SP2

Temps:
cpu idle - 37 degrees
cpu load - 45 degrees
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2006, 08:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Do you get the Generic Host process issue?
If you do, downlaod the fix here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

It's a good idea to do it anyway, to prevent it happening in the future.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2006, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 38

not getting that particular bug.

Ended up shipping the chip back. I hope the next one behaves.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2006, 01:08 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Keep us posted. I am curious to see if you got a bum chip.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2006, 01:50 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Creative drivers are pain in the neck.
What I do was :
Get the latest drivers from creative\nVidia.
1- unistall/shred (not only delete) creative drivers(the ones on the installation cdr).
2-Uninstall/shred nVidia drivers (all).
3- install creative drivers and reboot.
4- install nVidia drivers and reboot.

I also flash the bios first. It works for me, hope it can help.
3-
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 01:22 PM
Finetobe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 525

Quote:
plus added on the 2 hotfixes (amd & ms's) for dual core systems.
Do not install this if you dont need them . and newer at the same time.
so only use one of them . im 99% sure that this is your problem.
__________________
2500K-4600mhz/8gb ram /2x6970.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2006, 07:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

I don't know what those hotfixes are for, never heard of them, but I have a 3800+ X2 and a 4200+ X2 that run without the slightest peep of a problem (the 4200+ since September 2005, the 3800+ since June). The OS is WinXP SP2.
__________________
FIC VA-503+
K6-III+/450@550
256MB PC133Turbo
Abit Rocket 100
WinXPsp2/Win98SE

Last edited by TrevorS; 29th November, 2006 at 07:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
939 upgrade to 4200+ X2 problems OneKiwi AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 25th July, 2007 09:50 PM
4600 or 4800? Minibull AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 12th October, 2006 10:27 PM
AMD Drops Price on the 4800+ Exile69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 13th September, 2005 12:45 AM
Help Upgrade problems Code 7F theflashuk EPoX MotherBoards 2 24th October, 2004 12:37 PM
ATTENTION PLEASE! We are having a few problems with a forums upgrade! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 5 30th May, 2002 03:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0