AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 01:27 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Choices, choices...

Hi all,
I'm not sure what CPU to go for next. Since i'm still on 939 and i dare say i have a lot of performance gains to be made, i don't want to change socket yet (and because i can't afford it all). Basically, i want either an X2, an opty, an opty X2, or a single-core from 3700+ upwards.

There's the 3700+ which has 1mb cache, and a clock speed of 2.2Ghz. Then there's the 3800+ which has 512kb cache but is 2.4Ghz clock speed. Those are the starting single-core options.

Then there's the X2's. I'm not too sure what to go for. A 4000+ or above is ideal. There's the opty X2 (165 i think) which is 1.8Ghz clock speed, has 2x1mb cache, and is dual core, but only has a 9x multiplier.

Then there's the single core opty's. Ideally, it needs to be a 148 or better (so 2.2Ghz or above). The 148 has 1mb of cache and is 2.2Ghz clock speed.

Now, it does need to be a good perfomer. This 3200+ (even with the what i believe to be a damaged memory controller) is a good chip, but it's just not ideal for me when i want to use the CSS bots to practice. I've also figured that it's the 'weak point' where things are slowing down (such as random 'stuttering' in games and then springing back to life). Apart from that, it is an awesome performer. Also, the new CPU needs to be a decent overclocker. If it can handle 2.6Ghz, 2.8Ghz or even the famed 3.0Ghz, then i'm happy. But it should be able to handle 31 CSS bots (32 players total with me). I mean, the 3200+ i have now handles about 19 before it starts to slow.

This is why i need to decide between an X2 (one core for AI and physics and the other for the other stuff), an opty (server chips are good chips), an opty X2 (dual-core server chips are even better), or a high-end A64 (Athlons have been good to me).

I'm gonna have about £275 when i get payed on the 4th. I don't want to spend it all on a CPU though but it's a limit. If i can get hold of a 4800+ or a 154 cheaply, then i'll be very happy. It NEEDS to be socket 939 though.

So, any thoughts, ideas or opinions?

Thanks,
Scott.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 02:05 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Recently I put my hands in an Opty 175 x2 (2.2). I already get to the 3Ghz mark (3.01). Temp go to 55C for the mobo and 59C for the cpu. It has an 11 multiplier and it is mounted on an Asus A8N32 Sli. I only have two 120mm fans (front and rear) and AC Freezer 32Pro H&F. I can tell you, this thing "overclock like crazy". Score 5,000+ on 3DM06. On water I believe it can perform even better. Been whit it for a short time thou.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 02:31 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Whoa! A 175x2! I have seen a 154 (2.8) for about £170. It's single core but it is a server chip. It also has 14x multiplier! I don't know if there's a limit on what CPU my mobo will accept which is a worry for me. I dare say i could probably get 3.5Ghz with it (250x14) if i'm lucky. And 5000+ in 3DMark06! OMG! Or should i say Omega! You "only" have 6800GS (good cards i know). With my 7600GT and a 154, it could turn out pretty sweet.

The only niggling thing is that it's single-core. I was hoping to be able to run CellFactor without physx since dual-cores seem to perform in it quite well. But seeing as i might get bored with it very quickly, i don't know if X2 is worth it. But then there's the CSS bots thing. Are Opteron's good chips in real-life performance? Or are they just over-rated?

Thanks,
Scott.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 09:11 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

not being an amd enthusiast i dont know any magical steppings / chips that overclock the most or offer the best bang for buck. But i'd go for dual core for sure, everything is going that way and vista does benefit from it alot aP4 3GHz with 2Gigs of Ram (normally 1Gig but borrowed extra sticks to see if that was the limit) was alot slower than a PD 930 (GHz) also with 2Gigs of ram. It now flies with my c2d.

Is your mobo a good overclocker ? if so go for a good but lower end chip and make it pay! else go for a high end chip and push it a little.

The big question is how much are you looking to spend ? 939's are on the way out so what is released is going to be it no new chips to come and current ones to fall by the wayside.

Somthing i forgot to add, dual core chips are now quicker than the fastest single cores that were made running a single thread
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah

Last edited by keithwalton; 25th December, 2006 at 09:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 09:42 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Opteron 175 x2 -->$227.00
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 10:02 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Cheapest price for a Opteron 175 in this country is about £150.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 11:14 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

The only problem for me is that most US retailers simply refuse or don't offer to ship to the UK. If Newegg were in UK/EU now, then ya know, things would be great. If only i could find a good UK retailer that's still shipping opty X2's. Unless i can get some US retailer to ship to me. The only one i know of is JabTech but they only do cooling and things like that.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 01:53 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

scan have a good selection of 939 opty's incl the denmakr dual core, and yes the 185 is £152 which is £37 more than the converted american prices dont forget though to add vat to the american price which makes it only £17 different.
From the looks of it 939 X2's are rare and almost non existant now which should help you make your mind up abit!

