AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2006, 08:17 PM
Hozee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186

OC'ing opteron 185 soc.939

Has someone experience with OC'ing this processor?
Can not find any decent review about this on the net. I hoped to read something about the OC capabilities of this proc. And for example also a comparision with the FX60. Think this baby is very rare in the OC world.
If someone knows a good link...please.
__________________
Asus Striker Extreme - Intel E6600 @ 3200 mhz - Zalman 9700 - Sparkle 8800GTX @ 600/2006 - Corsair pc 6400 c4 2x1gb 4-4-4-12 @ 817mhz : 1T - 1 x maxtor 250gb sata - Superflower 500w psu. Dell 30"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2006, 06:51 PM
Hozee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186

No one ??
__________________
Asus Striker Extreme - Intel E6600 @ 3200 mhz - Zalman 9700 - Sparkle 8800GTX @ 600/2006 - Corsair pc 6400 c4 2x1gb 4-4-4-12 @ 817mhz : 1T - 1 x maxtor 250gb sata - Superflower 500w psu. Dell 30"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2006, 04:47 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I am sure someone has....

Come on guys....Help a man out...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 19th December, 2006 at 01:04 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2006, 11:30 PM
Finetobe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 525

the opteron 185 do not oc better than the 170 or 175 so nobody boy it for oc.
__________________
2500K-4600mhz/8gb ram /2x6970.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2006, 11:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2006
Posts: 4

I don't know of any overclocking documents but I have a 185 in my system overclocked. I haven't had it long so haven't done much tweaking yet. Currently got it running stable at 2884MHz (11.5 x 250) with no increase in voltages etc. Runs at around 35C at idle (air cooling).

I've tried to get 3000MHz using 400 x 7.5 (with a slight core voltage increase) but so far it hasn't been very stable in windows.

Don't know what to try next really. Should I increase voltages elsewhere? Any suggestions welcome

Cheers,
Laxity.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2006, 01:18 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Opterons generally fare well for overclocking, depending on stepping. It seems that AMD has properly matured the 90nm process and pretty much any cpu you buy from them made in the last year is gonna do 3ghz or more.

Generally speaking, 300x10 is a good number, especially when you can match ram easily to it @ 250mhz, and most boards will do this speed easily with a little bit of special treatment. That being said, the opteron 170 is the most common choice, and due to the cost of a 185, Core2's had overshadowed that price range.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2006, 09:11 AM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

Hozee I have not tested any Opteron but I read at other forums it is highly overclockable (yeah it is possible) 3GHz+ without bumping voltages.
laxity generally speaking Vcores higher than 1.55 Volts (for aircooling and watercooling) are not recommended (you won't see good gains).
Moreover the full load temperature should be up to 50-55 Celsius but this depends on chip/CPU frequency.
General A64 o/c guides are in Guidemania, avoid half multipliers HT speed should be up to 1GHz.
Good luck.
__________________

Last edited by MrSeanKon; 19th December, 2006 at 09:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2006, 11:00 AM
Hozee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186

I also have read in some forums, the OC capabilities of this proc., from some members there. But a full review from a well-known reviewer, that i can not find. Anyway, thanks guys for the reply's. (Samuknow..,hehe)

@ Laxity: Why dou you use suche a high HTT? Maybe your mobo d'nt like it. Think if you try 300x10 you gonna have more succes, like cadaveca also indicates.
__________________
Asus Striker Extreme - Intel E6600 @ 3200 mhz - Zalman 9700 - Sparkle 8800GTX @ 600/2006 - Corsair pc 6400 c4 2x1gb 4-4-4-12 @ 817mhz : 1T - 1 x maxtor 250gb sata - Superflower 500w psu. Dell 30"

Last edited by Hozee; 19th December, 2006 at 11:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2006, 09:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2006
Posts: 4

Thanks for the tips so far guys.

I've just tried the settings below but I got a BSOD in 3Dmark06 :

300 x 10
HT Freq Ratio - 3x (900)
CPU/DDR clock ratio - 2/1.33 (399)
CPU Voltage - 1.4v

The main reason I never tried 300 x 10 is that I try to get HT @ 1000 for stabilty. With a 300 cpu freq, HT is 900 at x3 (bit low) and 1200 at x4 (too high).

Any other suggestions what to try next?

Many thanks,
Laxity.
__________________

Last edited by laxity; 19th December, 2006 at 09:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2006, 09:50 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

up the chipset and cpu voltage. 900x3 is more than enough for that core.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2006, 10:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2006
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
up the chipset and cpu voltage. 900x3 is more than enough for that core.
Thanks. Seems stable at 1.45v now. Have to do a bit more testing obviously, but looks good.

Is 1.45v fairly safe?

Idle temps are 36C and 50C at load so temps look good.

