AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 10:16 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

The stock FSB/HTT is 200 on this board and ATM, i've got 250 stable. I have had it at 160+ before though. I don't know if this meas anything to ya, but i can run 16 both ways as opposed to 8 both ways or 8 up 8 down. And my HTT multi is set to auto.

Where to go from here? I always use the highest cpu multi so i presume the 180 is locked at 12x. I also assume it's not possible to unlock them. Does this mean C&Q won't be any use (my cpu fan is linked directly to a 12v molex since i replaced the loud akasa one with a quieter blue LED one so noise isn't an issue).

EDIT: Oh yeah, which steppings are the decent OC'ers for Opty's? I know that CABGE are crap, CAB2E vary and CABYE and CABNE are awesome for the single core opty's, but isn't it different for Opty duals?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)

Last edited by skool h8r; 27th December, 2006 at 10:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 10:45 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

doesn't really matter at this point. get form a shop that turns over cpu's often, and you'll get a good clocker.

multi is unlocked downwards up to 4x(but is not stable...6x and up for stability). No CNQ, but replacement is "PowerNow!"(simply different name for same thing).
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 27th December, 2006 at 10:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 12:06 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

"multi is unlocked downwards up to 4x"
My A64 multi options range from 4x to 10x. So....wait, i'm confused. So is the opty unlocked from 4x to it's max multi (12x in this case) or is it locked at 12x?

It's coming from Scan which are one of the big UK retailers, and the shop isn't far from my sisters house in Manchester.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 12:35 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Opty is the same as every other a64-non FX. Simply differnt HT links between chipset and possibly other cpu's present. Single-socket Opteron's typically have 3x HTT links to chipset, while regular A64's have 1. This seemingly does not affect performance incredibly much, but it does allow for higher HTT(FSB) overclocking from what I found in my A64 days.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 01:16 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Ah right. To me, an unlocked CPU means that most of the multipliers are available to use from 4 upwards.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2007, 06:31 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

OH FFS! The day before i get my wages, they go out of stock! What sort of bloody luck is that!?! FFS!
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2007, 06:48 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

That sucks, I believe it's called "Sod's Law" if it's of any help...
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2007, 07:31 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu
That sucks, I believe it's called "Sod's Law" if it's of any help...
yeah, i just get more sod than most other people. Now i don't know whether to go for a normal A64 X2, or wait until the opty's are back in stock, if they are gonna be.

I even emailed them asking if i could reserve a 180 but they said no. Does anyone know any UK shipping US based retailers?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 10:28 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Thumbs up

Well, it's all back on track finally. Another forum member has offered me a 4200+ X2 939 for about £110 delivered. From the US as well! It's OEM as well so no heatsink hanging around. I'm still waiting to check that it's ok but it's looking good.

I'll get some benchmarks when i get it.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 10:37 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

http://www.lambda-tek.com/components...prodID=1070257 Brand new 4200+ socket 939
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 10:59 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

You would need the WinXPdualcorehotfix and X2 Driverfor dual core install. I got them both, try to do an attachement but fail. You can also get them plus astep by step installation guide in AMD forums.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 11:09 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by Got EpOx
No stock and it's a bit more expensive.

As for drivers, i have them already.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 11:12 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Quote:
No stock and it's a bit more expensive.
Sorry didn't check that, £110 sounds like a good deal although is it used or new?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 11:29 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by Got EpOx
Sorry didn't check that, £110 sounds like a good deal although is it used or new?
Not sure, but i think it's new. Only an OEM like i said but i don't need retail. Overclocking on it isn't too important. I would have been going for the opteron 180 but it looks like my previous employer hasn't paid me for all of the hours i did over christmas. They'll pay for it at an industrial tribuneral if they don't pay up what they owe me.

But i'll finally be able to play CellFactor decently (i hope), and i'll not have any problems messing about with breakable planks, exploding barrels, dynamite and igniting all at the same time in GMod9! My 3200+ can almost handle loads of objects flying around (>100 individual pieces of wood, ragdolls, shardes of metal all on fire and flying all over). It also means that i can finally have that zombies vs humans war without too much lag! And Source based games have multi-core optimisations as well now!
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2007, 02:44 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I hope that your new proc works very well for you!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2007, 06:24 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Well it's no longer going to be a 4200+. It's coming from the only UK retailer that ahs them in stock: OCUK. It's a 4600+ X2 939! Cost £150 delivered but i don't mind. I also know it's new as well. And it'll be even better for CellFactor *Runs around room cheering*. I might even end up folding on one core and gaming on the other. I will cherish this CPU and OC it as high as i can without any extra voltage, i really don't want to have to eplace it in a year (it'll be a year to the day that i replace my 3200+ with the 4600+).

That's almost all my final pay gone but what the heck, i didn't have anything else to spend it on. I'd been planning to go out tomorrow with some mates from college but they all decided that they weren't bothered. I'm kinda glad it turned out like that now .
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mobo choices? WooferWrecker EPoX MotherBoards 43 15th November, 2004 11:20 PM
choices choices Invalid Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 11th April, 2003 10:31 AM
choices.......... The Spyder Random Nonsense! 6 28th November, 2002 07:45 PM
IDE RAID-5 controller choices? surlyjoe General Hardware Discussion 13 11th August, 2002 06:38 AM
choices, choices.... ItHuNkPuNk Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 3rd February, 2002 02:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0