AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2002, 04:21 AM
crapito's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to crapito Send a message via AIM to crapito Send a message via Yahoo to crapito

problem with unlocked AthlonXP and 9/9.5X multipliers

I have a problem with my unlocked AthlonXP 1600+: I cannot run either 9X or 9.5X multipliers. however, I can successfully run at least 6X, 8X, 8.5X, 10X & 10.5X multipliers.

Any ideas?

I unlocked the AthlonXP myself with a silver pen, if that helps.

btw: check my sig for my system info

cross posted at AMDMB.com
__________________
Epox 4G4A+
Intel P4 1.6a 512k Northwood 1600MHz @ 2400MHz
512 MB of Samsung PC2700 CAS2.5
Leadtek Geforce3 video card
Western Digital Caviar SE 80gb, 8mb cache, 7200rpm Hard Drive
Maxtor Diamondmax VL 40 40gb 5400rpm Hard Drive [34098H4] (for my Norton Ghost backups)
Toshiba SD-M1612 16/48 DVD-ROM
Lite-On LTR-48126S 48/12/48 CD-RW
Sony 1.44mb FDD
Philips Acoustic Edge sound card -> 5.1 on everything, sweet!
onboard Realtek RTL8139 NIC
well modded Inwin Q500 case
Antec PP412x 400 watt power supply w/voltage tweaks
Viewsonic P225f-2 PerfectFlat 22" monitor
Key Tronic LT Designer keyboard -> awesome!
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 3.0 mouse w/Ratpadz.com mouse pad
JBL 5.1 speaker setup w/Onkyo TX-DS494 DD receiver
Windows XP Pro w/SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2002, 04:31 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I had one that would only boot at 6.5 multiplier and one that would only boot at 8,I would try doing it agaian if you need those multipliers
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2002, 08:05 AM
crapito's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to crapito Send a message via AIM to crapito Send a message via Yahoo to crapito

so you are thinking it's just a bad unlock job, huh? damn... they are such a pain in the ass compared with the nonXP pencil trick versions...
__________________
Epox 4G4A+
Intel P4 1.6a 512k Northwood 1600MHz @ 2400MHz
512 MB of Samsung PC2700 CAS2.5
Leadtek Geforce3 video card
Western Digital Caviar SE 80gb, 8mb cache, 7200rpm Hard Drive
Maxtor Diamondmax VL 40 40gb 5400rpm Hard Drive [34098H4] (for my Norton Ghost backups)
Toshiba SD-M1612 16/48 DVD-ROM
Lite-On LTR-48126S 48/12/48 CD-RW
Sony 1.44mb FDD
Philips Acoustic Edge sound card -> 5.1 on everything, sweet!
onboard Realtek RTL8139 NIC
well modded Inwin Q500 case
Antec PP412x 400 watt power supply w/voltage tweaks
Viewsonic P225f-2 PerfectFlat 22" monitor
Key Tronic LT Designer keyboard -> awesome!
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 3.0 mouse w/Ratpadz.com mouse pad
JBL 5.1 speaker setup w/Onkyo TX-DS494 DD receiver
Windows XP Pro w/SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2002, 09:26 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

agreed
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2002, 10:13 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

yeh they are a pain! i got mine perfectly on my 2nd attempt, but then a powersurge nuked it.... made the chip kinda unstable too, didnt overclock properly ever again
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2002, 12:23 PM
LORD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 144

You definitely need to redo the unlock job again.

I had one that obviously lost contact on one of the bridges. All multiplyer's were 2 behind what I set in BIOS. eg 10 was actually 8 etc. Then worked from 12 and 12.5.

Anyway I redid it and everything was fine after that.

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2002, 04:15 PM
UpAllNight's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: hillbilly land
Posts: 48

I agree with Lord...i had the same problem as him...it took me 3 times with thermal grease
__________________
XP1800 @172x10.5
Maze 3..Ehiem 1250..Chevette Rad
1 120mm panaflo @7v 1" shroud
All fits nicely inside my case
ambient(26c) 2.0v Core(33.5) Loaded
idle(31.5c)
Enermax 431 watt
Antec 1030B
Gainward Geforce 3 TI200 241/548
Sony CDRW
Creative 52x CD
Soundblaster Live
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2002, 06:05 PM
Schlusenbach's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: germany
Posts: 33

Unhappy

Hey, that's funny. I got exactly the same problem: unlocking the XP1600+ (AGOIA "Y", green) has the effect that I'm not able to get the 9x and 9.5x multipliers. Is it really a coincidence ?
I will try to make the unlock procedure again. Hope it helps...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP-8RDA3i and AthlonXP-M Lobo_Earthworm EPoX MotherBoards 11 28th April, 2006 02:45 PM
Hot Athlonxp 1800+ 55-60 C CheeseWeaver Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 31st December, 2004 02:09 AM
AthlonXP Vs. [M]Duron performance whatever AMD Motherboards & CPUs 30 10th August, 2002 12:05 PM
PSU and AthlonXP AROIA Bozo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 8th August, 2002 03:40 AM
Problem with unlocked Duron Pinky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 4th February, 2002 04:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0