I believe the 939 opty's (100 series) are really the old X2's that had 1meg of cache per core (4400+, 4800+ etc) just with a different badge and higher price
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 09:21 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Can't see you getting much above 3.1GHz with any of those chips to be honest, also as far as CSS bots go you want to upgrade your memory first, this will have a much bigger impact, changing your CPU will not make a massive difference to your 3D06 score.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 06:23 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

I'm not too bothered about 3dmark06. As for upgrading memory, due to the damaged memory controller, it's impossible to since dual-channel isn't being accepted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithwalton
scan have a good selection of 939 opty's incl the denmakr dual core, and yes the 185 is £152
where's that one then? I found the 180 at £191.53 at Scan.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)

Last edited by skool h8r; 26th December, 2006 at 10:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 08:17 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

my bad, i meant the 175 same as someone else had mentioned above, also denmark core, oops to the typo
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 10:37 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Ok, it's definately gonna be an Opteron X2. I need to decide which model though:

AMD Opteron 64 175 Socket939, Denmark Core, 2x 2.2GHz, 2MB Cache, Retail : £152.74

AMD Opteron 64 180 Socket939, Denmark Core, 2x 2.4GHz, 2MB Cache, Retail : £191.53

So, 175 or 180, these are both within my price range, but which is better value? There's about £40 difference so is it worth it for the extra multi and clock speed? I have the money (should say will have in January) but is it worth the extra £40? It's whether i want to spend that bit extra and go for something better. It's kinda similar to the dilema i had when i was choosing between AGP and PCIe motherboard in my upgrade to A64.

Someone convince me please
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 11:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

175 seems okay to me! OC it to make up the difference and save yourself the money.
I beleive you have a girlfriend, so use the money you saved and spend it on her.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 11:28 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
so use the money you saved and spend it on her.
Thats a good plan, hopefully it'll disguise the fact that you have just 'wasted' money on computer bits you dont really need! If not its worth a try!

That or spend it on a better hsf if possible.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 11:29 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
175 seems okay to me! OC it to make up the difference and save yourself the money.
I beleive you have a girlfriend, so use the money you saved and spend it on her.
hmmm, it's kinda a bit strange with the whole GF thing at the moment. She probably just enjoys being chased . Probably have to buy her something anyway to make up for christmas . I'll probably end up buying her something anyway. Probably gonna be going to see "Employee of the month" at cinemas so "might" invite her along and i "might" buy he some jewellery or something. Just replace "might" with "will". But that's another story.

The thing is, with the 180, i can get 3Ghz by going up to 250x12 as opposed to 273x11 with the 175 (which might not be possible). My A64 could nearly handle that and since opty's are supposed to be better OC'ers, i think i can probably reach it without a problem. Since it's an X2 as well, that's 6Ghz effective (if only it was one core).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 02:38 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Good point, skool h8r. Even numbers mo' betta.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 01:21 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

If money is not an issue go for the 180. Just an opinion.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 03:58 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

I just thought of something; Drivers. Where do i get the X2 Opteron drivers from? There's this one: http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._13118,00.html (#2 from the bottom) but it doesn't mention Opteron X2's.

Also, are there any utilities that could come in useful (i've already downloaded the AMD X2 Optimizer)?

I've decided that i'm gonna go for the 180, my mobo is a decent overclocker so i'm gonna be going for the big 3.0. This will actually make my system "better" than both my mates who have "seriously tuned" rigs (they both have 3800+ single cores with X1900's and a gig of ram) (nothing compared to some of the ones here though).

Thanks,
Scott.

EDIT: Oh yeah, is it true that the multiplier is locked on the 180?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)

Last edited by skool h8r; 27th December, 2006 at 05:27 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 07:01 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

drivers for a cpu ? dont usually need them. The X2 only got one as in single threaded games the stock xp driver tried to load balance them across the two cores for some reason made a dogs dinner out of it and caused a whole load of stuttering.

Do bear in mind anyone with a core 2 will kick your ass :P and the x1900's can pack a fair punch as well when not cpu limited they will be quicker than your 7600 by far.

Still post us some benchies with what you can do

As for being locked the answer is probably only FX AMD's and Extreme Edition Intels are unlocked i believe
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 09:14 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

opterons are locked.

As to which core to get, I'd hazard on the side of caution...what FSB/HTT does your mobo do? with 175, and 11x multi, mobo may be a limit in reaching 3ghz before the 180 would. 12x250 makes 3ghz easy, if your board does it...
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 27th December, 2006 at 09:14 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mobo choices? WooferWrecker EPoX MotherBoards 43 15th November, 2004 11:20 PM
choices choices Invalid Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 11th April, 2003 10:31 AM
choices.......... The Spyder Random Nonsense! 6 28th November, 2002 07:45 PM
IDE RAID-5 controller choices? surlyjoe General Hardware Discussion 13 11th August, 2002 06:38 AM
choices, choices.... ItHuNkPuNk Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 3rd February, 2002 02:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0