AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2007, 11:57 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Gigabyte K8N-SLI - Experience?

Motherboard crapped out, long story short is being replaced by Extended Warranty company by a GA-K8N-SLI motherboard A64 3800+ (single core) and an Asus 7600GT.

How does this board clock?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2007, 12:29 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

From my experiences Gigabyte isn't the best performer at overclocking.
But they do have PCI and PCIe locks.

Probably the best description I have of them is:
Picky as a DFI
If you can get that part right, then they clock almost as well as a cheaper Asus.

If it comes with a DPS card, use it. They seem to be picky with power, it has to be smooth, and rock solid. Your RAM voltage must be well inside the MB specified voltages, and single channel clocks higher than dual.

They do not like you going over the max HTT speed, as little as 50Mhz can cause major instabilities.

But if you have dual BIOS, well thats already made it worth my while (powercut in the middle of a BIOS flash)

They do have an easy online download and install of new drivers - kinda like MS updates, only without the genuine advantage stuff, i.e. they auto detect the board and drivers you already have for the MB.

A bit of advice:

MS updates sometimes has Hardware updates, which are newer than yours, do NOT under any circumstances download these, they will most definately cause problems.

Do NOT use the easy tune app to overclock, and while the voltages are pretty close to accurate, the temp sensor on mine is about 10C lower than reported bu the prog Core Temp - which reads the temp from the on die sensor.

Your MB looks to be passively cooled, if its anything like the rest of the gigabyte boards I have played with, its sufficient for stock, but you need much more for overclocking. Problem is, your vid card will fit over it.

On water I have managed to get the non sli version of yours, and also the same board as what I have, to ~300MHz, using 2x 512MB corsair RAM, and a divider (Dual Channel).

Using a 3000 venice with a 6600GT, and 3500 venice with 2x 6800GT
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H

Last edited by noob; 7th January, 2007 at 12:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2007, 09:09 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

I'll keep all that in mind. Don't know if i'll overclock. I'll see what happens. Thanks for the info.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2007, 09:46 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

No probs, let me know what you think.

If you leave it at stock, I have found they are very stable, with a decent PSU of course. Even with my most crappy of RAM
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2007, 09:30 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

It'll have a 350W PSU in it. At this stage until I can afford a TT 750W Toughpower.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2007, 05:01 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

as long as it powers it, I had a generic pile of **** for about 3 months, just a couple of instabilities in regards to network connections.

But if your 12V rails are semi decent, you won't have any problems
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2007, 02:55 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

18A on 12V. Seems to be running ok. I dont my have video card yet (7950GT) but im running a 2mb PCI S3 Virage.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2007, 04:48 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

18A, it will run fine.

You may need to upgrade it for the 7950GT.

Love the S3 mirage Can it do DVD's?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2007, 08:49 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob
18A, it will run fine.

You may need to upgrade it for the 7950GT.

Love the S3 mirage Can it do DVD's?
Nope. Cant render DVD nor AVI. Ive got a PCI hardware decoder card kicking around somewhere though.

I'll see how it runs first. If need be i'll buy a TT Toughpower.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 01:52 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Let us know how it goes
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone had any experience with the Gigabyte 3D Galaxy LCS? membreya Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 23rd April, 2006 02:30 PM
Anyone with any experience of Vapochill ~* InSoM *~ Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 4th August, 2005 03:41 PM
Any experience with X700 Pro o/c? TrevorS Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 31st May, 2005 02:34 AM
Anyone have experience with Criticool.com? FoP Reader's Retailer Ratings & Commentaries 5 20th May, 2003 06:21 PM
XP2200+ Experience Lorddrakul EPoX MotherBoards 8 7th February, 2003 08:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0