Cheers,
Laxity.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2006, 11:28 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

1.45 is safe, yes. 1.5v is ok too, but @ temps you got now. It may take some tweaking to get yourself fully stable, but it sounds like you may have it already.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2006, 11:57 PM
Hozee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186

Nice OC Laxity, think with a better cooler you could maybe achieve a little more but surrely not bad for now.
Had mine today. Gonna install the thing tomorrow....can hardly wait. Hope at least to achive your OC values.
Dou you know your stepping?
Mine is : CCBBE 0613RPMW , Batch 0095.
__________________
Asus Striker Extreme - Intel E6600 @ 3200 mhz - Zalman 9700 - Sparkle 8800GTX @ 600/2006 - Corsair pc 6400 c4 2x1gb 4-4-4-12 @ 817mhz : 1T - 1 x maxtor 250gb sata - Superflower 500w psu. Dell 30"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2006, 11:44 AM
ochest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Vauxhall, London
Posts: 65
Send a message via MSN to ochest

That looks like a good stepping. Good luck
__________________
I Antec NeoHE 550W I Epox EP-9NPA+ Ultra I SD 3700+ 1.475V I
I 1GB Crucial Ballistix PC4000 I X1900XT I Viewsonic VX924 I
I WD Raptor 74GB+Maxtor Diamondmax10 200GB+80GB I
I Current Speed 2695mhz (11x245) RAM @ 2.5-2-2-7 2.7V 245Mhz I
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2006, 10:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2006
Posts: 4

Well I know the stepping is E4 but I suspect your after a different number.

Where is other stepping info? If it is stamped on the cpu then I didn't take a note of it I'm afraid. Is there an electronic way to extract it?

Here's the info from cpuz...
Attached Thumbnails
OC'ing opteron 185 soc.939-cpuz.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by laxity; 20th December, 2006 at 10:52 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2006, 10:54 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

1.44 and 3ghz is sweet, dude. nothing but good clocking going on here!

Stepping is written on the IHS of the cpu itself, and there is no way to detect such once the cpu is isntalled, barring removing the pc.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2006, 11:33 AM
Hozee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186

'K, think i found the sweet spot. Proc.is running @ 2915 mhz, 265 x 12, with a average of 1,450V.(cpuz)
Memory is running @ 292,6 timings: 3-3-3-8... , 265 x 216 HT in bios.
Wel, i ame very pleased with this setup, very fast and til now very stable. I did the 3 futuremark 3D tests and it is, for me, a succes.
37611 points on 3D03, 15311 points on 3D05, 9902 points on 3D06. You can see it, if you wish, on futuremark under the projectname name: JM / Opteron 185.
The only thing y do not understand is how it is possible that mi mem. runs @ that high speed, knowing that my mem. max's. out @ 282mhz with the proc. also @ 2820 mhz (1:1) and, also, with lower scores in the 3D futuremark benches and higher bandwidth in Sandra.
But....nevermind....Halleluya, i am a very happy gamer @ this moment.
Did also, of course, the performance test in F.E.A.R., with..ALL.. max. and..its pleasant to see that the min. fps. is 55, the average is 106 and the max. is 295.
Can't reach the 3000mhz stable with this proc., but.....NP., very happy for now.

Edit: Trying now 2926mhz @ 1,450. It makes a big difference in F.E.A.R.:min. 58fps, average: 125 max. 303 fps.........

Edit: Atm. rockstable in games (F.E.A.R. , DTM3,...). Temps are very good: idle 32dgr.C , load 44dgr.C

Edit: Still rockstable..
__________________
Asus Striker Extreme - Intel E6600 @ 3200 mhz - Zalman 9700 - Sparkle 8800GTX @ 600/2006 - Corsair pc 6400 c4 2x1gb 4-4-4-12 @ 817mhz : 1T - 1 x maxtor 250gb sata - Superflower 500w psu. Dell 30"

Last edited by Hozee; 30th December, 2006 at 05:47 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2006, 08:59 PM
Hozee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186

And laxity, how about your OC progress. Is that 3000mhz OC still rockstable?
__________________
Asus Striker Extreme - Intel E6600 @ 3200 mhz - Zalman 9700 - Sparkle 8800GTX @ 600/2006 - Corsair pc 6400 c4 2x1gb 4-4-4-12 @ 817mhz : 1T - 1 x maxtor 250gb sata - Superflower 500w psu. Dell 30"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 12:45 PM
Hozee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186

Got him now @ 2970mhz, 1,450V stable, mem. @ 270mhz 3-3-3-8
Temp. idle 32dgr C , load 48dgr C ambient 22dgr. C.
__________________
Asus Striker Extreme - Intel E6600 @ 3200 mhz - Zalman 9700 - Sparkle 8800GTX @ 600/2006 - Corsair pc 6400 c4 2x1gb 4-4-4-12 @ 817mhz : 1T - 1 x maxtor 250gb sata - Superflower 500w psu. Dell 30"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 01:03 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

WTG Hozee....3G is gust a step away..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to OC my P4 D805 without OC'ing my RAM? membreya Hardware Hacking 4 26th April, 2006 12:13 PM
oc'ing RAM???? l33t_baller Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 11th September, 2005 03:56 PM
Yay more questions :) Sis 300/305 oc'ing. Chesso Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 6th February, 2005 05:46 PM
OC'ing ATi 9000 Pro - Help? JouninX Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 17th July, 2003 06:23 PM
Problems OC'ing Daleon AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 22nd May, 2003 11:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0