AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 01:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Gigabyte k8n-sli

Hi.

Is there anyway to overclock this Gigabyte k8n-sli board,without using ntune.its really frustrating,as everytime i reboot or shutdown,i gotta start all over in ntune to overclock.The highest i can go in bios is 210fsb,anything higher and it just loops.any help appreciated.

Gigabyte k8n-sli
3500+ Venice
Geil 2x512mb ddr400
His x1900xt
Creative Audigy 4
A-open 400Watt atx v2.0
Lg dvd writer
Leadtek tv card
Logitech Momo wheel
Logitech 3d Pro
Logitech Z5300`s 5.1
Gensat Menoceros tower with 240mm side fan.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 11:49 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

You have to make sure in BIOS that you manually choose the PCI and PCIe frequency.

Also the Gigabyte's hate a high HTT frequency, so make sure you change the HTT multiplier from auto or 5, down to 3 or 4.

Also you may want to drop the RAM speed, just to make sure its not that, then overclock the RAM later.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2006, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

thanks Noob,but what exactly are u talking about,which pci frequencys,could u give more detail please,or an example perhaps.

thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2006, 09:03 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Your PCI bus runs at 33MHz, and the PCIe bus runs at 100MHz.

The gigabyte runs a divider normally off the fsb, and if it gets to high, it fails. To compat this you need to change the PCI freq to 33MHZ, and the PCIe freq to 100MHz

You should be able to lock these in the bios, one under M.I.T. (on the board in my sig) and you may have to go into the advanced options (Shift+F1) to lock the PCI frequency.

The HTT frequency is also under M.I.T. (on the board in my sig) and is usually set at x5 which is fsbx5 and shouldn't be more than 1000DDR (2000MT/s) or the board will fail. If you are overclocking you will need to change it to x4 or x3.

The CPU multiplier needs to be manually set as well, AUTO causes to many problems.

Lastly, it looks as though your northbridge is the same as mine, just to let you know, the Gigabyte northbridge solution is rubbish! If you are going to overclock you will need another cooling solution. As my graphics card sits over my northbridge, and looks like it does with yours as well, this may be a problem, and will limit you.

EDIT:

Also make sure you are using a 24pin PSU, and also the 4pin connector by the CPU. ALso if your board came with the 6 phase power thing, use it. Gigabyte seems to run better with it, and will cause issues if you don't.

Its almost like they have programmed chips to make sure it doesn't if you don't use them
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H

Last edited by noob; 21st November, 2006 at 09:07 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2006, 07:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Thanks Noob,ill give it a try,but that last bit has me confused(Also make sure you are using a 24pin PSU, and also the 4pin connector by the CPU. ALso if your board came with the 6 phase power thing, use it. Gigabyte seems to run better with it, and will cause issues if you don't.

Its almost like they have programmed chips to make sure it doesn't if you don't use them)

Could you go in more detail perhaps.

thanks.
__________________
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2006, 01:30 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Many up to date power supplies come with a 24-pin main power connector. If the m'board has a 24-pin main power connector, it's best to honor it with a 24-pin PSU. If one insists on using a 20-pin PSU, it's better to use a 24-pin to 20-pin adaptor between the male power plug and mainboard's female power plug. Modern mobos often have a separate square 4-pin connection plug that needs its opposite number from the PSU.
Sorry, I don't know about "the 6 phase power thing."
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 04:58 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

My board has an add in card which is placed just above the CPU
this gives the board 6phase power.

Now without it, the board seems a little unstable, and with it its fine. this is even if its not overclocked.

The advantage is you can overclock the board further with it. Not sure if yours came with one or not, judging from your reply I would say not.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Thanks Noob and Cloasters.

You right,i did not receive that 6 phase card.However,i did manage to get my board to 235 fsb stable.Im running it as follows.

HT-3x
Cpu multi-11x
memory divider-2/2
pci xpress-100
fsb-235

The only thing that puzzles me is that the moment i go over 240fsb,no matter what my settings are,the board seems to default to a lower clock.if i get it to boot at say 250 fsb,it loads to desktop,but when i run Everest,it shows my cpu clock 1.93,and fsb at 197.That cant be right,as my bios show it at 250.it must be a Gigabyte thing.but anyhow,thanks,and my 3d mark 2005 score went from 8800 to 9450.

cheers.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 12:01 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Also check what another program, say CPU-z says about your FSB.

The other thing os to make sure cool and quiet is turned off.

Glad to hear you got it working
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte k8n sli gboy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 24th October, 2005 08:43 PM
GIGABYTE Motherboard bhdeath11 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 13th July, 2005 06:29 PM
Gigabyte K8N ULTRA-939 Gman15 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 10th June, 2005 04:13 PM
Gigabyte @ Fragapolooza cadaveca General Hardware Discussion 0 17th July, 2004 06:37 AM
Gigabyte GA-7IX AmbientFiction AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 16th January, 2003 04:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0