AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 12:20 AM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

Lightbulb Opty 165

Hey guys, I am looking into upgrading from my current processor to a opty 165, this rig is used for nothing but gaming and F@Hing. I was wondering if this would help/hurt my gaming preformance, I will also overclock this opty to the point of raising the voltage more than .1. Any info on this would be nice, Thanks guys.
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 12:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 94

FAH should not hurt your gaming. It runs at low priority so it will idle if something else need the CPU time.

My Opty is running at 2.8Ghz (~FX-62 speed) at default voltage. I have not tried any higher. Some people are getting 3GHz+ but with extra voltage. It seem to overclock better than other more expensive AMD CPUs out there.

If you get the stepping CCBBE week 0616 like me then you are in luck since that one of the best steppins so far. Like with any processor out there you need a quality motherboard and power supply to push the fsb enough to get this kind of overclocks.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D @ 312 HT
Opteron 165 @ 2.8 Ghz (~1.33v)
2 X 1Gb Patriot PC3200 (2,3,2,5 1T)
EVGA 8800GTS
2 X 300 GB Maxtor SATA (RAID 0)
700W OCZ Gametream PS
X-Fi XtremeMusic

Last edited by Rocketman6800; 28th November, 2006 at 12:41 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 05:11 AM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

What do you mean by "stepping CCBBE week 0616".

I have been run'n F@H for years, and was not speaking of that. I was speaking of equal gaming performaning in a athlon 64 x2, or is the opty faster all around?
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 94

The A64 X2 with 1MB cache per core is equal in performance as the Opteron at the same clock speed. The 512KB cache X2, the Opteron will be a little bit faster than the X2.

Asumming you overclock the Opteron you should see some gains in your gamming performance compared to your current rig. The increase in performance will not be all that great since games depend more on the video card performance than anything else.

My point was that the Opteron 165 you are interested in buying is a great overclocker. AMD make small changes or updates the the CPU core from time to time called "stepping". Some steppings overclock better than others. Since you mentioned you wanted to overclock I thought this information was of interest to you.
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D @ 312 HT
Opteron 165 @ 2.8 Ghz (~1.33v)
2 X 1Gb Patriot PC3200 (2,3,2,5 1T)
EVGA 8800GTS
2 X 300 GB Maxtor SATA (RAID 0)
700W OCZ Gametream PS
X-Fi XtremeMusic

Last edited by Rocketman6800; 28th November, 2006 at 05:45 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 12:13 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Of course the X2 with 1Meg cache will perform the same as an opty with 1meg of cache, as unless the opty is infected with ecc its the exact same chip!
Though the 1meg cache X2's no longer exist of course as they couldnt fill all the opty orders and they were just to expensive of a part to sell at x2 prices (opty's command a much higher price premium)
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 06:00 PM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

Thx guys, have any of you made this switch, and if so, what real life difference did it make for you?

Also, I can't get passed 240 on my fsb, the ht link multi is dynamic, and automaticly set my the board, but I'm thinking it may be my psu can't handle it, any suggestions?
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com

Last edited by captinhector; 28th November, 2006 at 07:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2006, 03:15 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

While my opty 165 is only a month old, I got a crappy stepping, made in late 2005... my oc is limited to 2.3ghz...

Performance wise, it is still an improvement over the 2.5ghz venice that it replaced. Also, with the bigger cache, the opty is able to fold about as fast as the older chip.... except now I have 2 cores folding. The down side is that while I am running stock voltage, the heat went through the roof.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2006, 05:33 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
While my opty 165 is only a month old, I got a crappy stepping, made in late 2005... my oc is limited to 2.3ghz...

Performance wise, it is still an improvement over the 2.5ghz venice that it replaced. Also, with the bigger cache, the opty is able to fold about as fast as the older chip.... except now I have 2 cores folding. The down side is that while I am running stock voltage, the heat went through the roof.
man thats bad luck. Also the opty and X2 arent exacly the same. optys are much high grade silicon.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opty 175 Strongwolf AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 23rd December, 2006 05:46 AM
Opty Strongwolf AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 19th November, 2006 01:59 PM
9NPA+ SLi w/ Opty 165, 40C idle/ 60C load??? dawei213 EPoX MotherBoards 28 27th August, 2006 01:41 AM
Which board to get for my new Opty 165? Nate-X AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 28th April, 2006 12:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0